Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8430 (Marcy Tilton Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1343 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/07 7:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TrixieD said...
Terrific addition to any wardrobe.
10/28/07 7:36 PM
KarmenG said...
Oh that is just lovely! I LOVE it! And Houndstooth is so "In" this season. I am seeing it everywhere in the stores. That is a stunning coat and now I want to make one. Thanks for the inspiration!
10/28/07 7:42 PM
LauraTS said...
I love your version of this - normally MT patterns are a bit too 'arty' for me, but this is a great use of it with a great fabric.
10/28/07 7:55 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love it! I want one too! Great way to hide the collar seam.
10/28/07 8:00 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Nice fabric choice for this pattern.
10/28/07 8:05 PM
Sharon M said...
That is lovely! I really like it made out of this fabric.
10/28/07 8:25 PM
Kay Y said...
I think the binding is an improvement over the original instructions - it makes this jacket! Love it!
10/28/07 8:58 PM
Mahler said...
Congratulations clin ! What a beautiful version of this pattern you did. It is an excellent idea to use biais tape to finish the garment. Bravo vraiment !
10/28/07 9:25 PM
SillyValley said...
I like the binding too - it sets off the houndstooth and makes your casual and unconstructed jacket look really sharp!
10/28/07 9:37 PM
Birgitte said...
That's just one gorgeous jacket!!
10/28/07 10:05 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, I just recently bought this pattern, so what a timely review. :o) GREAT idea with the silk dupioni binding. I wouldn't have thought of that. I too have a love of coat fabrics -- and have the coats and jackets to prove it. This turned out GREAT. I can imagine how it feels on, too. I can't wait to see your Marfy coat. :o)
10/28/07 10:07 PM
Babs42 said...
Wow! What a great coat, and you finished it beautifully! Enjoy it!
10/29/07 7:20 AM
marjenann said...
Absolutely stunning! I must have one! Canadian ladies have great taste!
10/29/07 8:16 AM
VtMartha said...
Thanks for your review - it's a great inspiration. I have the fabric and I have the pattern but I had not thought of combining the two. Brilliant!
10/29/07 8:23 AM
utz said...
Thanks for this review, beautiful result. I have this pattern but I was puzzled about what fabric to use since I didn't want to felt wool, and had no source for loden wool. I'm glad to see a lovely soft wool can be used to beautiful effect - the binding does the trick!
10/29/07 8:38 AM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful! Love the black and white fabric. Enjoy wearing it.
10/29/07 8:43 AM
Nancy K said...
Love the binding on your coat. Opens up a whole range of other fabrics to use. Enjoy, a lovely coat and it's nice to have a quick coat project.
10/29/07 9:40 AM
patsijean said...
I think I must get this pattern to add to my growing Marcy Tilton collection. This jacket is beautiful.
10/29/07 10:14 AM
cecelia said...
Clin, I recently did the same thing with my coats and am now pretty "coatless." I have this pattern and will use it--thanks for a nice review on it--nice jacket!
10/29/07 10:22 AM
LindsayT said...
This is so chic. I really want to try this pattern too.
10/29/07 12:08 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Very pretty jacket.
10/29/07 12:40 PM
Athene said...
This jacket looks really nice in the houndstooth fabric.
10/29/07 6:59 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Great jacket. I wouldn't have thought to use a woven for this pattern but you came up with the solution in binding the edges.
11/1/07 8:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 7916 Jacket
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 6/29/05
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-141
photo
Review by Seamingly ... on 8/3/09
Read Review

Vogue 1368 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1368 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us