Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1001 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 664 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/07 5:25 PM
Last Updated:11/7/07 5:36 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Membear said...
what a great coat . It has a real 50 s air to9 it How didi you do the trim on the lapels That looks interesting but I cant see it very well
11/7/07 5:49 PM
PegL said...
I love your coat!! It's stunning! Great review too!
11/7/07 6:54 PM
KimG said...
This is exquisite! Your plaid-matching skills are superb! Thanks so much for the construction details--they provide a great checklist for any coat. Any chance you could include a photo of your pleat w/o lining? It sounds like a great idea, but I'm having trouble visualizing it.
11/7/07 6:56 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
WOW! What a gorgeous coat and stunningly beautiful job. Matching all those plaids...I am in awe.
11/7/07 7:08 PM
blue mooney said...
What a beautiful coat! the back view is stunning.
11/7/07 7:18 PM
ALY said...
Grat coat. I love how you used the plaid on the bias in some sections and on the straight of grain in others.
11/7/07 7:43 PM
LindsayT said...
I am in awe of your sewing superiority. Looking forward to more photos.
11/7/07 8:09 PM
LauraTS said...
The word "handsome" comes to mind - love the bias detailing and the collar.
11/8/07 3:01 AM
Karine said...
Your coat is stunning. Love the use of plaid on the bias! Thanks for the detailed review.
11/8/07 6:49 AM
marjenann said...
What a dreamy coat!! The styling is amazing, very upscale. Thanks for that great review, I pick up several tips for my upcoming coat project!
11/8/07 7:07 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh wow, I am just in awe of your sewing and plaid matching skills. Wonderful coat, so smart.
11/8/07 7:26 AM
Fran G said...
This is an amazing piece of work! Your plaid matching skills are awesome! Lovely job..enjoy the many compliments sure to come your way!
11/8/07 8:01 AM
carolynw said...
Membear: The trim on the lapels is a machine fancy stitch - kind of a heavy zig zag - worked in a Sulky thread. Kim G - the coat itself has the back pleat When I was cutting out the lining I used the patttern piece for the back but folded the excess material needed for the pleat out of the way so although the lining is almost an exact replica of the coat it is missing the back pleat.
11/8/07 8:26 AM
cecelia said...
Clin, this is one beautiful coat. Thanks for a very nice and detailed review.
11/8/07 8:50 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful use of plaid. Very classy coat too.
11/8/07 8:59 AM
Betsybobbin said...
Outstanding! Thank you for the great review!
11/8/07 9:02 AM
KarmenG said...
Impressive Carolyn! That is a wonderful coat and you did a fabulous job. Bias isn't easy but you tackled it successfully.
11/8/07 9:27 AM
christinawo said...
You did a beautiful job. Thank you for all the details in your review. You inspire me to get going on my coat! Thanks!
11/8/07 10:28 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Oh! such a nice coat & a wonderful review - with lots of good tips! Thanks
11/8/07 8:54 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
perfect marriage of fabric to pattern - simply irresistible!
11/9/07 2:17 AM
Nancywin said...
Clin, this is beautiful. You did a wonderful job on it. I love your fabric choices - very stylish
11/9/07 10:29 PM
Annette1 said...
You are an inspiration to us all, and that's no bull. All those PLAIDS to match, not to mention the many couture details of your coat. (And who's to say you won't be out in gale-force winds sometime?) :o) Thanks for the GREAT review!
11/11/07 0:49 AM
Annette1 said...
And, by the way, I think you need to up your "sewing skills" ranking. :o)
11/13/07 12:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 8123 MISSES' JACKET
photo
Review by whomper on 3/18/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1381 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1381 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4209
photo
Review by JudyP on 5/12/06
Read Review

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us