Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 7672 (OOP) (Swimsuit) - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 628 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:PatCSM
photo
About PatCSMstar
MS USA
Member since: 5/8/07
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/07 5:59 AM
Last Updated:10/13/07 5:59 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mssewcrazy said...
I have this pattern in the 18-24 range. I liked its easy jacket and decided if I ever had to don another swimsuit since the weight gain this would be a good one to try. I plan to make the jacket for the first time next spring - who knows I might get brave and decide to do the swim suit. Thanks for posting. It is hard to find a modest suit that fits well for plus size people that is not in some mumu print.
10/13/07 8:27 AM
mastdenman said...
It's a good looking swim dress. Much better than the design photo.
10/13/07 9:25 AM
RuthieSews said...
Well adapted to make what you needed, and well done for working on it all summer, I tend to junk those projects!
10/13/07 9:33 AM
mary in FL said...
You did a great job! Your side view shows that you raised the lower front of the arm hole so the girls won't fall out. Your use of snaps is a very clever idea; I don't think I've ever heard of that before. Your patience really paid off!
10/13/07 10:03 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh! Really, next time, use one of the Kwik Sew patterns, they have at least a couple with skirts and you'll find they fit you much better. You shouldn't have to deal with a suit pattern made for woven fabrics! This is just too archaic. I agree sometimes you need to wing the instructions, but if you aren't very experienced it helps to have some that work. It's amazing this looks so good on you :-)
10/13/07 2:51 PM
Marilyn N. said...
The finished suit looks very nice. Congratulations on your persistence, the results were worth it!
10/14/07 0:45 AM
CynthiaSue said...
beautiful princess seams love the criss cross back. people aspire to work with lycra and make swimwear. good job! cute suit!
10/14/07 1:51 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I meant to make this dress/jacket for late summer special occasions but got no sewing done. I was sort of thinking of a built in bra or strapless underneath for really cool special occasion wear. I figured if it could be a swimdress ,it would be cool when the heat is on. I have collected some of these Mary Duffy oop patterns to perhaps try.
10/14/07 8:05 AM
Annette1 said...
This really looks nice on you! Your persistence paid off. :o)
10/16/07 7:54 PM
Mufffet said...
Nice work. A swim suit is something I haven't thought about sewing since 1971. I did a cotton one then. You have done a nice job.
8/10/09 4:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Jalie 2921
photo
Review by Knitz on 5/15/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4643
photo
Review by jessika on 3/5/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )
McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us