SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4176 (Misses pullover tunic/top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 927 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/07 2:48 PM
Last Updated:11/5/07 9:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurasews said...
I like the idea of starching the fabric. Do you use a spray starch after laying the pattern on the cut piece?
11/4/07 2:51 PM
Nancywin said...
Yes, that's exactly what I did. I mix my own starch from liquid a lot of the time, but this time I happened to see some Niagra "heavy" in the store. It really makes it stiff.
11/4/07 3:00 PM
cindy-lou said...
I THOUGHT this top looked familiar... ;) GREAT top, Nancy! I want to have yours now. I wish we were neighbors and could trade. Thanks for the starch tip-- I'm going to try it!
11/4/07 3:12 PM
michellep74 said...
Love your top--it looks great on you!
11/4/07 4:34 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Very cute....looks like it will be cool in your hot CA weather, too.
11/5/07 0:20 AM
nimble said...
Very pretty top. The color is gorgeous!
11/5/07 4:14 AM
ryan's mom said...
You top is so pretty!
11/5/07 6:29 AM
OP Gal said...
Pretty top. Thanks for the links so we can see the different looks. I like starching difficult fabrics, too.
11/5/07 7:42 AM
Catbird said...
This is so pretty! Using spray starch is a great idea. This fits you perfectly and looks so nice.
11/5/07 8:58 AM
MissCelie said...
I've been afraid to work with sheers so I will take the 'starch the heck out of it' to heart! Looks cute and I like the tie!
11/5/07 9:36 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I agree that the tie enhances an already great-looking top. The lovely color looks fantastic on you.
11/5/07 9:41 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Lovely top! The sweetheart neckline looks great on you.
11/5/07 9:59 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Yes the tie finishes it. super-cute.
11/6/07 9:13 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
I love this top - the colour on you, the style. It looks great and one I am going to try.
11/8/07 10:59 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I can't believe what a difference that tie makes! This looks SO nice on you, and the color is very flattering, as well! Good idea, starching that fabric. I would have never thought of that.
11/11/07 0:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Kwik Sew 2948

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now