SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1001 

Viewed 666 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/07 5:25 PM
Last Updated:11/7/07 5:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
And, by the way, I think you need to up your "sewing skills" ranking. :o)
11/13/07 12:56 PM
Annette1 said...
You are an inspiration to us all, and that's no bull. All those PLAIDS to match, not to mention the many couture details of your coat. (And who's to say you won't be out in gale-force winds sometime?) :o) Thanks for the GREAT review!
11/11/07 0:49 AM
Nancywin said...
Clin, this is beautiful. You did a wonderful job on it. I love your fabric choices - very stylish
11/9/07 10:29 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
perfect marriage of fabric to pattern - simply irresistible!
11/9/07 2:17 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Oh! such a nice coat & a wonderful review - with lots of good tips! Thanks
11/8/07 8:54 PM
christinawo said...
You did a beautiful job. Thank you for all the details in your review. You inspire me to get going on my coat! Thanks!
11/8/07 10:28 AM
KarmenG said...
Impressive Carolyn! That is a wonderful coat and you did a fabulous job. Bias isn't easy but you tackled it successfully.
11/8/07 9:27 AM
Betsybobbin said...
Outstanding! Thank you for the great review!
11/8/07 9:02 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful use of plaid. Very classy coat too.
11/8/07 8:59 AM
cecelia said...
Clin, this is one beautiful coat. Thanks for a very nice and detailed review.
11/8/07 8:50 AM
carolynw said...
Membear: The trim on the lapels is a machine fancy stitch - kind of a heavy zig zag - worked in a Sulky thread. Kim G - the coat itself has the back pleat When I was cutting out the lining I used the patttern piece for the back but folded the excess material needed for the pleat out of the way so although the lining is almost an exact replica of the coat it is missing the back pleat.
11/8/07 8:26 AM
Fran G said...
This is an amazing piece of work! Your plaid matching skills are awesome! Lovely job..enjoy the many compliments sure to come your way!
11/8/07 8:01 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh wow, I am just in awe of your sewing and plaid matching skills. Wonderful coat, so smart.
11/8/07 7:26 AM
marjenann said...
What a dreamy coat!! The styling is amazing, very upscale. Thanks for that great review, I pick up several tips for my upcoming coat project!
11/8/07 7:07 AM
Karine said...
Your coat is stunning. Love the use of plaid on the bias! Thanks for the detailed review.
11/8/07 6:49 AM
LauraTS said...
The word "handsome" comes to mind - love the bias detailing and the collar.
11/8/07 3:01 AM
LindsayT said...
I am in awe of your sewing superiority. Looking forward to more photos.
11/7/07 8:09 PM
ALY said...
Grat coat. I love how you used the plaid on the bias in some sections and on the straight of grain in others.
11/7/07 7:43 PM
blue mooney said...
What a beautiful coat! the back view is stunning.
11/7/07 7:18 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
WOW! What a gorgeous coat and stunningly beautiful job. Matching all those plaids...I am in awe.
11/7/07 7:08 PM
KimG said...
This is exquisite! Your plaid-matching skills are superb! Thanks so much for the construction details--they provide a great checklist for any coat. Any chance you could include a photo of your pleat w/o lining? It sounds like a great idea, but I'm having trouble visualizing it.
11/7/07 6:56 PM
PegL said...
I love your coat!! It's stunning! Great review too!
11/7/07 6:54 PM
Membear said...
what a great coat . It has a real 50 s air to9 it How didi you do the trim on the lapels That looks interesting but I cant see it very well
11/7/07 5:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

New Look 6924

photo
by: junethstar

Review
HotPatterns 1031

photo
by: jewelea

Review
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

More Info
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

More Info