SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5467 (Misses Jumpers)

1 more reviews
Viewed 729 times 
Reviewed by:SillyValley
photo

 
 
About SillyValleystar
Member since: 10/2/05
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/07 5:48 AM
Last Updated:10/13/07 6:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
narcissaqtpie said...
This is pretty, I'm gonna get this pattern today!
10/21/07 1:00 PM
Annette1 said...
What a cute jumper! And it's not too young for you because YOU'RE young. :o) As for the pleats, I think it means this (famous last words): Stitch your pleat. Then to visualize what I mean, take your just stitched pleat and lay the garment face down on a flat surface, so what you're seeing is the pleat (wrong) side. Take the pleat between your thumb and forefinger and hold it up straight, and kind of fingerpress the center of the pleat. Now if you can see where your finger press was (which you probably can't on this fabric), that is the center of your pleat, so you want to line that center point up to the line of stitching that you just made to form the pleat in the first place. Pin it so it stays centered. Then if you flip your fabric back over, you can stitch in the ditch over your initial stitching, so what you end up with on the back side is your pleat with a vertical line of stitching going right down the middle of the flattened pleat. I probably just added to the confusion -- ha! -- but it sounds like that's what it's talking about. Whereas you may be thinking of pleats that are folded either to the right or the left and then stitched with a horizontal line of stitching to hold them in place, this one is actually centered across your initial vertical line of stitching and then stitched in the ditch on that same line, instead of being pressed to the left or right. Sorry ... didn't mean to write a book. I love your jumper!
10/16/07 7:50 PM
CynthiaSue said...
adorable. much better than the pattern looks. i have been eyeing this taffeta forever and now will get it!
10/14/07 1:29 AM
SillyValley said...
Thanks Kaitlinnegan that totally makes sense. I always wondered about that. This isn't the only pattern that uses that specific language for pleats. I think that means I should restitch the pleats because right now they are folded flat to the side. If I restitch with the pleats pressed flat to the stitching I think it will look nicer. If that makes any sense LOL.
10/13/07 3:16 PM
Littlehuntingcreek said...
My daughter the fashionista saw this and now she wants one. She says it won't feel so short if you wear it with dark tights. This is really cute!
10/13/07 2:17 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oo! This pattern is on my to-do pile - I had originally wanted to do this view, but was unsure..now I *have* to do it! Yours looks great! Thanks for the info on the length -- I will definitely check that before I make it. The part about centering the pleat kind of makes sense to me -- they want you to kind of open up the pleat (not fold it) so the center line of the pleated fabric is directly over the stitching of the pleat. I don't know if that makes any more sense. :)
10/13/07 10:25 AM
Hilary said...
Pretty! Thanks for the tip on the invisible zipper-I will try that next time, I always get the stitching a touch too close also. Great job on your dress!
10/13/07 9:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Butterick 4985

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 8735

photo
by: abbythomas

Review