Online Sewing Class: Put it on the Bias
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8860 (Shirt/blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1061 times 
Reviewed by:Trudy J
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Trudy Jstar
Member since: 9/20/02
Reviews: 8 (patterns: 7)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/03 9:11 PM
Last Updated:3/22/03 10:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trudy J said... (3/23/03 7:19 PM) Reply
sewgirl: Long's book in my view, is somewhat unfocused. Lots of techniques that have in common the fact that they occur above the waist, but it doesn't add up to a coherent whole. I love David Coffin's book because it completely answers the question, "What makes a shirt a shirt, and how do I do it?"
Marcia Adler said... (3/23/03 1:10 PM) Reply
Thanks for this really helpful review; it's a beautiful shirt & my goal to eventually achieve such results. I do worry about the big collar/neck effect on the patterns I see (on much RTW too)... guess I'll have to learn how to scale them down.
sewgirl said... (3/23/03 11:21 AM) Reply
How does the Coffin book compare to Connie Long's "Easy Guide to Sewing Blouses"? Beautiful project!!
Jennifer Hill said... (3/23/03 3:04 AM) Reply
I'm gonna have to get that Coffin book, even if I have to pay full price. I'm sure I don't know what I'm missing. Great review TJ!
Debbie Spriggs said... (3/22/03 11:00 PM) Reply
What a great review! Your shirt looks lovely! I'm also pretty well convinced that I need to get the David Coffin shirt book, too.
Everyday Sewist said... (3/22/03 10:48 PM) Reply
Your shirt looks great, and your review is like a sewing lesson! Thanks!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Burda 7190

photo
by: Annette1

Review
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Pattern Details