Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3639 (Penguin Costume) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 605 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:kkkkaty
photo
Friend of PR
About kkkkatystarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 12/7/05
Reviews written: 127
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/07 1:23 PM
Last Updated:4/23/08 9:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jessika said...
Very cute. I would love to see the sking picture and thanks for the great review.
11/3/07 3:07 PM
khurtdvm said...
Oh, my gosh, I'd love to see a picture of the penguin skiing! :)
11/3/07 3:11 PM
Sew_Creative said...
I love this , and your review was quick and to the point I love that too! Wow and you were even able to get special effects with the snow can't beat that.
11/3/07 3:26 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for the details about what fabrics you used for which parts. And please post a picture when you wear it skiing.
11/4/07 8:04 AM
ElsaD said...
Hey, kkkaty, this looks great. I also agree with all you said. It is a great costume for cold climates. Looking forward to the skiing photo!
11/4/07 7:02 PM
xstpenguin said...
I LOVE it! I really must buy that pattern, but I'm not sure I'd ever have the nerve to wear it in public. Cool to you!
11/5/07 2:38 PM
kkkkaty said...
Thanks, xstpenguin, I do think you have to be in touch with your inner penguin (which I think you might be?) to get the most from this costume (or else be two years old or so). If you have been thinking that you need to work on your waddle, this pattern can definitely be of help....
11/6/07 12:07 PM
xstpenguin said...
I LOVE it! I really must buy that pattern, but I'm not sure I'd ever have the nerve to wear it in public. Cool to you!
11/6/07 3:36 PM
cindy-lou said...
Katy, AWESOME costume. You did such a nice job! :)
11/12/07 8:50 AM
Cressie said...
I used your suggestions about the fusible and it worked nicely. Thanks!
1/28/08 9:02 PM
Athene said...
What a fabulous penguin you are. I think your photos are priceless.
4/23/08 11:06 PM
Gelbean said...
I love your costume. What a riot...a skiing penguin! Thanks for the pics and the review.
4/24/08 1:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3253
photo
Review by Reedy on 3/24/05
Read Review

McCalls 6512 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
McCalls 6512 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6935 Pattern
Burda 6935 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8202
photo
Review by lilhoney57 on 1/13/06
Read Review

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us