Online Sewing Class: Put it on the Bias
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8860 (Shirt/blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1062 times 
Reviewed by:Trudy J
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Trudy Jstar
Member since: 9/20/02
Reviews: 8 (patterns: 7)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/03 9:11 PM
Last Updated:3/22/03 10:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trudy J said... (3/23/03 7:19 PM) Reply
sewgirl: Long's book in my view, is somewhat unfocused. Lots of techniques that have in common the fact that they occur above the waist, but it doesn't add up to a coherent whole. I love David Coffin's book because it completely answers the question, "What makes a shirt a shirt, and how do I do it?"
Marcia Adler said... (3/23/03 1:10 PM) Reply
Thanks for this really helpful review; it's a beautiful shirt & my goal to eventually achieve such results. I do worry about the big collar/neck effect on the patterns I see (on much RTW too)... guess I'll have to learn how to scale them down.
sewgirl said... (3/23/03 11:21 AM) Reply
How does the Coffin book compare to Connie Long's "Easy Guide to Sewing Blouses"? Beautiful project!!
Jennifer Hill said... (3/23/03 3:04 AM) Reply
I'm gonna have to get that Coffin book, even if I have to pay full price. I'm sure I don't know what I'm missing. Great review TJ!
Debbie Spriggs said... (3/22/03 11:00 PM) Reply
What a great review! Your shirt looks lovely! I'm also pretty well convinced that I need to get the David Coffin shirt book, too.
Everyday Sewist said... (3/22/03 10:48 PM) Reply
Your shirt looks great, and your review is like a sewing lesson! Thanks!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

BurdaStyle Downloadable 7969

photo
by: julliams

Review
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Pattern Details
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Pattern Details