SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8430 (Marcy Tilton Jacket)

30 more reviews
Viewed 1350 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/07 7:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie Bonner said...
Great jacket. I wouldn't have thought to use a woven for this pattern but you came up with the solution in binding the edges.
11/1/07 8:16 PM
Athene said...
This jacket looks really nice in the houndstooth fabric.
10/29/07 6:59 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Very pretty jacket.
10/29/07 12:40 PM
LindsayT said...
This is so chic. I really want to try this pattern too.
10/29/07 12:08 PM
cecelia said...
Clin, I recently did the same thing with my coats and am now pretty "coatless." I have this pattern and will use it--thanks for a nice review on it--nice jacket!
10/29/07 10:22 AM
patsijean said...
I think I must get this pattern to add to my growing Marcy Tilton collection. This jacket is beautiful.
10/29/07 10:14 AM
Nancy K said...
Love the binding on your coat. Opens up a whole range of other fabrics to use. Enjoy, a lovely coat and it's nice to have a quick coat project.
10/29/07 9:40 AM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful! Love the black and white fabric. Enjoy wearing it.
10/29/07 8:43 AM
utz said...
Thanks for this review, beautiful result. I have this pattern but I was puzzled about what fabric to use since I didn't want to felt wool, and had no source for loden wool. I'm glad to see a lovely soft wool can be used to beautiful effect - the binding does the trick!
10/29/07 8:38 AM
VtMartha said...
Thanks for your review - it's a great inspiration. I have the fabric and I have the pattern but I had not thought of combining the two. Brilliant!
10/29/07 8:23 AM
marjenann said...
Absolutely stunning! I must have one! Canadian ladies have great taste!
10/29/07 8:16 AM
Babs42 said...
Wow! What a great coat, and you finished it beautifully! Enjoy it!
10/29/07 7:20 AM
Annette1 said...
Hey, I just recently bought this pattern, so what a timely review. :o) GREAT idea with the silk dupioni binding. I wouldn't have thought of that. I too have a love of coat fabrics -- and have the coats and jackets to prove it. This turned out GREAT. I can imagine how it feels on, too. I can't wait to see your Marfy coat. :o)
10/28/07 10:07 PM
Birgitte said...
That's just one gorgeous jacket!!
10/28/07 10:05 PM
SillyValley said...
I like the binding too - it sets off the houndstooth and makes your casual and unconstructed jacket look really sharp!
10/28/07 9:37 PM
Mahler said...
Congratulations clin ! What a beautiful version of this pattern you did. It is an excellent idea to use biais tape to finish the garment. Bravo vraiment !
10/28/07 9:25 PM
Kay Y said...
I think the binding is an improvement over the original instructions - it makes this jacket! Love it!
10/28/07 8:58 PM
Sharon M said...
That is lovely! I really like it made out of this fabric.
10/28/07 8:25 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Nice fabric choice for this pattern.
10/28/07 8:05 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love it! I want one too! Great way to hide the collar seam.
10/28/07 8:00 PM
LauraTS said...
I love your version of this - normally MT patterns are a bit too 'arty' for me, but this is a great use of it with a great fabric.
10/28/07 7:55 PM
KarmenG said...
Oh that is just lovely! I LOVE it! And Houndstooth is so "In" this season. I am seeing it everywhere in the stores. That is a stunning coat and now I want to make one. Thanks for the inspiration!
10/28/07 7:42 PM
TrixieD said...
Terrific addition to any wardrobe.
10/28/07 7:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-105

photo
by: CissieW

Review
Coles Creations Hi Low Ruffle Skirt

photo
by: newmama

Review
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

More Info
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

More Info