Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5050 (Tops and Tunics) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1106 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/07 11:07 PM
Last Updated:10/12/07 11:07 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.76 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.76  List Price: $15.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
Very pretty causal top. Great with jeans. You are probably fretting a bit much about the boobs thing, but since I don't have much in that way maybe I don't understand!!
10/13/07 3:39 AM
BillieJean said...
This looks lovely on you.
10/13/07 6:41 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I definitely think the ribbon helps distract the 'boobs'. It's very cute and I love the lace insertion. I never think to do things like this. If it's not in the instructions, it doesn't get in the garment. Maybe one day I'll do a better job at embellishing and making my garments with more interest. Very nice job on the shirt!
10/13/07 8:18 AM
ryan's mom said...
Another great style! My perspective of the boob thing is more like your husband's. You got boobs that are neither small, nor too big, and yes, the top does emphasize them more than another style would. But we women have to be proud of our assets. This is the kind of top that says, "Look at me! Yes, I AM a woman!" :) Actually, I like it better without the ribbon. The soft color of the shirt with the heirloom sleeve effect is a more ethereal look. For some reason the ribbon takes away from that. Just my opinion though ;) . I love your top as is, sans ribbon.
10/13/07 8:25 AM
cindy-lou said...
I love you guys! Thanks for all the reassurances. I'll wear it with pride, girls and all. :)
10/13/07 8:27 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Love the material, lace & finished garment. I agree the velvet ribbon makes "them" less noticeable. The first pic I saw w/o the ribbon, I thought to myself that I never noticed how well endowed you are....wish you could give me some since you are so unhappy with them....;-)
10/13/07 8:31 AM
carolynw said...
Cindy I am with your DH - you got boobs and that's a good thing - there are those of us out here who envy you sigh!! You look very pretty in this top. I think using the ribbon however emphasises what you don't like so would leave it off IMHO
10/13/07 8:32 AM
ChristineBR said...
Guess what? I never noticed the boobs until your discussion of it so I daresay others won't. Even after discussion, went to look at pix and said hmm. Don't know that it's anything to be upset about. So wear your top in glory!
10/13/07 8:34 AM
Sharon M said...
This is cute! I completely understand the "hello! Here I am and here are my boobs" as I have the same "problem". And my DH reacts the same way as yours - with a great big grin, followed by "don't we need to go the store or something?" , LOL. The shirt does emphasis your assets but go for it! It's an adorable top. I love the colors on the shirt along with the detailing of the heirloom lace.
10/13/07 9:12 AM
MissCelie said...
You crack me up. What a great way to wear the top. And yes, we all have boobs. Some of us more than others. Wear this top while you still *like* your boobs I say!
10/13/07 9:17 AM
Nancywin said...
Hey CL!!! What a nice job you did on this. The lace insertion is a great touch and you did it very nicely. As far as the "boob" thing (oh, and btw, is that like "Thing one and Thing Two"? my favorite DS characters?) I think it looks better without the ribbon - but it looks good both ways. This color looks really good on you too.
10/13/07 9:21 AM
Hilary said...
LOL-I love your review, :oP Friend one and friend two look good :D (actually I didn't notice till you said something, since I wasn't looking at that, lol) Really, the top looks great on you, I don't think its going to be an issue with anyone else. I love the lace insertion and ribbon!
10/13/07 9:54 AM
cindyann said...
Cute top. I think it showcases the "boobs" in a very flattering way! Alas for me, my friends are itsy and bitsy. ;(
10/13/07 11:16 AM
said...
Cindy, I love this top on you :). The lace is a very nice touch. I found myself laughing while reading your review and you know having "friends" is a good thing. I bet this is going to be your DH's favorite top even if it's not yours.
10/13/07 2:37 PM
CarolynGM said...
I loved your review. Wear your lovely, delicately embellished top with pride.
10/13/07 9:03 PM
Kellie R. said...
I see you're on a roll with your tops! Your review made me chuckle - I have the opposite boob situation: friends told me all I need is a good padded bra when in fact, I was already wearing a good padded bra! LOL Your top is fun and very feminine. Great job!
10/14/07 11:50 AM
Cin said...
Hi Cindy, Your top is adorable, especially with the lace inserts. My take on the girls is that the ribbon emphasizes them even more. The ribbon is a darker contrasting color which naturally draws the eye to it whereas the the all-fabric front just makes you look a little voluptuous. I don't think it looks TOO boobalicious; if it were low-cut/cleavage-baring that would be a different story. I think you should wear it - sans ribbon.
10/15/07 9:59 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Another winner, Cindy! I think it's very feminine and your husband is right - in a good way! I believe it's even prettier without the ribbon (but that's only my opinion! the ribbon IS lovely); the all-fabric version is so soft and - again - feminine. The lace inserts are beautiful!
10/17/07 3:59 PM
velosewer said...
The details are lovely. Just think how easy it's going to be to hail a cab in this top!
10/28/08 6:40 AM
Sassy T said...
Looks really nice you are probably not use to it. My tops show boobage whether I want to or not. My rational is there are people who would kill to have boobage.
12/7/11 9:19 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

New Look 6470
photo
Review by magoe6217 on 12/26/10
Read Review

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Day-to-night Drape Top Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Day-to-night Drape Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8157
photo
Review by lovenicky on 10/28/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1519 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1519 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us