Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4084 (Threads Lined Coat) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1145 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/2/07 2:25 PM
Last Updated:11/2/07 2:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great looking trench!
11/2/07 2:30 PM
Kateo said...
Wow--that looks WONDERFUL!
11/2/07 4:10 PM
solosmocker said...
This looks wonderful! I am tempted to try this pattern.
11/2/07 6:07 PM
Laurasews said...
Very professional job. I love your coat
11/2/07 9:36 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely trench!
11/2/07 9:44 PM
KathleenS said...
It looks great. I have made a combination of two of the other Threads coat patterns so I agree that they offer a good classic selection. I also agree that a few quick and easy projects are needed next! PS It would be great if you could make your photos (not the main photo but the others) a bit bigger if possible.
11/3/07 5:17 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking Trench coat.
11/3/07 7:18 AM
Catbird said...
Thank you all for your comments! I'm new to doing reviews and I've been struggling a bit with the photo sizes. Haven't gotten it quite right yet, but I'll just keep trying larger dimensions until I get a good result. Thanks again!
11/3/07 8:43 AM
Betsybobbin said...
You look fabulous! Looks like you did a spectacular job. You must feel very accomplished. Thanks for sharing. I am considering making this coat and wonder how long it took to finish?
11/3/07 9:55 AM
DorothyK said...
Great looking trench. Perfect for you. I admire your perserverance. Your cat and mine must be related.
11/3/07 9:56 AM
bluenines said...
great trench coat, you did a wonderfull job! enjoy your new coat
11/3/07 10:52 AM
Nancy K said...
Lovely results! It looks terrific on you.
11/3/07 11:05 AM
Catbird said...
How nice and encouraging all of you are! In answer to Betsy's question about how long it took, it's very hard to estimate, because I used it as a teaching vehicle for some tailoring techniques I wasn't proficient in. That caused some slow going and even some going in reverse! It probably took me about a week or two working a bit each day, but anyone who tries it without obsessing too much about the tailoring could do it quicker I'm sure. And the result would probably be similar because it's a good pattern and doesn't really need to be fussed over. And Dorothy, Bigwig will be thrilled to know he has a look-alike cat twin out there...!
11/3/07 12:44 PM
kiddo said...
Your trench looks better than rtw!!! The fit and look are dead on.
11/3/07 3:48 PM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful coat AND what patience! I also agree that something simple would be next.
11/3/07 4:26 PM
Annette1 said...
Boy, this is RIGHT UP MY ALLEY, from the fabric, to the lining, to the colors, to the style. It's beautiful on you, and your workmanship is inspiring.
11/4/07 1:57 AM
moushka said...
Fabulous coat! Looks like expensive RTW. Thanks for a great review. Sue
11/5/07 7:58 AM
Christas said...
Impeccable sewing! This is an extremely nice coat!
3/21/09 4:45 PM
Tallahasseelassie said...
What a wonderful coat and great review. Thank you for sharing.
10/5/09 8:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 5520
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 9/29/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2346 Men's Vests
photo
Review by HeidiBacca... on 5/26/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3514 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3514 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7008 Pattern
Burda 7008 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us