SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8860 (Shirt/blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1060 times 
Reviewed by:Trudy J
photo

 
 
About Trudy Jstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/20/02
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/03 9:11 PM
Last Updated:3/22/03 10:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trudy J said...
sewgirl: Long's book in my view, is somewhat unfocused. Lots of techniques that have in common the fact that they occur above the waist, but it doesn't add up to a coherent whole. I love David Coffin's book because it completely answers the question, "What makes a shirt a shirt, and how do I do it?"
3/23/03 7:19 PM
Marcia Adler said...
Thanks for this really helpful review; it's a beautiful shirt & my goal to eventually achieve such results. I do worry about the big collar/neck effect on the patterns I see (on much RTW too)... guess I'll have to learn how to scale them down.
3/23/03 1:10 PM
sewgirl said...
How does the Coffin book compare to Connie Long's "Easy Guide to Sewing Blouses"? Beautiful project!!
3/23/03 11:21 AM
Jennifer Hill said...
I'm gonna have to get that Coffin book, even if I have to pay full price. I'm sure I don't know what I'm missing. Great review TJ!
3/23/03 3:04 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
What a great review! Your shirt looks lovely! I'm also pretty well convinced that I need to get the David Coffin shirt book, too.
3/22/03 11:00 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Your shirt looks great, and your review is like a sewing lesson! Thanks!
3/22/03 10:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Butterick 5679

photo
by: cmarie12

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now