SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3789 3990 (Khaliah Ali - Misses Shirts)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1485 times 
Reviewed by:Sew Shy
photo

 
 
About Sew Shystar
CA USA
Member since: 5/22/07
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/07 1:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your final version looks well worth the trouble. It's very flattering with the princess seams. Nice job.
10/22/07 1:45 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Great job. Appreciate the review.
10/22/07 2:20 AM
Dmd4106 said...
duplicate post
10/22/07 2:20 AM
Blooms said...
Lovely job, looks like it fits well
10/22/07 6:32 AM
Hilary said...
Very nice blouse!! It looks like it fits very well :o)
10/22/07 6:51 AM
carolynw said...
I really like this top on you - a perfect fit - the muslins sure paid off.
10/22/07 7:52 AM
merry-one said...
Very nice!
10/22/07 8:06 AM
wifarmkid said...
Nice job! I too found that I took a cup size smaller than I measured in this pattern. In my case I measured a C cup but ended up using the B cup pattern pieces. It is a lovely pattern and looks great in different fabrics - good luck on your next sewing adventure!
10/22/07 9:58 AM
Rita123 said...
I really like the style of this pattern. Thank you for sharing the review. Nice job!! Oh, and good for you for finding the great fabric bargain!! Wonderful. . .
10/22/07 12:09 PM
michellep74 said...
I have this pattern, but haven't attempted it yet. Your version looks great on you--the fit is great!
10/27/07 1:51 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Great top! Looks like it fits you very well - sounds like your hard work was worth it. I might have to try this pattern...once I get a few more projects done. :)
10/27/07 2:13 PM
frame said...
Very nice fit. I like your fabric, great find.
10/27/07 3:47 PM
Patti B said...
You are so right that at least half the battle is starting with the right size! Your top looks lovely and could definitely become a TNT pattern for you.
10/28/07 3:13 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, wouldn't we all love to have such a nice-fitting blouse? This couldn't be any more flattering if you tried! I think I have this pattern ... SOMEWHERE. You've encouraged me to go on a search-and-destroy (minus the "destroy" part, that is). Great review!
10/28/07 6:34 PM
Sew Shy said...
Thanks for all your comments! Patti, you're right, after all the struggle, it should become a TNT pattern for me. I actually have a fabric in mind for another one, but am not ready to commit to it yet. Also procrastinating on my next project ...
10/29/07 4:43 PM
Sew Shy said...
Thanks for all your comments! Patti, you're right, after all the struggle, it should become a TNT pattern for me. I actually have a fabric in mind for another one, but am not ready to commit to it yet. Also procrastinating on my next project ...
10/29/07 5:55 PM
Leora said...
Okay, I like yours so much I went and pulled this pattern out. Did you do the zipper the way they instruct? Your top is so nice! Congrats on your first review and welcome to PR!!!
10/29/07 6:23 PM
Puddin Pop said...
You did a nice job and it looks great on you.
10/30/07 12:02 PM
Sew Shy said...
Leora, I put in an invisible zipper, so I actually didn't sew the seam at the armhole until the zipper was in. It turned out great! I also put it on the side that I was more comfortable zipping up on (my left) - I don't remember which the pattern stated. Same for the bodice crossover. I liked the way it looked going to one side more than the other, so did that instead.
10/30/07 12:14 PM
Bettsi said...
It looks beautiful on you!
2/27/08 6:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 1324

photo
by: SewRuth

Review
brerrabbit.com 00

photo
by: twinkle72

Review
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now