SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8430 (Marcy Tilton Jacket)

30 more reviews
Viewed 1345 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/07 7:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TrixieD said...
Terrific addition to any wardrobe.
10/28/07 7:36 PM
KarmenG said...
Oh that is just lovely! I LOVE it! And Houndstooth is so "In" this season. I am seeing it everywhere in the stores. That is a stunning coat and now I want to make one. Thanks for the inspiration!
10/28/07 7:42 PM
LauraTS said...
I love your version of this - normally MT patterns are a bit too 'arty' for me, but this is a great use of it with a great fabric.
10/28/07 7:55 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love it! I want one too! Great way to hide the collar seam.
10/28/07 8:00 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Nice fabric choice for this pattern.
10/28/07 8:05 PM
Sharon M said...
That is lovely! I really like it made out of this fabric.
10/28/07 8:25 PM
Kay Y said...
I think the binding is an improvement over the original instructions - it makes this jacket! Love it!
10/28/07 8:58 PM
Mahler said...
Congratulations clin ! What a beautiful version of this pattern you did. It is an excellent idea to use biais tape to finish the garment. Bravo vraiment !
10/28/07 9:25 PM
SillyValley said...
I like the binding too - it sets off the houndstooth and makes your casual and unconstructed jacket look really sharp!
10/28/07 9:37 PM
Birgitte said...
That's just one gorgeous jacket!!
10/28/07 10:05 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, I just recently bought this pattern, so what a timely review. :o) GREAT idea with the silk dupioni binding. I wouldn't have thought of that. I too have a love of coat fabrics -- and have the coats and jackets to prove it. This turned out GREAT. I can imagine how it feels on, too. I can't wait to see your Marfy coat. :o)
10/28/07 10:07 PM
Babs42 said...
Wow! What a great coat, and you finished it beautifully! Enjoy it!
10/29/07 7:20 AM
marjenann said...
Absolutely stunning! I must have one! Canadian ladies have great taste!
10/29/07 8:16 AM
VtMartha said...
Thanks for your review - it's a great inspiration. I have the fabric and I have the pattern but I had not thought of combining the two. Brilliant!
10/29/07 8:23 AM
utz said...
Thanks for this review, beautiful result. I have this pattern but I was puzzled about what fabric to use since I didn't want to felt wool, and had no source for loden wool. I'm glad to see a lovely soft wool can be used to beautiful effect - the binding does the trick!
10/29/07 8:38 AM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful! Love the black and white fabric. Enjoy wearing it.
10/29/07 8:43 AM
Nancy K said...
Love the binding on your coat. Opens up a whole range of other fabrics to use. Enjoy, a lovely coat and it's nice to have a quick coat project.
10/29/07 9:40 AM
patsijean said...
I think I must get this pattern to add to my growing Marcy Tilton collection. This jacket is beautiful.
10/29/07 10:14 AM
cecelia said...
Clin, I recently did the same thing with my coats and am now pretty "coatless." I have this pattern and will use it--thanks for a nice review on it--nice jacket!
10/29/07 10:22 AM
LindsayT said...
This is so chic. I really want to try this pattern too.
10/29/07 12:08 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Very pretty jacket.
10/29/07 12:40 PM
Athene said...
This jacket looks really nice in the houndstooth fabric.
10/29/07 6:59 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Great jacket. I wouldn't have thought to use a woven for this pattern but you came up with the solution in binding the edges.
11/1/07 8:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Other http://www.tinyhappy.typ

photo
by: maria 6705

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1324

photo
by: SewRuth

Review