SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3867 (Sew Stylish Misses Top)

54 more reviews
Viewed 1721 times 
Reviewed by:Kitty Couture
photo

 
 
About Kitty Couturestarstar
NA FRANCE
Member since: 3/16/04
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 59 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:10/10/07 1:11 PM
Last Updated:10/10/07 2:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
supermollio said...
I love this top on you. I think it's lovely the way it emphasizes your trim little ribcage/high waist. My husband always asks why I make so many dresses when I don't wear dresses often . . . It's because they're so pretty and hard to find in ready-to-wear!
11/29/07 12:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Come c'est mignon!
10/13/07 1:48 PM
cathy45 said...
Your did a great job on those french seams and your top is adorable on you!!
10/11/07 7:57 PM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous!
10/11/07 5:29 PM
Annette1 said...
I love the pleats on this blouse (so much more stylish than the typical gathers under the bust). How nice, to inherit this beautiful fabric. :o) It's just PERFECT for this blouse. I think this is very flattering on you.
10/11/07 2:01 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful top. I love reading your blog and reviews.
10/11/07 11:56 AM
Tany said...
Isabelle, bravo!!! You did an outstanding job both on the top and this very helpful review!
10/11/07 9:29 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Just beautiful & very flattering.
10/11/07 5:43 AM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely, it's a great top on you.
10/11/07 5:25 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Just gorgeous. Very pretty top, and looks lovely on you.
10/11/07 3:11 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a great use for an unusual piece of fabric! Really like the top.
10/10/07 11:06 PM
Lori V said...
This is beautiful.
10/10/07 10:25 PM
moushka said...
Isabelle, as a died-in-the-wool francophile, I adore your reviews and the little bit of French flavour your wonderful blog brings us. Your English is superb, by the way. (Yes, I know it should be as you're a professor, but it's still a delight.) Since all my French was learned on the run, so to speak, it's a joy to see what can be accomplished through serious study.) Great review, as usual. Thank you. Sue
10/10/07 9:44 PM
ryan's mom said...
I love it! What a pretty top!!!
10/10/07 8:44 PM
xtreme1 said...
Isabelle, your new top is sweet. You have a fabulous blog.
10/10/07 8:22 PM
candicer said...
I made this same pattern; and I love it! I did the same basic alterations to the pattern that you did! Mine is done in a sheer turqouis and brown embroidered gauzy chiffon. I used brown organza for the straps and the bow, to match the embroidery on the fabric. I also added some chain embroidery on straps and the bow, done in the same brown (tone on tone). Because it's very light weight fabric, the pleats don't make it feel too 'big'.
10/10/07 8:02 PM
Hilary said...
This is so beautiful on you! I love the fabric, it's perfect for this top. Thanks for the review!
10/10/07 7:56 PM
blue mooney said...
I like the pleats - they make the top look so neat, and it's just a little different for this style.
10/10/07 6:10 PM
loohoo44 said...
Beautiful! The baby hem looks great there, thanks for the links to the tutorials.
10/10/07 4:30 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Very pretty, indeed.
10/10/07 4:04 PM
Re Becca said...
i think that it is Quite flattering. Very pretty in the white. Thanks for adding your review.
10/10/07 3:27 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is just beautiful!
10/10/07 2:39 PM
LauraLo said...
it is beautiful and i love it!
10/10/07 2:26 PM
Kitty Couture said...
Thanks for the suggestions, U.Chicago. I just added more details on sewing a sheer fabric.
10/10/07 2:15 PM
U. Chicago said...
It's a lovely top! I clicked the photo linked to your blog -- the blog has more detail about the seams and such -- could you add some of that detail to your review? And everyone should know that French seams are called "couture Anglaise" (English sewing) in French!
10/10/07 1:48 PM
MissCelie said...
Marvelous. It looks wonderful and I love the dotted swiss.
10/10/07 1:41 PM
3kids1036 said...
Your top looks good and I plan on making this one!
10/10/07 1:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 235056-1008

photo
by: Quickie

Review
Butterick 5710

photo
by: Char in KS

Review
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now