SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5466 (Dress)

18 more reviews
Viewed 880 times 
Reviewed by:mlsews
photo

 
 
About mlsewsstar
CA
Member since: 9/6/07
Reviews: 49 (patterns: 49)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/16/07 7:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said... (10/19/07 12:05 PM) Reply
I really like the way this dress looks on you. You really worked at making it fit - wear it! You will be fabulous!
mlsews said... (10/18/07 12:50 PM) Reply
Thanks for all the positive feedback. Squeezylemon, I'm hoping you're right.
Kellie R. said... (10/17/07 8:58 PM) Reply
This turned out really nice! After reading the first few lines, I clicked on the project photo and thought "huh? This looks great!" I've nearly bought this pattern a couple of times and think I may want to try it.
Danvillegirl said... (10/17/07 8:35 PM) Reply
I think your redoing the skirt has made this a wearable dress.
HawkeMorningStar7 said... (10/17/07 3:39 PM) Reply
I think this dress looks, very lovely on you, sorry for the pain to get it made! I plan to make it too, love those bodice pleats, thanks for all your warnings and tips !
Squeezylemon said... (10/17/07 6:18 AM) Reply
Lovely dress on you! Can I give you my favourite tip? When you've had so much trouble making something, lock it away in a wardrobe somewhere and bring it out in a few weeks time when the pain of making it has faded....... and hey presto a new outfit to enjoy!
KathleenS said... (10/17/07 5:32 AM) Reply
I think it looks nice. Like you, I really like the pleat detail on the bodice (but not the skirt!). You did a good job on reworking the skirt.
ladybegood said... (10/16/07 7:29 PM) Reply
Once you are over the frustration of the dress, I think you should definitely wear it; it is v. flattering, IMO. Thanks for the info re: the skirt. Normally, I'd just do the a-line skirt, but as a 'serious pear' w/out too much of a tummy, I think I might actually try the pleated skirt (in muslin tho, just to be safe).
Linda G said... (10/16/07 7:28 PM) Reply
Thank you for your review. I bought this pattern on a 99 cent sale and the belly pleats bothered me along with the fact that I am a B cup and would have to do a FBA which has been challenging my mind with the pleats. I probably will let this pattern sit around for a long time after reading your review. Your final product looks good but the work to get there!!! I suppose I could look around in my stash for a pattern with a straight skirt with darts.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-3

photo
by: blue moone...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Pattern Details