SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9004 (Cat Beds)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1477 times 
Reviewed by:CycleGal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CycleGalstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/14/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/03 11:29 PM
Last Updated:3/17/03 0:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ruth C said...
Thank you so much for this review. You made me laugh. And I'm glad your cats like their tent. I saw this pattern in the catalog and am thinking of making the fish--I had wondered if the cats would actually use it. By the way, my cat insists there are no "plus-sized" cats-- some cats just have more presence than others. p.s. I am not able to see your picture.
3/14/03 11:47 PM
CycleGal said...
Ruth, sorry about the picture...first time posting here!! The fish bed uses a lot of foam, and I thought it would be expensive to make. It is cute though!
3/15/03 2:52 AM
Pam Z said...
Could you use boning instead of basket spline?
3/15/03 5:25 AM
Mary Beth Loup said...
You know, I first saw the fish bed on the Elna projects site and it didn't look as stiff as on the pattern front. I wonder if you could adapt the pattern to quilt it without foam. Cats would probably like tunnelling as well as a structured bed. But Cycle Gal, thanks for your very amusing review!
3/15/03 9:59 AM
Margaret said...
I noticed there's a "pet tent" pattern from Birch St Clothing, and they sell the "tent poles". Here is a link. I haven't tried these tents and don't know what the wires are like... does anyone know? I don't know if they're the right length, either, for this pattern. Boning might work too. I don't know if rigilene would be stiff enough, but maybe 2 layers would help (it probably would have to be covered to keep the layers together). There's also spiral steel, but that might be *too* stiff...
3/15/03 7:37 PM
CycleGal said...
Margaret, thanks a Million for the Birch Street link!! Thats exactly what I need for the tent!
3/16/03 12:26 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I know someone who made this or a similar tent for a charity auction. They were quite popular. I think she used boning. I know it was something plastic and fairly stiff.
3/17/03 8:36 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the review, & thanks Margaret for the links. My "cat with presence" might be interested in this.
3/20/03 4:43 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I just saw the picture and I love the fabric! Your cats seem to be enjoying it too.
3/21/03 9:54 AM
CycleGal said...
Thanks for all the great comments! I really love the assortment of wonderful print fabrics available for projects like this. Lots of cat prints to use. The cats do love their tent. I also made some little mats with leftover fabric and they love those too. They are sized to fit in their carriers to go to the vet
3/21/03 1:02 PM
suncentaur said...
Thanks for the review, I want to make the fish too. I also saw it on the elna sight. I thought their rendition of the fish looked alot better than the one on the pattern envelope. I need to try and see if it is still on their sight. I still sew on a bargain brother which has little clearance under the presser foot, so I'm not sure all that foam would go under that easy. I'm looking to get a new machine in about a month and this will probably be my first project on it. I'm still not sure if I want to go with elna or viking. I also wanted to make the tent as well, so am glad for the comments about the poles. My cats not a "plus size" but I have had cats like that. My mom has a maine coon which she has named "pooh bear". It is the biggest cat I've seen. My cat is athletic build though and I think she'll like the fish when I get to making it. I like to call her "the extreme cat" because of her leaping , climbing and hunting.
1/4/04 12:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

New Look 6107

photo
by: Bootzey

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now