SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5060 (Lined coat)

7 more reviews
Viewed 908 times 
Reviewed by:leanmeansewingmachine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About leanmeansewingmachinestarstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/20/05
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/07 1:40 PM
Last Updated:10/15/07 8:43 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
edot said...
I love it! Holy moly! It looks terrific--I've been toying with the idea of playing with some vinyl/patent leather/pleather/what-have-you, and this is certainly inspiration for me to go for it. Way to snoop shop and upstand Neiman Marcus!
1/14/08 10:46 AM
Hilary said...
Great jacket! It looks just like the inspiration garment (color notwithstanding, of course :o) )
10/16/07 6:57 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh that's so smart. Love the fabric, it works so well for the jacket.
10/16/07 3:14 AM
solosmocker said...
Great review with very helpful links. I saw this fabric at Joanns and had a similar thought. You were brave enough to go for it and it looks great.
10/15/07 9:55 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Thanks for the nice comments. I have used the jacket and it works great. The material is so "sticky" that when the belt is tied, even with no buttons it doesn't fall open! Yay for pleather!
10/15/07 8:46 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is such a great coat! I ran into similar problems when sewing faux leather eyelet strips on a pirate costume - wish I'd have read this first! Great work as always!
10/14/07 11:38 AM
blue mooney said...
Very nice. Interesting method you came up with to handle the topstitching.
10/14/07 7:44 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Well I never even considered I could make my own patent leather (-look) garments. This is great inspiration!
10/14/07 0:49 AM
TrixieD said...
What a great pattern and you've turned it into a fabulous jacket.
10/13/07 10:51 PM
cmarie12 said...
First ~ what an absolutely fantastically amazing jacket that is! Second ~ I never even noticed that pattern before. You have me looking at it with different eyes! Third ~ I hope that you get a lot of wear out of this jacket. You have hit this trend on the mark!
10/13/07 8:40 PM
quathy said...
Really cute! Thanks for the tips about sewing the pleather.
10/13/07 7:53 PM
Mobycat said...
Nice coat; I like it.
10/13/07 5:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

More Info
No Pattern Used knit dress

photo
by: ChrisS

Review