Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5106 (Bolero Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2447 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 187
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 154 people
patterns reviewed: 171
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/03 6:54 PM
Last Updated:5/25/03 8:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia Graham said...
JLG, congrats on your first review! Your jacket looks good; I like the light color on you. This pattern has been calling me for months -- I'm going to have to give in and buy the thing one of these days. :-) An idea for closure that doesn't involve buttonholes or actually making the jacket overlap (also useful if something ended up not quite big enough): take a short piece of pretty ribbon, 3/8" or 1/2" wide would work well and about 4" long, and wrap it in half into a loop. Fold the raw edges under a tiny bit and sew them to one side of the jacket, about an inch in from the edge. Sew an attractive button opposite them and wrap the ribbon around it to hold the jacket closed. Sew another button over the ends of the ribbon to disguise them. This kind of closure looks best with buttons on the larger side, an inch or more.
3/16/03 7:50 PM
Mini said...
I"m glad this worked for you-silk tussah is a very good choice for this pattern. Re pressing: I usually press it lightly with lots of steam. Don't worry too much about getting it totally flat. This fabric has a lot of body to it, so having a bit of "roll" along the seams is natural. Another closure idea is to use a large decorative pin or brooch. I do this with my kimono jackets, and it is nice because I can change it any time I want.
3/16/03 9:24 PM
Karen Bowers said...
it looks great! you make me want to get this pattern!
3/16/03 9:59 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
The jacket looks great on you, JLG! I am with Mini, steam the heck out of the fabric. You might also use a clapper (a wooden tailoring tool, basically a block. You use it to hold the crease in place after steaming until the fabric cools off) -Ann
3/16/03 10:11 PM
Diane E said...
Your jacket is lovely and you look beautiful! I haven't made the long version of this pattern, and I'm inspired to do so and to wear it with my jeans, as you did in your photo! Very very nice!
3/16/03 11:17 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I am very impressed with the fit. Not many of us can get a look that good without some alterations. You did a wonderful job. It's quite a lovely jacket.
3/16/03 11:28 PM
Karen Bowers said...
sherril, your comment made me look at the photo again. she's built a lot like loes (loes's daughter is the primary model for her line, and her dd looks and is built very much like loes). jlg, i think you've found the pattern designer of choice for you. how cool to have found a design line based on your body type!
3/17/03 0:38 AM
Deepika said...
JLG your jacket is just too good! I have this pattern too and you have really inspired me. Thanks for the review and welcome to PatternReview!
3/17/03 0:44 AM
Georgene said...
You can try pressing with a damp cloth, take a look at tips/techniques here at PR. I wrote a tip under "pressing cloth"and then some others gave comments and tips. Look also at some fo the tips on pressing tools as well. Pressing is an art, and pressing for sewing is different than pressing your laundry! You're doing great, keep posting those reviews.
3/17/03 1:46 AM
artistwhosews said...
Jlg, I'm very impressed with your jacket. You might want to go down a size. Loes says most people make her stuff a size too big. Re: shoulder pads. LH's shoulder pads sold at The Sewing Place is very small and thin, and I think the Bolero jacket design really needs one or you might get wrinkles diagonally going from shoulder to armhole. Can't tell if this is happening from your photo, tho. Great job. Keep up the sewing.
3/18/03 7:35 PM
jlg said...
Thanks everybody for your comments. Hellene, I ordered the shoulder pads from The Sewing Place as you recommended and put them in. They do give a better finish. Thanks. Also, Julia, I was looking for buttons, also at The Sewing Place to try your suggestion. I found a clasp that I thought would look great (it hasn't come yet so I don't know), but I still think your idea is a great one and am going to keep it in mind for the future. Thanks again. Mini, I also like the idea of a brooch. If the clasp works out, I'll try to update the picture. By the way, Ann, I'm planning on getting a clapper next order also.
3/29/03 9:31 AM
Karen Bowers said...
wow! great new jacket! keep up the good work!
5/25/03 8:55 PM
MaryBeth said...
Very nice jacket (way kool jacket). I appreciate you adding the picture and thoughts on the West African cloth b/c this is the first feedback I've read on the material. And yipee, you've found a wonderful pattern!
5/25/03 10:24 PM
Diane E said...
jlg, your new jacket is wonderful. Thanks for sharing the pictures. You're right: the fabrics give the jacket a whole new look and it's really fabulous.
5/25/03 10:56 PM
CatherineN said...
This second jacket certainly illustrates how big a difference a change of fabric makes. Looks good on you.
5/25/03 10:58 PM
Pam Z said...
Thanks for posting a picture of your latest jacket. It's a winner!
5/26/03 3:53 AM
Lisette said...
Love your jacket, what a wonderful fabric! I have been browsing through the sites listed in Threads but have not made a purchase yet. I'm going to read your website review
5/26/03 11:29 AM
AnneM said...
That is great. I love the very different looks that this one pattern gives. Nice fabric choices.
5/26/03 10:58 PM
AnneM said...
P.S. If that is your back yard, I want you to come & do my landscaping.
5/26/03 11:01 PM
jlg said...
Thanks Anne. Gardening is my other obsession.
5/27/03 8:40 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Another beautiful jacket! I'm glad to know there is an internet source for mudcloth too!
5/27/03 9:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 3650
photo
Review by Renee30 on 11/4/10
Read Review

Oliver S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5800
photo
Review by JoanneM on 5/31/09
Read Review

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6945 Pattern
New Look 6945 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3900 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3900 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us