Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3877 (Threads Collection) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1340 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:RobinE
photo
Friend of PR
About RobinEstar
WA USA
Member since: 12/21/06
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/07 1:05 AM
Last Updated:11/4/07 1:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
You are beautiful in this dress! Well done and thanks for the zipper link :)
11/4/07 1:14 AM
Janice C. said...
Fabulous - and a great review too.
11/4/07 4:51 AM
bluenines said...
you look beautiful in this dress, i love the color and congrats on you anniversary
11/4/07 6:13 AM
oracle said...
I think your dress is just beautiful, and that you've done a great job. I'm working on the same dress from the same pattern right now, and am at the tissue-fitting stage (I use the FFRP book, too!) I've been worried about how well the wrap bodice would fit over my bust, since I'm a DD, myself. Seeing how smoothly and adequately you got yours to fit makes me think, this dress will work for me, too! Congratulations (and on your anniversary, too!)
11/4/07 7:00 AM
oracle said...

11/4/07 7:12 AM
carolynw said...
I like this dress on you Robin - congrats on your 5th anniversary and I hope you and DH had a wonderful evening!
11/4/07 8:41 AM
Linda G said...
Beautiful dress. Good creativity to overcome short amount of fabric. I have noticed more and more that Hancock and Joann Fabrics are shorting on the width.
11/4/07 9:32 AM
CarolynGM said...
Gorgeous dress for an anniversary celebration.
11/4/07 9:49 AM
Sharon M said...
You're dress is beautiful - the fabric may have been problematic for you but the end result was worth it. You look lovely - the perfect dress to celebrate an anniversary in. Have fun!
11/4/07 10:45 AM
RuthieSews said...
very pretty. The contrast gores work really well - good design idea born from necessity. And the dark red is lovely on you, if it still fits you you have a dress for Christmas and next years valentine's too!
11/4/07 10:48 AM
Olivia Sews said...
Very pretty!! Very versatile pattern depending on fabric! Thanks for the link to sewing invisible zippers. I have tried those yet.
11/4/07 10:50 AM
Mahler said...
Robin, you wrote an excellent review. You look fabulous in this dress. Bravo !
11/4/07 10:55 AM
Diane E said...
You look beautiful in this dress and it is beautiful on you. I love the color. Thanks for bringing this pattern to my attention.
11/4/07 11:12 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Lovely dress! I love the fabric you chose! I had planned on making this one last spring in a rayon challis print but got sidetracked -- in the right fabric this would make a beautiful dress for the holidays... Now you've got my wheels turning. :)
11/4/07 11:30 AM
Lori V said...
Happy anniversary. Very pretty dress and nice job mixing the fabrics to make the dress.
11/4/07 11:57 AM
Soliel said...
Wow, how nice! Love how you tried a completely different fabric and got a totally different look. Would be a great Christmas (Holiday) dress.
11/4/07 12:20 PM
CypGrl said...
What a pretty dress! When I first looked at it my thought was that someone already had a beautiful dress for the holidays and didn't wait until the last minute. Congratulations on your anniversary.
11/4/07 2:29 PM
Tearsa said...
Really great color!!
11/5/07 4:32 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. Glad you were able to find substitute fabric to save the project.
11/5/07 5:29 AM
moss said...
your link is not working
11/5/07 11:13 AM
RobinE said...
Gah! Sorry about the broken link. All fixed now :) And thanks for all of the supportive and friendly comments!
11/6/07 11:20 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I am about to sew this dress, and have found your review quite helpful. The gore insertions had me a little anxious, but it is so good to know that your's went together without a hitch! And your dress is beautiful, by the way.
1/5/08 5:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

New Look 6872
photo
Review by Thera on 1/27/12
Read Review

New Look 6233 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6233 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5919 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5919 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used PinkShirt Pink Shirt
photo
Review by Lesaliciou... on 7/10/08
Read Review

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us