SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8162 (cape)

4 more reviews
Viewed 959 times 
Reviewed by:Linda G
photo

 
 
About Linda Gstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/07 11:10 PM
Last Updated:10/17/07 11:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Birgitte said...
You look fantastic in this cape, very sophisticated.
8/15/08 9:56 PM
Marji said...
Your warm cape and your plaid match are both gorgeous. I just finished this for my sister, and honestly had no intention of making one for me, but yours and Lindsay's have me reconsidering. I love the way this pattern is drafted and sits on me, from trying my sisters on.
8/15/08 2:25 PM
Rita123 said...
Beautiful!!! I want one. :o)
10/19/07 6:37 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Love your cape, and I think an "outfit" of a skirt and blue sweater would be fabulous...not 60's at all. Thanks for wonderful review: love the flannel details.
10/19/07 12:46 PM
ALY said...
Great looking cape Linda, It sounds wonderfully warm and cozy.
10/18/07 7:23 PM
sweetviolets said...
Linda, your cape is just gorgeous. You have inspired me to move that pattern to the top of the stack and get busy!
10/18/07 6:57 PM
sweetviolets said...
Linda, your cape is just gorgeous. You have inspired me to move that pattern to the top of the stack and get busy!
10/18/07 6:56 PM
Sharon M said...
This is fantastic! I didn't think I was the least bit interested in owning a cape but your review just changed my mind! I LOVE this!
10/18/07 4:11 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very nice - it's hard to find pretty but warm coats for this climate up here.
10/18/07 9:29 AM
LindsayT said...
I made this same cape pattern too! One of these days the weather might get cold enough here in NY so I can actually wear it (darn this global warming!). I love capes, and your version is fabulous, but the only problem with them is that you can't carry a shoulder bag while wearing one. The cape gets all bunched up and it ruins the line of something you've worked hard to make. But hopefully that won't be an issue for you. Enjoy your beautiful cape!
10/18/07 9:02 AM
carolynw said...
WOW! This is so eye catching - you look wonderful in it. I made it last year - like you found the neck too high - am about to make it again.
10/18/07 8:44 AM
marjenann said...
Wow that is really a top notch look!!! I love it! Perfect for a wardrobe builder!!!
10/18/07 8:07 AM
MissCelie said...
OMG this is gorgeous. Wow. And you can't beat the cost! This looks like the stuff I'm seeing in magazines and stores right now. Not to 60s at all!
10/18/07 7:56 AM
xtreme1 said...
It looks lovely on you and beautifully sewn.
10/18/07 7:44 AM
inkstain said...
Thank you so much. I bought this pattern, but as I live in Switzerland, it begged to be lined and you confirm my suspicion that it will drape better that way. I never thought of interlining as well, but you made this interesting woven really work by stabilizing it that way. Now I'm ready to go ahead, although my choice will be less Nordstrom and more Jurassienne forest! I think I'll do four buttons, too. This is really a big help. btw, I wouldn't do a plaid skirt--too matchy, matchy but a solid skirt would be more slimming. Thanks again, www.dinahleekung.com
10/18/07 4:32 AM
Annette1 said...
I just noticed something else (me and my virtual magnifying glass): Look how neat the plaid lays on the bias on the "sleeves." Very nice! Not only that, it JUST SO HAPPENS I have some pretty brown/red plaid wool coating coming from Fashion Fabrics Club. :o)
10/18/07 0:43 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, Linda, I love this! Your photo site is down for maintenance right now, dang it all, so I'm peering at it with my virtual magnifying glass -- ha! I can't wait to see the bigger picture. That does it: You've inspired me to make this cape. I'm always afraid a cape won't look good on me, since I'm big busted, but I don't care, I'm going to try it anyway. What I like about this is it kind of gives the impression that it is a jacket with lots of design ease. I love it. Plus, very good idea, cutting a 16 in the back and 12 in the front. I'm going to do that as well on mine! Thanks for the inspiration. Yours will be so nice and cozy. I need that too here in Nebraska.
10/18/07 0:41 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
Very nice - Comfy and chic !
10/17/07 11:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

McCall's 5935

photo
by: vickyh

Review
Lutterloh XL-XXL #89 Pants

photo
by: PatCSM

Review
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now