Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2007-105 (Dress w. box pleats) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1410 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/07 1:07 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MarijaSLO said...
Cidell, don't worry, at least your cousin will benefit from your hard work. :) I think the dress is otherwise very nice.
10/13/07 2:04 PM
carolynw said...
I can see this is beautiful and am sorry it doesn't fit - make it again Cidell. Your cousin is going to be over the moon at Christmas when she gets this
10/13/07 2:10 PM
mahalosu said...
I have already made 2 muslins of this and still can't get it to fit right. The underarms are way too tight, and the bodice rides up. I think it is so cute, but wonder if I should just give up.
10/13/07 2:26 PM
mahalosu said...
I have already made 2 muslins of this and still can't get it to fit right. The underarms are way too tight, and the bodice rides up. I think it is so cute, but wonder if I should just give up.
10/13/07 2:43 PM
Nancy K said...
Well, at least it won't go in the trash. Such a shame. You don't think you would remake it in a larger size? It's a really pretty dress and it seems like it would be flattering on you in the correct size. Thanks for the heads up on this dress.
10/13/07 3:05 PM
loohoo44 said...
What a great style! That's too bad about the sizing, how annoying. At least it will go to a good home instead of the circular file. :-)
10/13/07 3:10 PM
loohoo44 said...

10/13/07 3:50 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Your dress looks so nice, gosh darn it, so strange re the tight bodice...wonder if its sposed to be knit?? But even then it would be tight under arms..now how did they get a sweater under those? I really like this style and planned to make it but will make in a knit and measure to see how far off it is. Your cousin will love it though, cute lines.
10/13/07 4:01 PM
busy bee said...
What a bummer! I think your top half looks really good. The neckline is really nice on you. Maybe try a cool woven on the top and a more drapey, lighter woven (or medium knit?) on the bottom half? Or do some contrast with a shiny fabric for the top and a matte fabric for the bottom. This way, you'd balance out the larger proportion of the bottom?
10/13/07 4:26 PM
mahalosu said...
I have already made 2 muslins of this and still can't get it to fit right. The underarms are way too tight, and the bodice rides up. I think it is so cute, but wonder if I should just give up.
10/13/07 4:29 PM
cmarie12 said...
At least someone will be happy with it! :) This dress caught my eye and I thought that I could transfer some of those details to my TNT dress pattern especially since BWOF has it only in the smaller sizes!
10/13/07 8:44 PM
cindy-lou said...
Oh, that makes me want to cry! :( Don't you hate when you work on something and it's all looking so good, and then... arrrrgggghhhh! Still, it's gorgeous-- if you were willing to be in pain all day it would be a great dress!
10/13/07 9:17 PM
Christina Sonja said...
What a disappointment!
10/14/07 1:00 AM
CynthiaSue said...
oh. I've been WAITING for this. I'm so sorry it didn't work! Could you make it again in the larger size? It is really flattering on you. Thank you for the very helpful size tip. I too am a 38 and I have the pattern cut out for that and it seems to tissue fit fine but maybe not. I will go back and double check now. thank you again. remember, on to #121!!(which tissue fits great AND in the muslin so it will fit you!!) Oh, I thought of one more thing; do you have high round or broad back?-it kind of maybe looks that way in the back picture. At fitting school, we did alterations on THE most fitted dress which for me required broad back alterations, high round back, broad shoulders etc) but sometimes you can get away with out doing them in less fitted stuff. maybe this was so fitted, you needed some alterations where you never needed them in the past? I guess I'll find out when I finally sew mine and maybe I should just be quiet now because you probably know all this already.
10/14/07 1:40 AM
Fran G said...
Disappointing for you, Cidell, but it's great that you can finish it up for your cousin. Thanks for alerting us all to possible disappointment.
10/14/07 8:03 AM
MissCelie said...
dvmcindy, Hmmm, I'm a smallish C cup, but BWOF is drafted for C. It could be a high round back issue, i've seen that before. I think I also just assumed that this would be a looser dress. Live and learn! Hopefully I can change the review and 'splain the alterations needed!
10/14/07 8:46 AM
Sic said...
The fitting issue is a bummer! I was just drooling over this dress in my very first BWOF magazine! Thank you so much for your review (and so sorry it didn't work out) - its a cautionary tale for others who want to attempt making the dress!
10/14/07 9:30 AM
lmg said...
Hmmmm Great style Cidell. Your cousin will love it. Actually your review and the comments encourage me as I usually have to take in the back at least 1.5" and shorten above the armhole. Maybe this bodice will fit me without alterations! Off to check. Thanks for the great review.
10/14/07 10:10 AM
Kellie R. said...
There you go - one Christmas gift crossed off of your list! It's a nice looking dress and your work is not for naught! Oh, if you ever have any other garments that don't work for you, I'll happily take them! LOL
10/14/07 11:42 AM
Diane E said...
Cidell, I'm sorry this didn't work out. Your cousin will love this dress. It's beautiful! Thank you for the detailed review. You've saved many of us from big disappointments.
10/14/07 12:20 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, that's too bad it didn't fit-it is cute though, and your cousin will no doubt be thrilled :o) Maybe after you put it aside for awhile it will be worth another shot :o) and you know, looking at the pic I can't tell for sure, but it does look like they made it in a knit-that would certainly explain the fit problems! hmm. maybe it is a woven (nevermind, lol).
10/14/07 1:17 PM
Linda G said...
Would it work to make a new top and let each of the dart-tucks out a little to fit the new top? That is assuming you have enough fabric for a new top!
10/14/07 1:32 PM
ChristineX said...
It's too bad it didn't work out. =(
10/14/07 5:31 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Ok I'm back. This thing is small. I compared it to my fitting shell which is supposed to be as fit as can be and it's half an inch to 1 inch smaller! And they don't tell you to use ONLY stretch. Only two views are made of a stretch fabric. I don't know what's wrong. I don't think it's a C cup. It might not even be a B cup. They must have intended it to be snug tight as can be.
10/14/07 5:40 PM
Erica B. said...
Total bummer it didn't work! Atleast it doesn't have to go to waste.
10/15/07 2:57 AM
Annette1 said...
Too bad it didn't work out, because it sure looks cute on you. At least your cousin will benefit. :o)
10/16/07 7:28 PM
So So said...
Thanks Cidell for this timely as ever review! Echo everyone elses comments on disappointment. I am ready to ttrace this out and yeah defo make a muslin (or 2). As i am at the higher end of the size scale, this is obviously a must. I was making it in a black non stretch crepe from my stash! Now very undecided! Will make muslin 1st before cutting any fabric!
11/3/07 8:28 AM
Karen6790 said...
I read this review, I really did, and then I still went and cut this dress out in a 38 (my normal size). Argh! My fabric has stretch, and I still should have cut a 40. I can wear it, it zips, but it requires the "minimizing" bra to get by. Off to make a jacket to cover my oops.
11/28/07 0:45 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- thanks for this information about the size! I'm getting ready to make this for my daughter (the envelope pattern version, 7759) and am reading through all the reviews first. Quite an eye-opener already, and yours is the first review! =:o
12/8/09 10:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2006-37 Frilly Blouse
photo
Review by Lori V on 4/2/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Ella Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ella Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5804
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/4/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6245 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6245 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us