SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5011 (bags)

2 more reviews
Viewed 352 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews: 267 (patterns: 232)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/07 7:52 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by Nikki using this Pattern

photo

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tez said... (11/6/07 7:37 AM) Reply
Very pretty bag. I love the flower design. The tips on sewing thick felt are really helpful, too!
cindy-lou said... (11/5/07 2:33 PM) Reply
What a very cute bag! I'd like to try this during this winter sometime.
AnneMarie60 said... (11/5/07 9:36 AM) Reply
Nikki: Thanks for the info. This is such a great project idea. I can't wait to try it. I am also pleased that you used the hand-punch needles instead of the pricey machines I've seen used recently!
cindyann said... (11/5/07 9:30 AM) Reply
What a nice bag. Love the flower. It adds some whimsy.
Nikki said... (11/5/07 9:29 AM) Reply
tessiesgal, this particular sweater fulled to a very dense, tight state - the handles don't stretch very much at all. Sometimes sweaters are still rather stretchy after fulling, in which case you would need to reinforce the handles.
GorgeousFabrics said... (11/5/07 8:15 AM) Reply
Nikki, I just love that! What a great job and a pretty bag!
CarolynGM said... (11/5/07 5:15 AM) Reply
What a clever idea for recycling a sweater. Thanks for the tips on sewing with fulled material.
Tiner W said... (11/4/07 10:25 PM) Reply
What a great project! This gives me ideas--I've had the felting needles for a long time and haven't tried anything with it yet. Thanks for the inspiration!
AnneMarie60 said... (11/4/07 10:17 PM) Reply
Your bag is cute. I love the flower design. However, are the handles sturdy enough without lining? I'd be afraid that they'd become misshapen after the purse is weighted down with a wallet, keys, etc.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

New Look 6571

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2013-106

photo
by: CissieW

Review
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details