Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8162 (cape) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 956 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Linda G
photo
About Linda Gstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/07 11:10 PM
Last Updated:10/17/07 11:22 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sandrasdaughter said...
Very nice - Comfy and chic !
10/17/07 11:18 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, Linda, I love this! Your photo site is down for maintenance right now, dang it all, so I'm peering at it with my virtual magnifying glass -- ha! I can't wait to see the bigger picture. That does it: You've inspired me to make this cape. I'm always afraid a cape won't look good on me, since I'm big busted, but I don't care, I'm going to try it anyway. What I like about this is it kind of gives the impression that it is a jacket with lots of design ease. I love it. Plus, very good idea, cutting a 16 in the back and 12 in the front. I'm going to do that as well on mine! Thanks for the inspiration. Yours will be so nice and cozy. I need that too here in Nebraska.
10/18/07 0:41 AM
Annette1 said...
I just noticed something else (me and my virtual magnifying glass): Look how neat the plaid lays on the bias on the "sleeves." Very nice! Not only that, it JUST SO HAPPENS I have some pretty brown/red plaid wool coating coming from Fashion Fabrics Club. :o)
10/18/07 0:43 AM
inkstain said...
Thank you so much. I bought this pattern, but as I live in Switzerland, it begged to be lined and you confirm my suspicion that it will drape better that way. I never thought of interlining as well, but you made this interesting woven really work by stabilizing it that way. Now I'm ready to go ahead, although my choice will be less Nordstrom and more Jurassienne forest! I think I'll do four buttons, too. This is really a big help. btw, I wouldn't do a plaid skirt--too matchy, matchy but a solid skirt would be more slimming. Thanks again, www.dinahleekung.com
10/18/07 4:32 AM
xtreme1 said...
It looks lovely on you and beautifully sewn.
10/18/07 7:44 AM
MissCelie said...
OMG this is gorgeous. Wow. And you can't beat the cost! This looks like the stuff I'm seeing in magazines and stores right now. Not to 60s at all!
10/18/07 7:56 AM
marjenann said...
Wow that is really a top notch look!!! I love it! Perfect for a wardrobe builder!!!
10/18/07 8:07 AM
carolynw said...
WOW! This is so eye catching - you look wonderful in it. I made it last year - like you found the neck too high - am about to make it again.
10/18/07 8:44 AM
LindsayT said...
I made this same cape pattern too! One of these days the weather might get cold enough here in NY so I can actually wear it (darn this global warming!). I love capes, and your version is fabulous, but the only problem with them is that you can't carry a shoulder bag while wearing one. The cape gets all bunched up and it ruins the line of something you've worked hard to make. But hopefully that won't be an issue for you. Enjoy your beautiful cape!
10/18/07 9:02 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very nice - it's hard to find pretty but warm coats for this climate up here.
10/18/07 9:29 AM
Sharon M said...
This is fantastic! I didn't think I was the least bit interested in owning a cape but your review just changed my mind! I LOVE this!
10/18/07 4:11 PM
sweetviolets said...
Linda, your cape is just gorgeous. You have inspired me to move that pattern to the top of the stack and get busy!
10/18/07 6:56 PM
sweetviolets said...
Linda, your cape is just gorgeous. You have inspired me to move that pattern to the top of the stack and get busy!
10/18/07 6:57 PM
ALY said...
Great looking cape Linda, It sounds wonderfully warm and cozy.
10/18/07 7:23 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Love your cape, and I think an "outfit" of a skirt and blue sweater would be fabulous...not 60's at all. Thanks for wonderful review: love the flannel details.
10/19/07 12:46 PM
Rita123 said...
Beautiful!!! I want one. :o)
10/19/07 6:37 PM
Marji said...
Your warm cape and your plaid match are both gorgeous. I just finished this for my sister, and honestly had no intention of making one for me, but yours and Lindsay's have me reconsidering. I love the way this pattern is drafted and sits on me, from trying my sisters on.
8/15/08 2:25 PM
Birgitte said...
You look fantastic in this cape, very sophisticated.
8/15/08 9:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 9466 top and skirt
photo
Review by arianamani... on 6/13/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB021WT
photo
Review by Mary Nanna on 5/27/10
Read Review

10 inch Professional Shears
10 inch Professional Shears

Details
Price: $69.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1686 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1686 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us