SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2007-117 (tulip sheath dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 3521 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 415 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/15/07 2:27 AM
Last Updated:10/15/07 2:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SillyValley said...
Well Erica, your creation is the one that put me over the top. I'm doing it. I'm subscribing, tracing and all. This is gorgeous on you by the way...
10/15/07 3:07 AM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations Erica !!! Beautiful dress. I see a few Dior lookalikes in the last few issues of BWOF too.
10/15/07 3:33 AM
Shelia in Alaska said...
Once again you've done a fabulous job!! The dress looks wonderful on you and I love the pleating details. I sure wish I had this issue of BWOF!
10/15/07 3:44 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Really no FBA? And this looks very good on you, the only thing stopping me so far was the build of the ones who've done it before. Can't believe you've let tracing stop you from BWOF though, it's so easy... And do you have a rotary cutter with an adjustable guide arm, so you don't need to add a seam allowance? Burda are such idiots not to publicize this..
10/15/07 5:20 AM
So So said...
Thanks for makingh this dress and reviewing it! Previus reviews were made by smaller busted sewwers so I to wasa bit unsure.soglad you stuck with it and did not let your muslin put youoff. Just goes to show. What a fantastic colour. Very very NOW And even more WOW!
10/15/07 5:43 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I'm loving the colour! It looks fantastic on you...
10/15/07 5:55 AM
Linda G said...
Beautiful dress. I love the color and I really do like it collarless, I think the pleat detail shows more.
10/15/07 6:22 AM
LauraLo said...
Great dress, Erica! I love how it looks on you, I love that you gave up that collar and I also love that purple/fuchsia colour!
10/15/07 7:00 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic dress.
10/15/07 7:06 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Add me to one of those who you convinced to try the Burda Mag. This dress is gorgeous and the color is to die for. Waiting for an occasion? Every day we live is an occasion!
10/15/07 7:23 AM
xtreme1 said...
I think that will turn heads for sure. You've made it so well.
10/15/07 7:41 AM
MissCelie said...
That color just makes this dress POP. You look amazing. Welcome to the world of BWOF!!
10/15/07 8:01 AM
Sic said...
I love the collar alteration! Gorgeous dress - I like it better than the inspiration!
10/15/07 8:10 AM
Babs42 said...
Love this!! You look great in it and the color is fab. I can't wait to get my subscription. I hope it comes soon!
10/15/07 8:14 AM
Ingiepops said...
Ha, once you get hooked on Burda, there's no going back! If I ever feel down in the sewing dumps I just get some out and get inspired. This dress looks fab, the colour is great on you.
10/15/07 8:21 AM
snowey said...
Hey Girl that dress looks fabulous, I mean FABULOUS
10/15/07 8:57 AM
SandraB said...
This dress is very flattering on you and the colour is great.
10/15/07 9:51 AM
Nancy K said...
I knew you'd love BWOF! This looks great on you and I am so glad a curvier girl finally reviewed this dress. I like it without the collar too. I think it's probably more becoming to bustier women. Looks fab on you.
10/15/07 9:57 AM
Christina Sonja said...
So I think it's safe to say that you hit a home run with your first BWOF project. Fabulous...!
10/15/07 10:02 AM
cmarie12 said...
Congrats on finding success with your first BWOF! This is a nice dress!
10/15/07 10:44 AM
loohoo44 said...
Love it! You got a great fit, love all the details and the neckline looks great on you.
10/15/07 11:06 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I love your dress. The color is great on you.
10/15/07 12:05 PM
LindsayT said...
Okay me too, gotta try BWOF. This dress and your endorsement sold me.
10/15/07 1:18 PM
Hilary said...
I *LOVE* your dress!! The color is fantastic, and looks so incredible on you, and WOW! How cool that yours is similar to the one in your inspiration file :D only better of course!!
10/15/07 1:40 PM
Levone said...
Fantastic looking dress! Way to go for just jumping right in there....great job!
10/15/07 2:19 PM
EdnaW said...
Looking good, as usual!!
10/15/07 4:12 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wow, that is fabulous! I have this issue. I may just have to pull it out and trace off that pattern.
10/15/07 4:39 PM
Leora said...
This is a great silhouette on you! Lovely, Erica.
10/15/07 7:25 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Wow!
10/15/07 8:34 PM
Tany said...
Lovely! Your work is amazingly perfect! And that color suits you so well!
10/16/07 4:30 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is becoming a popular dress! Like that you made it from jersey and looks good without the collar.
10/16/07 5:12 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful dress..the color is gorgeous! I am loving BWOF more & more. The tracing of the patterns put me off for years, too, but I have now come to almost enjoy it! It helps me understand how the pattern fits together. Nice work, Erica!
10/16/07 7:39 AM
carolineG said...
I love how everyones version of this dress is so different --- yours looks fantastic!
10/16/07 11:34 AM
Annette1 said...
Very nice! (I'm a Burda fan, too, especially of their pants and jackets ... so well designed.) You look smashing in your dress. :o)
10/16/07 6:58 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Per usual - stunning! I love everything you make! Like you, I've wasted years of sewing before realizing how fantastic Burda patterns go together! congrats on your first Burda - I can't wait to see your next burda creation
10/17/07 2:41 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful dress, and it looks wonderful on you. Wonderful job as usual.
10/17/07 6:32 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
As usual, your interpretation ROCKS! Congratulations on BWOF!
10/19/07 12:17 PM
jjc said...
Great results on the dress. The fabric and color are wonderful.
10/19/07 8:40 PM
Dei said...
Erica, You are a wealth of information. I just bought my first BWOF magazine and I am excited to try some of the patterns, especially after seeing your fabulous-as-usual results. Great color choice and the omission of the collar was wise decision because the dress totally compliments you.
12/2/07 0:08 AM
Dei said...
Erica, You are a wealth of information. I just bought my first BWOF magazine and I am excited to try some of the patterns, especially after seeing your fabulous-as-usual results. Great color choice and the omission of the collar was a wise decision because the dress totally compliments you.
12/2/07 0:09 AM
rallmeida said...
looks great! the color is great on you and the fit is perfect!
1/18/08 8:57 AM
Michele19 said...
the dress is smashing, what a great color on you.
4/18/08 7:52 PM
trexx said...
I have attempted to get this pattern foreverrrrrr!!! How can I get this?
7/17/08 12:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3374

photo
by: Donel

Review
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now