SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5011 (bags)

2 more reviews
Viewed 352 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
Friend of PR

About Nikkistarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews: 267 (patterns: 232)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/07 7:52 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by Nikki using this Pattern

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Tez said... (11/6/07 7:37 AM) Reply
Very pretty bag. I love the flower design. The tips on sewing thick felt are really helpful, too!
cindy-lou said... (11/5/07 2:33 PM) Reply
What a very cute bag! I'd like to try this during this winter sometime.
AnneMarie60 said... (11/5/07 9:36 AM) Reply
Nikki: Thanks for the info. This is such a great project idea. I can't wait to try it. I am also pleased that you used the hand-punch needles instead of the pricey machines I've seen used recently!
cindyann said... (11/5/07 9:30 AM) Reply
What a nice bag. Love the flower. It adds some whimsy.
Nikki said... (11/5/07 9:29 AM) Reply
tessiesgal, this particular sweater fulled to a very dense, tight state - the handles don't stretch very much at all. Sometimes sweaters are still rather stretchy after fulling, in which case you would need to reinforce the handles.
GorgeousFabrics said... (11/5/07 8:15 AM) Reply
Nikki, I just love that! What a great job and a pretty bag!
CarolynGM said... (11/5/07 5:15 AM) Reply
What a clever idea for recycling a sweater. Thanks for the tips on sewing with fulled material.
Tiner W said... (11/4/07 10:25 PM) Reply
What a great project! This gives me ideas--I've had the felting needles for a long time and haven't tried anything with it yet. Thanks for the inspiration!
AnneMarie60 said... (11/4/07 10:17 PM) Reply
Your bag is cute. I love the flower design. However, are the handles sturdy enough without lining? I'd be afraid that they'd become misshapen after the purse is weighted down with a wallet, keys, etc.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Pattern Details