SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4444 (Laura Ashley Dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1206 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews: 212 (patterns: 211)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/07 6:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ceejayem said... (8/17/14 10:50 PM) Reply
Love your review and your dress. Totally concur re. the sound of synthetic vs natural fibre fabric:) Off the cuff I would not have expected this pattern to work in a fabric with sheen but you have totally pulled it off!
ceejayem said... (8/17/14 10:49 PM) Reply
Love your review and your dress. Totally concur re. the sound of synthetic vs natural fibre fabric:) Off the cuff I would not have expected this pattern to work in a fabric with sheen but you have totally pulled it off!
Orsi said... (7/11/10 10:37 AM) Reply
I think the dress is a lot prettier with narrower straps. Nice fabric, too.
Leora said... (11/13/07 10:30 PM) Reply
I love reading your reviews. What you've done here is extremely well thought out and executed. Excellent!!!
Annette1 said... (11/11/07 0:12 AM) Reply
BEAUTIFUL! I LOVE your fabric. It's so well suited for this dress, and those pleats on the bodice take it a step above gathers.
ariesluv4u said... (11/8/07 9:44 PM) Reply
Very nice.It looks great.
yummymummy38 said... (11/6/07 7:15 AM) Reply
absolutely scrumptious dress
MissCelie said... (11/5/07 5:17 PM) Reply
What a faaaabulous dress!!
cindy-lou said... (11/5/07 6:56 AM) Reply
Oh, My! I only *wish* my finished cocktail wear looked this beautiful. A labor of love. Thanks for the great review, and hae a WONDERFUL time at the wedding!
KathleenS said... (11/5/07 4:56 AM) Reply
It's absolutely gorgeous and worth the work! It seems like it's a good pattern too. Isn't it fun having shoes dyed to match! My bridesmaid had shoes dyed green the same unusual colour as her dress and I just thought it was so cool.
Sigrid. said... (11/5/07 3:04 AM) Reply
Gorgeous dress and great review. You showed very clearly what a difference a different fabric may do for a pattern.
Grammy Gin said... (11/5/07 0:49 AM) Reply
This is just soooo beautiful. What a wonderful review. Your garments are so much better than RTW. Will be waiting to see pic of you & DBF at the wedding. Have fun!
Dmd4106 said... (11/4/07 10:53 PM) Reply
Beautiful dress! Enjoy reading yr review as well.
GinaSews said... (11/4/07 10:22 PM) Reply
Beautiful!
AnneMarie60 said... (11/4/07 10:00 PM) Reply
Amazing dress! However, if you are classified as "intermediate," then I am not even worthy of touching a needle! You are a very talented seamstress, and I think you should be classified as "advanced." Excellently-detailed review!
Schnauzer said... (11/4/07 9:40 PM) Reply
Absolutely gorgeous!
svenskaflicka said... (11/4/07 8:05 PM) Reply
Love your dress and your story. What fun—formal affairs are so scarce these days! That fabric is killer.
Rhonda in Montreal said... (11/4/07 7:58 PM) Reply
Wow! Gorgeous! What a difference fabric makes, eh!! Two, totally unique dresses! You can be extremely proud of your efforts!! And, now that you have formal wear, maybe you'll find more activities to wear it to (symphony, fancy dinner, play, etc.). Isn't it FUN to Dress UP!!
Leslie in Austin said... (11/4/07 7:38 PM) Reply
Gorgeous, gorgeous gorgeous! The color is to die for, the bodice is really glam and sexy, and your workmanship looks impeccable. I cannot wait to see a photo of you in the whole ensemble. Although of course this dress is for you, it's also such a thoughtful gift for you to give your gem of a groom-friend, too! Enjoy the attention you get at the wedding. Hope the bride forgives you for stealing her spotlight. ;-)
frame said... (11/4/07 7:02 PM) Reply
Beautiful dress! Great review.
Olivia Sews said... (11/4/07 6:57 PM) Reply
Great review! I enjoyed the story behind it. The dress is perfect.
Linda G said... (11/4/07 6:50 PM) Reply
Your dress shoes and jacket are absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for the great review.
sewbehind said... (11/4/07 6:46 PM) Reply
Wow, what a gorgeous dress and shoes dyed to match. I'm sure you looked like a dream. Very thorough review. Thank you.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2015-107

photo
by: Levone

Review
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Papercut Patterns 1004

photo
by: JessieBear

Review