SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB013CB (Chelsea Bags)

15 more reviews
Viewed 766 times 
Reviewed by:Rita123
photo

 
 
About Rita123
FL USA
Member since: 1/27/04
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/07 6:41 PM
Last Updated:10/19/07 9:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HeyJane said...
I made a couple of these and didn't like the handle, either, though I love the bag. I ended up zig-zagging the whole area through both fabric and lining (satin stitch), and then cut it open afterward, like a giant buttonhole. It was faster that way, too. I just love your fabric and covered buttons.
10/18/07 9:38 PM
Deepika said...
Rita, I havent made this bag but your version is drawing me to it. Amy Butler directions tend to be a little verbose. I felt the same way when I made my first bag. The trick is to just glance over them and them keep them aside. I'll go read other Chelsea bag reviews now. I think others also complained about the handle construction method.
10/19/07 8:49 AM
Sic said...
I also have made this bag twice - the first one turned out ok (I satin stitched around the handles after completing the bag), but on the second one the handles turned out to be so terrible that the whole project was a junker. I just could not get the handles to match up and no amount of stitching was going to make it look decent (it was for a gift). I think HeyJane's idea would solve the handle issue!
10/19/07 10:00 AM
Rita123 said...
I totally agree. HeyJane has the solution to the handle "challenge" :o) And I think Deepika is right about about glancing over the instructions and keeping them aside. This way too one doesn't "overthink" the whole project, if that makes sense. Thank you all for your feedback and comments.
10/19/07 6:27 PM
Sewingmi said...
The fabric is great! Thanks for sharing your experience.
10/20/07 11:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 1939

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review
McCall's 6361

photo
by: chesneykat

Review
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now