SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3835 (Built By Wendy)

85 more reviews
Viewed 1172 times 
Reviewed by:Corkypompom
photo

 
 
About Corkypompomstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/19/07
Reviews: 14 (patterns: 13)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:10/18/07 8:03 PM
Last Updated:6/16/13 12:27 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Corkypompom said... (11/3/07 10:12 PM) Reply
Thanks everyone for your kind comments and useful techniques! I love a sharp rotary cutter....WHOOOSH! Whoops!
bluenines said... (10/19/07 5:51 PM) Reply
cute dress , i like the fun fabric, i too have had rotary cutter Opps , but it get less and less as i use it more, keep up the good work
fuzzygalore said... (10/19/07 12:53 PM) Reply
This is really burning rubber on your first try :-). Your dress is really cute, and I promise everyone will be hypnotized by your great choice of fabric that they won't notice a thing on the left... But I should say that I've never used 2 rows of gathering stitches since middle-school sewing class. If you use a single row, and pin carefully with the pins perpendicular to the seam line, and make sure you arrange the gathers in the right direction before you sew a section, you're just fine. You may want to do something more formal like making sure the middles and quarters of the various sections align, so you don't end up with more gathers in one section than another. But that's it...
michellep74 said... (10/19/07 11:38 AM) Reply
Very cute! Congrats on your dress!
gatorgirl4325 said... (10/19/07 11:27 AM) Reply
Cute dress and the fabric is cute too!
amyb said... (10/18/07 9:55 PM) Reply
I have this pattern all ready to sew, thanks for your review! The dress looks great the neckline is a bit higher and tighter than I would have guessed from the pattern envelope. Anyway, thanks again for the review great first project!
Kaitlinnegan said... (10/18/07 9:04 PM) Reply
Great dress! I love the fabric! I know what you mean about the rotary cutter - I sometimes feel a little out of control with mine too..I'm lucky I haven't lost a finger. Keep up the great work, and great job on your first review!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

New Look 6143

photo
by: Pinkytoo

Review
Kwik Sew 3455

photo
by: Lori in MN

Review
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Pattern Details