SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3835 (Built By Wendy)

85 more reviews
Viewed 1130 times 
Reviewed by:Corkypompom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Corkypompomstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/19/07
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:10/18/07 8:03 PM
Last Updated:6/16/13 12:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
Great dress! I love the fabric! I know what you mean about the rotary cutter - I sometimes feel a little out of control with mine too..I'm lucky I haven't lost a finger. Keep up the great work, and great job on your first review!
10/18/07 9:04 PM
amyb said...
I have this pattern all ready to sew, thanks for your review! The dress looks great the neckline is a bit higher and tighter than I would have guessed from the pattern envelope. Anyway, thanks again for the review great first project!
10/18/07 9:55 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Cute dress and the fabric is cute too!
10/19/07 11:27 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! Congrats on your dress!
10/19/07 11:38 AM
fuzzygalore said...
This is really burning rubber on your first try :-). Your dress is really cute, and I promise everyone will be hypnotized by your great choice of fabric that they won't notice a thing on the left... But I should say that I've never used 2 rows of gathering stitches since middle-school sewing class. If you use a single row, and pin carefully with the pins perpendicular to the seam line, and make sure you arrange the gathers in the right direction before you sew a section, you're just fine. You may want to do something more formal like making sure the middles and quarters of the various sections align, so you don't end up with more gathers in one section than another. But that's it...
10/19/07 12:53 PM
bluenines said...
cute dress , i like the fun fabric, i too have had rotary cutter Opps , but it get less and less as i use it more, keep up the good work
10/19/07 5:51 PM
Corkypompom said...
Thanks everyone for your kind comments and useful techniques! I love a sharp rotary cutter....WHOOOSH! Whoops!
11/3/07 10:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now