SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8411 (MISSES DRESS AND SASH)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1223 times 
Reviewed by:moss
photo

 
 
About mossstar
Member since: 8/23/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/15/07 8:24 AM
Last Updated:10/15/07 8:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
I do like your dress, and I love your boots, too, btw! While I don't think it makes you look pregnant, I agree another style with more shape would flatter you more. I have this same problem, I can't wear a dress like that, it just emphasizes my short stature :o) Thanks so much for the review!
10/15/07 9:47 AM
TallBean said...
I LOVE the color of the fabric you chose...really pretty. You might feel better about the dress if you took some of the bulk away from your waistline...ie turn it into more of an A-line dress. I'm thinking about making it , but I don't know how well my suggestion would work.
10/15/07 3:27 PM
Jill Giard said...
I wonder if you might have had better luck with a lightweight stable knit? Love the color you chose! The knit would drape a little more causing the dress to skim your body rather than stand away form it.
10/15/07 7:47 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
pretty purple! I have been curious about this pattern. I agree that it would drape better in a knit and shorten it!!
10/15/07 8:39 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I think you look lovely in your dress. I just don't see how you could sew so nicely by hand. Must have been from all the practice....my hand sewing is horrendous! Good Job!
10/16/07 10:44 AM
LindsayT said...
I like it on you!
10/16/07 1:50 PM
Annette1 said...
NINE LAYERS? What, are they NUTS? You have more patience than I do (but don't get too cocky, because that can be said for just about anybody). :o) I like this dress on you, and that purple really adds some punch. I have a pattern that's similar to this (Vogue something, wardrobe) and I was actually thinking about making a summer nightgown out of the dress pattern -- ha! I bought it for the jacket and was also mulling over the dress, so now you've inspired me to consider it again. I certainly hope there's not NINE LAYERS to sew through though. Great job!
10/16/07 6:56 PM
Carlotta said...
Let me just say I LOVE the purple!
10/17/07 8:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

StyleArc Cassie Stretch Woven Pant

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now