SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2007-117 (tulip sheath dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 3522 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 416 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/15/07 2:27 AM
Last Updated:10/15/07 2:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
trexx said...
I have attempted to get this pattern foreverrrrrr!!! How can I get this?
7/17/08 12:01 PM
Michele19 said...
the dress is smashing, what a great color on you.
4/18/08 7:52 PM
rallmeida said...
looks great! the color is great on you and the fit is perfect!
1/18/08 8:57 AM
Dei said...
Erica, You are a wealth of information. I just bought my first BWOF magazine and I am excited to try some of the patterns, especially after seeing your fabulous-as-usual results. Great color choice and the omission of the collar was a wise decision because the dress totally compliments you.
12/2/07 0:09 AM
Dei said...
Erica, You are a wealth of information. I just bought my first BWOF magazine and I am excited to try some of the patterns, especially after seeing your fabulous-as-usual results. Great color choice and the omission of the collar was wise decision because the dress totally compliments you.
12/2/07 0:08 AM
jjc said...
Great results on the dress. The fabric and color are wonderful.
10/19/07 8:40 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
As usual, your interpretation ROCKS! Congratulations on BWOF!
10/19/07 12:17 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful dress, and it looks wonderful on you. Wonderful job as usual.
10/17/07 6:32 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Per usual - stunning! I love everything you make! Like you, I've wasted years of sewing before realizing how fantastic Burda patterns go together! congrats on your first Burda - I can't wait to see your next burda creation
10/17/07 2:41 PM
Annette1 said...
Very nice! (I'm a Burda fan, too, especially of their pants and jackets ... so well designed.) You look smashing in your dress. :o)
10/16/07 6:58 PM
carolineG said...
I love how everyones version of this dress is so different --- yours looks fantastic!
10/16/07 11:34 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful dress..the color is gorgeous! I am loving BWOF more & more. The tracing of the patterns put me off for years, too, but I have now come to almost enjoy it! It helps me understand how the pattern fits together. Nice work, Erica!
10/16/07 7:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is becoming a popular dress! Like that you made it from jersey and looks good without the collar.
10/16/07 5:12 AM
Tany said...
Lovely! Your work is amazingly perfect! And that color suits you so well!
10/16/07 4:30 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Wow!
10/15/07 8:34 PM
Leora said...
This is a great silhouette on you! Lovely, Erica.
10/15/07 7:25 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Wow, that is fabulous! I have this issue. I may just have to pull it out and trace off that pattern.
10/15/07 4:39 PM
EdnaW said...
Looking good, as usual!!
10/15/07 4:12 PM
Levone said...
Fantastic looking dress! Way to go for just jumping right in there....great job!
10/15/07 2:19 PM
Hilary said...
I *LOVE* your dress!! The color is fantastic, and looks so incredible on you, and WOW! How cool that yours is similar to the one in your inspiration file :D only better of course!!
10/15/07 1:40 PM
LindsayT said...
Okay me too, gotta try BWOF. This dress and your endorsement sold me.
10/15/07 1:18 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I love your dress. The color is great on you.
10/15/07 12:05 PM
loohoo44 said...
Love it! You got a great fit, love all the details and the neckline looks great on you.
10/15/07 11:06 AM
cmarie12 said...
Congrats on finding success with your first BWOF! This is a nice dress!
10/15/07 10:44 AM
Christina Sonja said...
So I think it's safe to say that you hit a home run with your first BWOF project. Fabulous...!
10/15/07 10:02 AM
Nancy K said...
I knew you'd love BWOF! This looks great on you and I am so glad a curvier girl finally reviewed this dress. I like it without the collar too. I think it's probably more becoming to bustier women. Looks fab on you.
10/15/07 9:57 AM
SandraB said...
This dress is very flattering on you and the colour is great.
10/15/07 9:51 AM
snowey said...
Hey Girl that dress looks fabulous, I mean FABULOUS
10/15/07 8:57 AM
Ingiepops said...
Ha, once you get hooked on Burda, there's no going back! If I ever feel down in the sewing dumps I just get some out and get inspired. This dress looks fab, the colour is great on you.
10/15/07 8:21 AM
Babs42 said...
Love this!! You look great in it and the color is fab. I can't wait to get my subscription. I hope it comes soon!
10/15/07 8:14 AM
Sic said...
I love the collar alteration! Gorgeous dress - I like it better than the inspiration!
10/15/07 8:10 AM
MissCelie said...
That color just makes this dress POP. You look amazing. Welcome to the world of BWOF!!
10/15/07 8:01 AM
xtreme1 said...
I think that will turn heads for sure. You've made it so well.
10/15/07 7:41 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Add me to one of those who you convinced to try the Burda Mag. This dress is gorgeous and the color is to die for. Waiting for an occasion? Every day we live is an occasion!
10/15/07 7:23 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic dress.
10/15/07 7:06 AM
LauraLo said...
Great dress, Erica! I love how it looks on you, I love that you gave up that collar and I also love that purple/fuchsia colour!
10/15/07 7:00 AM
Linda G said...
Beautiful dress. I love the color and I really do like it collarless, I think the pleat detail shows more.
10/15/07 6:22 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I'm loving the colour! It looks fantastic on you...
10/15/07 5:55 AM
So So said...
Thanks for makingh this dress and reviewing it! Previus reviews were made by smaller busted sewwers so I to wasa bit unsure.soglad you stuck with it and did not let your muslin put youoff. Just goes to show. What a fantastic colour. Very very NOW And even more WOW!
10/15/07 5:43 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Really no FBA? And this looks very good on you, the only thing stopping me so far was the build of the ones who've done it before. Can't believe you've let tracing stop you from BWOF though, it's so easy... And do you have a rotary cutter with an adjustable guide arm, so you don't need to add a seam allowance? Burda are such idiots not to publicize this..
10/15/07 5:20 AM
Shelia in Alaska said...
Once again you've done a fabulous job!! The dress looks wonderful on you and I love the pleating details. I sure wish I had this issue of BWOF!
10/15/07 3:44 AM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations Erica !!! Beautiful dress. I see a few Dior lookalikes in the last few issues of BWOF too.
10/15/07 3:33 AM
SillyValley said...
Well Erica, your creation is the one that put me over the top. I'm doing it. I'm subscribing, tracing and all. This is gorgeous on you by the way...
10/15/07 3:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 0000

photo
by: Terri A

Review
Jalie 2918

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review

Pattern

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now