SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB013CB (Chelsea Bags)

15 more reviews
Viewed 766 times 
Reviewed by:Rita123
photo

 
 
About Rita123
FL USA
Member since: 1/27/04
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/07 6:41 PM
Last Updated:10/19/07 9:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewingmi said...
The fabric is great! Thanks for sharing your experience.
10/20/07 11:30 AM
Rita123 said...
I totally agree. HeyJane has the solution to the handle "challenge" :o) And I think Deepika is right about about glancing over the instructions and keeping them aside. This way too one doesn't "overthink" the whole project, if that makes sense. Thank you all for your feedback and comments.
10/19/07 6:27 PM
Sic said...
I also have made this bag twice - the first one turned out ok (I satin stitched around the handles after completing the bag), but on the second one the handles turned out to be so terrible that the whole project was a junker. I just could not get the handles to match up and no amount of stitching was going to make it look decent (it was for a gift). I think HeyJane's idea would solve the handle issue!
10/19/07 10:00 AM
Deepika said...
Rita, I havent made this bag but your version is drawing me to it. Amy Butler directions tend to be a little verbose. I felt the same way when I made my first bag. The trick is to just glance over them and them keep them aside. I'll go read other Chelsea bag reviews now. I think others also complained about the handle construction method.
10/19/07 8:49 AM
HeyJane said...
I made a couple of these and didn't like the handle, either, though I love the bag. I ended up zig-zagging the whole area through both fabric and lining (satin stitch), and then cut it open afterward, like a giant buttonhole. It was faster that way, too. I just love your fabric and covered buttons.
10/18/07 9:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Butterick 4513

photo
by: CaitlinH

Review
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

More Info