SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4444 (Laura Ashley Dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1200 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/07 6:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ceejayem said...
Love your review and your dress. Totally concur re. the sound of synthetic vs natural fibre fabric:) Off the cuff I would not have expected this pattern to work in a fabric with sheen but you have totally pulled it off!
8/17/14 10:50 PM
ceejayem said...
Love your review and your dress. Totally concur re. the sound of synthetic vs natural fibre fabric:) Off the cuff I would not have expected this pattern to work in a fabric with sheen but you have totally pulled it off!
8/17/14 10:49 PM
Orsi said...
I think the dress is a lot prettier with narrower straps. Nice fabric, too.
7/11/10 10:37 AM
Leora said...
I love reading your reviews. What you've done here is extremely well thought out and executed. Excellent!!!
11/13/07 10:30 PM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL! I LOVE your fabric. It's so well suited for this dress, and those pleats on the bodice take it a step above gathers.
11/11/07 0:12 AM
ariesluv4u said...
Very nice.It looks great.
11/8/07 9:44 PM
yummymummy38 said...
absolutely scrumptious dress
11/6/07 7:15 AM
MissCelie said...
What a faaaabulous dress!!
11/5/07 5:17 PM
cindy-lou said...
Oh, My! I only *wish* my finished cocktail wear looked this beautiful. A labor of love. Thanks for the great review, and hae a WONDERFUL time at the wedding!
11/5/07 6:56 AM
KathleenS said...
It's absolutely gorgeous and worth the work! It seems like it's a good pattern too. Isn't it fun having shoes dyed to match! My bridesmaid had shoes dyed green the same unusual colour as her dress and I just thought it was so cool.
11/5/07 4:56 AM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous dress and great review. You showed very clearly what a difference a different fabric may do for a pattern.
11/5/07 3:04 AM
Grammy Gin said...
This is just soooo beautiful. What a wonderful review. Your garments are so much better than RTW. Will be waiting to see pic of you & DBF at the wedding. Have fun!
11/5/07 0:49 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Beautiful dress! Enjoy reading yr review as well.
11/4/07 10:53 PM
GinaSews said...
Beautiful!
11/4/07 10:22 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Amazing dress! However, if you are classified as "intermediate," then I am not even worthy of touching a needle! You are a very talented seamstress, and I think you should be classified as "advanced." Excellently-detailed review!
11/4/07 10:00 PM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
11/4/07 9:40 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Love your dress and your story. What fun—formal affairs are so scarce these days! That fabric is killer.
11/4/07 8:05 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow! Gorgeous! What a difference fabric makes, eh!! Two, totally unique dresses! You can be extremely proud of your efforts!! And, now that you have formal wear, maybe you'll find more activities to wear it to (symphony, fancy dinner, play, etc.). Isn't it FUN to Dress UP!!
11/4/07 7:58 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous gorgeous! The color is to die for, the bodice is really glam and sexy, and your workmanship looks impeccable. I cannot wait to see a photo of you in the whole ensemble. Although of course this dress is for you, it's also such a thoughtful gift for you to give your gem of a groom-friend, too! Enjoy the attention you get at the wedding. Hope the bride forgives you for stealing her spotlight. ;-)
11/4/07 7:38 PM
frame said...
Beautiful dress! Great review.
11/4/07 7:02 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Great review! I enjoyed the story behind it. The dress is perfect.
11/4/07 6:57 PM
Linda G said...
Your dress shoes and jacket are absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for the great review.
11/4/07 6:50 PM
sewbehind said...
Wow, what a gorgeous dress and shoes dyed to match. I'm sure you looked like a dream. Very thorough review. Thank you.
11/4/07 6:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern Blanket

photo
by: aileeoops

Review