SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9004 (Cat Beds)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1479 times 
Reviewed by:CycleGal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CycleGalstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/14/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/03 11:29 PM
Last Updated:3/17/03 0:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
suncentaur said...
Thanks for the review, I want to make the fish too. I also saw it on the elna sight. I thought their rendition of the fish looked alot better than the one on the pattern envelope. I need to try and see if it is still on their sight. I still sew on a bargain brother which has little clearance under the presser foot, so I'm not sure all that foam would go under that easy. I'm looking to get a new machine in about a month and this will probably be my first project on it. I'm still not sure if I want to go with elna or viking. I also wanted to make the tent as well, so am glad for the comments about the poles. My cats not a "plus size" but I have had cats like that. My mom has a maine coon which she has named "pooh bear". It is the biggest cat I've seen. My cat is athletic build though and I think she'll like the fish when I get to making it. I like to call her "the extreme cat" because of her leaping , climbing and hunting.
1/4/04 12:06 PM
CycleGal said...
Thanks for all the great comments! I really love the assortment of wonderful print fabrics available for projects like this. Lots of cat prints to use. The cats do love their tent. I also made some little mats with leftover fabric and they love those too. They are sized to fit in their carriers to go to the vet
3/21/03 1:02 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I just saw the picture and I love the fabric! Your cats seem to be enjoying it too.
3/21/03 9:54 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the review, & thanks Margaret for the links. My "cat with presence" might be interested in this.
3/20/03 4:43 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I know someone who made this or a similar tent for a charity auction. They were quite popular. I think she used boning. I know it was something plastic and fairly stiff.
3/17/03 8:36 PM
CycleGal said...
Margaret, thanks a Million for the Birch Street link!! Thats exactly what I need for the tent!
3/16/03 12:26 PM
Margaret said...
I noticed there's a "pet tent" pattern from Birch St Clothing, and they sell the "tent poles". Here is a link. I haven't tried these tents and don't know what the wires are like... does anyone know? I don't know if they're the right length, either, for this pattern. Boning might work too. I don't know if rigilene would be stiff enough, but maybe 2 layers would help (it probably would have to be covered to keep the layers together). There's also spiral steel, but that might be *too* stiff...
3/15/03 7:37 PM
Mary Beth Loup said...
You know, I first saw the fish bed on the Elna projects site and it didn't look as stiff as on the pattern front. I wonder if you could adapt the pattern to quilt it without foam. Cats would probably like tunnelling as well as a structured bed. But Cycle Gal, thanks for your very amusing review!
3/15/03 9:59 AM
Pam Z said...
Could you use boning instead of basket spline?
3/15/03 5:25 AM
CycleGal said...
Ruth, sorry about the picture...first time posting here!! The fish bed uses a lot of foam, and I thought it would be expensive to make. It is cute though!
3/15/03 2:52 AM
Ruth C said...
Thank you so much for this review. You made me laugh. And I'm glad your cats like their tent. I saw this pattern in the catalog and am thinking of making the fish--I had wondered if the cats would actually use it. By the way, my cat insists there are no "plus-sized" cats-- some cats just have more presence than others. p.s. I am not able to see your picture.
3/14/03 11:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Butterick 5890

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-116

photo
by: CypGrl

Review
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now