SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8162 (cape)

4 more reviews
Viewed 959 times 
Reviewed by:Linda G
photo

 
 
About Linda Gstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/07 11:10 PM
Last Updated:10/17/07 11:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sandrasdaughter said...
Very nice - Comfy and chic !
10/17/07 11:18 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, Linda, I love this! Your photo site is down for maintenance right now, dang it all, so I'm peering at it with my virtual magnifying glass -- ha! I can't wait to see the bigger picture. That does it: You've inspired me to make this cape. I'm always afraid a cape won't look good on me, since I'm big busted, but I don't care, I'm going to try it anyway. What I like about this is it kind of gives the impression that it is a jacket with lots of design ease. I love it. Plus, very good idea, cutting a 16 in the back and 12 in the front. I'm going to do that as well on mine! Thanks for the inspiration. Yours will be so nice and cozy. I need that too here in Nebraska.
10/18/07 0:41 AM
Annette1 said...
I just noticed something else (me and my virtual magnifying glass): Look how neat the plaid lays on the bias on the "sleeves." Very nice! Not only that, it JUST SO HAPPENS I have some pretty brown/red plaid wool coating coming from Fashion Fabrics Club. :o)
10/18/07 0:43 AM
inkstain said...
Thank you so much. I bought this pattern, but as I live in Switzerland, it begged to be lined and you confirm my suspicion that it will drape better that way. I never thought of interlining as well, but you made this interesting woven really work by stabilizing it that way. Now I'm ready to go ahead, although my choice will be less Nordstrom and more Jurassienne forest! I think I'll do four buttons, too. This is really a big help. btw, I wouldn't do a plaid skirt--too matchy, matchy but a solid skirt would be more slimming. Thanks again, www.dinahleekung.com
10/18/07 4:32 AM
xtreme1 said...
It looks lovely on you and beautifully sewn.
10/18/07 7:44 AM
MissCelie said...
OMG this is gorgeous. Wow. And you can't beat the cost! This looks like the stuff I'm seeing in magazines and stores right now. Not to 60s at all!
10/18/07 7:56 AM
marjenann said...
Wow that is really a top notch look!!! I love it! Perfect for a wardrobe builder!!!
10/18/07 8:07 AM
carolynw said...
WOW! This is so eye catching - you look wonderful in it. I made it last year - like you found the neck too high - am about to make it again.
10/18/07 8:44 AM
LindsayT said...
I made this same cape pattern too! One of these days the weather might get cold enough here in NY so I can actually wear it (darn this global warming!). I love capes, and your version is fabulous, but the only problem with them is that you can't carry a shoulder bag while wearing one. The cape gets all bunched up and it ruins the line of something you've worked hard to make. But hopefully that won't be an issue for you. Enjoy your beautiful cape!
10/18/07 9:02 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very nice - it's hard to find pretty but warm coats for this climate up here.
10/18/07 9:29 AM
Sharon M said...
This is fantastic! I didn't think I was the least bit interested in owning a cape but your review just changed my mind! I LOVE this!
10/18/07 4:11 PM
sweetviolets said...
Linda, your cape is just gorgeous. You have inspired me to move that pattern to the top of the stack and get busy!
10/18/07 6:56 PM
sweetviolets said...
Linda, your cape is just gorgeous. You have inspired me to move that pattern to the top of the stack and get busy!
10/18/07 6:57 PM
ALY said...
Great looking cape Linda, It sounds wonderfully warm and cozy.
10/18/07 7:23 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Love your cape, and I think an "outfit" of a skirt and blue sweater would be fabulous...not 60's at all. Thanks for wonderful review: love the flannel details.
10/19/07 12:46 PM
Rita123 said...
Beautiful!!! I want one. :o)
10/19/07 6:37 PM
Marji said...
Your warm cape and your plaid match are both gorgeous. I just finished this for my sister, and honestly had no intention of making one for me, but yours and Lindsay's have me reconsidering. I love the way this pattern is drafted and sits on me, from trying my sisters on.
8/15/08 2:25 PM
Birgitte said...
You look fantastic in this cape, very sophisticated.
8/15/08 9:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now