SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8860 (Shirt/blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1060 times 
Reviewed by:Trudy J
photo

 
 
About Trudy Jstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/20/02
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/03 9:11 PM
Last Updated:3/22/03 10:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Everyday Sewist said...
Your shirt looks great, and your review is like a sewing lesson! Thanks!
3/22/03 10:48 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
What a great review! Your shirt looks lovely! I'm also pretty well convinced that I need to get the David Coffin shirt book, too.
3/22/03 11:00 PM
Jennifer Hill said...
I'm gonna have to get that Coffin book, even if I have to pay full price. I'm sure I don't know what I'm missing. Great review TJ!
3/23/03 3:04 AM
sewgirl said...
How does the Coffin book compare to Connie Long's "Easy Guide to Sewing Blouses"? Beautiful project!!
3/23/03 11:21 AM
Marcia Adler said...
Thanks for this really helpful review; it's a beautiful shirt & my goal to eventually achieve such results. I do worry about the big collar/neck effect on the patterns I see (on much RTW too)... guess I'll have to learn how to scale them down.
3/23/03 1:10 PM
Trudy J said...
sewgirl: Long's book in my view, is somewhat unfocused. Lots of techniques that have in common the fact that they occur above the waist, but it doesn't add up to a coherent whole. I love David Coffin's book because it completely answers the question, "What makes a shirt a shirt, and how do I do it?"
3/23/03 7:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

McCall's 5815

photo
by: Nancy Anne

Review
Vogue Patterns 1287

photo
by: saranoemi

Review
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now