SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5011 (bags)

2 more reviews
Viewed 352 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/07 7:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tez said... (11/6/07 7:37 AM) Reply
Very pretty bag. I love the flower design. The tips on sewing thick felt are really helpful, too!
cindy-lou said... (11/5/07 2:33 PM) Reply
What a very cute bag! I'd like to try this during this winter sometime.
AnneMarie60 said... (11/5/07 9:36 AM) Reply
Nikki: Thanks for the info. This is such a great project idea. I can't wait to try it. I am also pleased that you used the hand-punch needles instead of the pricey machines I've seen used recently!
cindyann said... (11/5/07 9:30 AM) Reply
What a nice bag. Love the flower. It adds some whimsy.
Nikki said... (11/5/07 9:29 AM) Reply
tessiesgal, this particular sweater fulled to a very dense, tight state - the handles don't stretch very much at all. Sometimes sweaters are still rather stretchy after fulling, in which case you would need to reinforce the handles.
GorgeousFabrics said... (11/5/07 8:15 AM) Reply
Nikki, I just love that! What a great job and a pretty bag!
CarolynGM said... (11/5/07 5:15 AM) Reply
What a clever idea for recycling a sweater. Thanks for the tips on sewing with fulled material.
Tiner W said... (11/4/07 10:25 PM) Reply
What a great project! This gives me ideas--I've had the felting needles for a long time and haven't tried anything with it yet. Thanks for the inspiration!
AnneMarie60 said... (11/4/07 10:17 PM) Reply
Your bag is cute. I love the flower design. However, are the handles sturdy enough without lining? I'd be afraid that they'd become misshapen after the purse is weighted down with a wallet, keys, etc.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 7989

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Pattern Details
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Pattern Details