Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6154 (Misses Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 600 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/07 4:50 AM
Last Updated:11/7/07 4:50 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
Nice dress Kathleen! I like the cowl at the back actually, this would be a neat way to resolve a gaping cowl problem! I'm sure I have a pattern with a deep back cowl floating around. To do a forward shoulder alteration, cut a small bit off the front pattern piece shoulder & tape it to the edge of the back pattern piece shoulder. This gives the back shoulder strap more length & the seam shifts forward without changing the drafting anywhere else.
11/7/07 5:58 AM
JBsewmonster said...
I think your dress turned out really well. Especially that it is reversible! Maybe you could make a shrug with the extra. Great fabric too.
11/7/07 7:47 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress - looks great on you.
11/7/07 8:05 AM
Quesie said...
I love that "reversible" surprise... and I think the cowl looks gorgeous on your back as well as your front!
11/7/07 10:00 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful - and very flattering!
11/7/07 10:19 AM
Hilary said...
Pretty dress, it has such a flattering shape! It looks really good on you :o)
11/7/07 10:37 AM
Soliel said...
very successful! I have a very similiar figure to you. Nice to see curvy (but thin) women wear close knit dresses. Anyway, as to the remainder, make a knit top, maybe an overlay type of top you can wear over a camisole. There are tons of types. Butterick 4606 or something like that.
11/7/07 11:23 AM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely dress, like the cowl neck on the back surprise.
11/7/07 11:40 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Love what you have done with this dress. Looks great on you.
11/7/07 9:37 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Lovely dress, either way around! If you don't want to use the fabric as a matching shrug (might be too much?) why don't you try the BWOF Princess Seamed Top 06-2007-110 ? I reviewed it in stretch lace which I lined with flesh coloured stretch lining and it's a lovely fit. Would suit your fabric well. I'll keep a look out to see what you do!
11/8/07 9:22 AM
cathy45 said...
I just love serendipity and a reversable dress definitely qualifies. This is wonderful & I actually prefer the cowl in back. Pretty fabric, too.
11/8/07 10:19 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty dress! Lovely fabric.
11/9/07 6:53 AM
Annette1 said...
SO flattering, and that fabric just MAKES it. And very clever, too, that the neckline works either way. Thanks for a great review!
11/11/07 0:42 AM
Oziroo said...
This style suits you so well, and the colours are beautiful. Well done!
11/11/07 5:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Contest Wardrobe Contest Sep 2009
photo
Review by samiroquai on 9/21/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Fairy Tale Dress Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Fairy Tale Dress Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5860 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5860 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2011-34: Glow worm top
photo
Review by hme75 on 5/21/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us