SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8603 

Viewed 644 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/07 5:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
lol. I resorted to a dust mask and goggles last time I sewed with fake fur - seriously. Breathing it in was not nice. And that was a much smaller item than this. Your coat is great though. I like how the stripes worked out, especially the way the sleeve stripe flows over the shoulder. I hadn't seen this pattern before and I'm very interested now so thanks for drawing my attention to it.
11/3/07 6:33 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
You did a wonderful job and will serve as an inspiration to many. YOur sister is a lucky woman.
11/3/07 6:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
Well, it is just gorgeous! You did a terrific job for your sister. Everytime I'm tempted to buy fake fur, I will read this review. Off to bookmark it right now.
11/3/07 6:54 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oh my. I haven't sewn with fake fur yet, but I must say the results look like they are worth all your trouble. The coat looks awesome! You do indeed have a very lucky sister. :)
11/3/07 7:18 PM
Birgitte said...
Superb job on this! And I do sympathize; it's just horrible stuff to work with. Thanks for the laugh, your review is excellent :-)
11/3/07 7:40 PM
Annette1 said...
Ha! I'm so glad I took a break to read your review. :o)) I'm "laughing out loud," as they say -- really! I HEAR YA' on the fake fur. I made a fake fur jacket for my niece, and I said NEVER AGAIN. I won't even make a fake fur COLLAR. :o))) BUT, look how nice this coat turned out! It's beautiful, and I know your sister LOVES it -- or else! :o) Great job, as usual, and a very entertaining review, to boot. I can just see you picking all the fur out of the seams with that needle. :o)))
11/3/07 8:32 PM
GinaSews said...
I've had the same experience with fake fur!
11/3/07 9:03 PM
Mahler said...
Congratulation for surviving this sewing experience. You made me laugh a good deal. The coat looks so good. It does not show that you wished all your heart that the experience would be over fast. As I said, the result is beautiful !
11/3/07 9:34 PM
solosmocker said...
I think this coat is wonderful. Sorry the fur was such a p-----. Am I doomed to never use that beautiful fur in my stash closet? Not even for a hat?
11/3/07 9:58 PM
xtreme1 said...
Good match of fabric, or fur, to pattern. Works well.
11/4/07 6:03 AM
Grammy Gin said...
So lovely! Am sure DS is very appreciative & will love it ! You are a good sister, that's a given.
11/4/07 11:56 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your sister's coat turned out beautifully!
11/5/07 11:15 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Ooooo, the photo of this gorgeous coat was calling my name. Then I read your review and decided to temper my enthusiasm. I'll have to be content to envy your sister from a distance. Your reviews are always so full of spirit.
11/5/07 11:53 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Last time I did fake fur I used Sandra Betzina's suggestions - zigzag at the edges without seam allowances, less cutting, no hair in the wrong places. It worked great and the jacket's holding up just fine. I recommend it.. Apart from that, I think your jackets looks great, and this looks like a good pattern, so hopefully you'll mellow into it as the winter progresses :-)..
11/6/07 5:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 3740 Knit Cowl

photo
by: krazyknit

Review