SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2007-105 (Dress w. box pleats)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1179 times 
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/07 9:47 PM
Last Updated:10/30/07 10:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Beautiful. But I don't understand -- I have the envelope version of this (7759), and it definitely doesn't say to use stretch fabrics. Or are you saying it SHOULD say this but doesn't? Yikes, going to triple-check my pattern measurements...
12/8/09 10:27 AM
cindy-lou said...
this dress is beautiful!
11/14/07 7:44 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Thank you so much for this super-helpful review! Your dress looks fantastic! I so wanted to make this dress but was starting to think maybe it wasn't a good idea.. you are giving me hope again. Thank you so much.
11/2/07 4:09 PM
ElsaD said...
Thanks for answering my questions. Enjoy wearing your dress. It is beautiful. You gave me incentive to get mine cut out.
11/1/07 2:53 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful dress and very well done! Thanks for the tips.
11/1/07 1:55 PM
yummymummy38 said...
you are a walking advertisement for this dress, which did not appeal in the magazine to me. Very versatile dress
11/1/07 8:51 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Great dress. Great tips as well.
11/1/07 6:19 AM
trinicity said...
this looks great and good review too, very helpful
11/1/07 4:44 AM
mochalover said...
I agree with the others, definitely not boring but definitely cute!
10/31/07 8:00 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Elsa D. and Cidell-yes, bodice one size up (but I do broad back and broad shoulder alteration for myself so this might add room) and hips and waistline are true to size. As stated above I really had to cinch rib/waist in to make it more flattering otherwise it's poofy. I used Collins Stay Tape to stabilize the neck-line. Twill tape will work as well. Yes, vilene is only available in Europe.
10/31/07 4:20 PM
ElsaD said...
I've just finished tracing out this pattern and making alterations. After Cidell's helpful review, I was conscious of the tightness of the bodice. But noticed that the finished measurements of the waist and hips seem to be quite wide. Could you answer a question about Vilene Bias Tape listed in materials? I've queried it on the internet and it seems to be an iron on bias tape only available in Europe. I asked at a sewing shop and was told narrow twill tape would work. What did you use?
10/31/07 3:02 PM
LindsayT said...
I'd call this a funeral dress only if you're wearing it to put the moves on the handsome widower! Great job.
10/31/07 2:07 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute dress!
10/31/07 12:35 PM
Beve said...
lovely dress on a lovely girl!
10/31/07 12:19 PM
Christina Sonja said...
You got a great result with this dress. Wear it often!
10/31/07 12:08 PM
tweedcurtain said...
What a helpful review and lovely dress. Thank you.
10/31/07 11:54 AM
LindsayT said...
I'd call this a funeral dress only if you're wearing it to put the moves on the handsome widower! Great job.
10/31/07 10:49 AM
Cin said...
Looks great, perfect for your figure. Good job on the lining and zipper. Looking at the pattern I was concerned the pleats would make one look kinda puffy, but I can see they are placed so that is not the case. You could add a bright belt and shoes to make it pop a little; although I would call it classy, not boring.
10/31/07 10:34 AM
squirrellypoo said...
boring??? Are you kidding? It's fabulous and so classy!
10/31/07 9:07 AM
ryan's mom said...
Fabulous!
10/31/07 8:12 AM
Nancy K said...
I think that it looks lovely on you. It's the perfect backdrop for dressing up or down.
10/31/07 7:29 AM
KathleenS said...
I love your dress. It looks so much better than the pattern photo, which I didn't actually like.
10/31/07 4:33 AM
MarijaSLO said...
Great! Everything is great about this PR. The dress is very nice. I would rather wear it for a disco night than a funeral. :)
10/31/07 1:58 AM
MissCelie said...
It's not boring at all! I love it. It looks great. So, just one size up? Maybe I'll give it another go round.
10/31/07 1:55 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive dress on you! As Roddy Stewart would sing, "You Wear It Well!"!
10/31/07 1:23 AM
kiddo said...
Awesome dress!!!
10/31/07 0:55 AM
SarahSM said...
Fantastic dress! I love the neckline... The magazine didn't really show that off. Thanks for letting us know about the stretch sizing---I recently had the same experience with a Burda WOF pants pattern and it's so annoying!
10/31/07 0:39 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
I think you'll find this dress to be a winner for more than just funerals. The neckline is very flattering.
10/30/07 11:50 PM
Lori V said...
Fabulous dress, I don't think it is boring at all. Great job.
10/30/07 11:25 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous dress, you look super in it. Thanks for all the tips etc. This is on my list of 50 billion other items to make LOL !!
10/30/07 10:27 PM
Linda G said...
Your dress is darling and you did a wonderful job on the construction.
10/30/07 10:22 PM
HeyJane said...
That looks so well done. And I will add that Power Sewing to the 50 billion books I want to read.
10/30/07 10:16 PM
EdnaW said...
It looks lovely on you. You can wear it just about anywhere too.
10/30/07 10:07 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I LOVE it! I was just looking at this pattern again this morning and hope to find time to make it soon (along with my 50 billion other things!). Looks fantastic on you! :-)
10/30/07 10:05 PM
Mahler said...
Congratulation, your dress is a big success ! You look fabulous !
10/30/07 9:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Butterick 5147

photo
by: cmarie12

Review
Simplicity 9891

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

More Info
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

More Info