SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7717 

12 more reviews
Viewed 2056 times 
Reviewed by:NancyDaQ
photo

 
 
About NancyDaQstar
NM USA
Member since: 1/12/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/03 6:46 PM
Last Updated:3/22/03 6:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debspuncturedthumb said...
I like this pattern and put it on my list for future sales shopping trips! Susan Whelan wrote:"I guess McCall's has already started "dumbing down" Vogue! They've already eliminated some of the Today's Fit patterns from the Vogue catalogue and ALL of them from Butterick. " Not to worry, you can find Sandra Betzina's patterns direct from her at http://www.sandrabetzina.com and I don't think she's retiring anytime soon. She may very well have initiated severing her business relationship with the big pattern manufacturers for un-stated reasons so I would keep your eyes peeled by visiting her site directly-we may be in for some pleasant surprises over the next year or so! ('Just my thoughts on the matter of the 'dumbing down of pattern manufacturers' and discontinuing of this wonderful instructor/designer's products-their loss and our gain as more and more turn their backs on corporate stodgy and discouraging 'propriety' in the name of helping the home sewist to create clothes that far surpass rtw in fit and quality!.)
6/1/03 6:07 PM
CarolC said...
Thanks for the review. I was getting ready to make this after I finish making my slopper to find out my problem areas. I'm planning to use linen and going to make the shorter sleeve top,with capris. I will use your tip ideas.
4/28/03 1:44 PM
Cheryl Schwarz said...
Very nice review. I tried this on at Sandra's seminar last week in the linen fabric that's on the envelope. Crisp. It was flattering on me (5'9"), and on everyone else who wore the size D including a very tiny (maybe 5' tall) senior citizen. I will be making this up in linen as soon as I get some of my other projects done.
3/24/03 9:54 AM
NancyDaQ said...
When I went to Sandra Betzina's seminar recently, she mentioned that the number of Today's Fit patterns will be capped at their current number. So whenever new ones come out, old ones will be discontinued. Plans for Butterick are to make it generic only, so that's why all the Butterick Today's Fit are going away. So get 'em while you can.
3/23/03 2:36 AM
moushka said...
Thanks for the review. I guess McCall's has already started "dumbing down" Vogue! They've already eliminated some of the Today's Fit patterns from the Vogue catalogue and ALL of them from Butterick. Glad I purchased them as they came out. Maybe we should write to McCall's and complain? I'd gladly forego the constant sales if it meant improved sewing directions. Am picking up the pattern next week at Fabricland's $5.49 Vogue sale.
3/22/03 8:58 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Thanks for your review. This pattern is on my wish list, so I appreciate the construction tips. I'm looking forward to the pictures.
3/22/03 7:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: wizechyld

Review
New Look 6130

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info