Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1103 (Skirt Wardrobe) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1484 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Everyday Sewist
photo
About Everyday Sewiststar
USA
Member since: 9/14/02
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/03 9:35 AM
Last Updated:3/24/03 9:43 AM
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann B. said...
Wow Betty, what a great review. I felt like I got a sewing lesson. I make lots of things that have that "biasy" area at the bottom, and have not come up with a plan to control that area as nifty as yours. You might want to copy that bit of your review, and pop it over to the tips section. Thanks for the helpful review.
3/24/03 3:55 PM
Deepika said...
Very nice review. Thanks!
3/24/03 4:39 PM
AnneM said...
Very helpful review; thanks. I particularly appreciate the sizing information. I think I will have to add this one to my wish list.
3/24/03 9:31 PM
cindyann said...
Great review. Thanks for the tips on controling the "bias" area.
3/25/03 10:31 AM
Tarawebster said...
Great review Betty! I just made this skirt as well, this weekend. I used sandwashed silk, and it came out beautifully. I agree that the hip measurement was a tad tighter than I expected, as I forgot that her finished measurements did not include any ease. But it is not too tight, as I did size it up just a bit. I have a serger but was not confident enough yet to use it, so I seamed it with a sewing machine and serged the edges to finish it, which worked very well. I did serge the elastic to the waist, and then folded over and that looked very good and professional to me. I wore it to work today and all the doctors I work with asked me where I bought it! LOL what a proud moment. My next project after a pair of pants for hubbie that he has been patiently waiting for is her 6 gore skirt, which I have not chosen fabric for yet. I promised to compare it to the Sandra Betzina 6 gore skirt which I totally adore, so I WILL get to this soon. But all told, this pattern was a breeze for a beginner like me to make, sewed up like a charm, and flows really well. I love it and will definately make it again. oh...I did serge the bottom before I hemmed it.
3/27/03 10:34 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Thanks for your nice comments. Tara, I agree that serging would look very nice for the finishes and elastic. I didn't mean to imply that the techniques are bad or sloppy. I just didn't like the look of a simple zig-zag as a substitute for serging. I wish I had a serger so I could use those techniques and have them look like as nice as they are meant to look.
3/28/03 2:40 AM
SANDI DEVOY said...
I have tried using the zigzag (before I invested in my serger)and had a real problem with the fabric raveling(rayon challis)
3/28/03 8:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 2815 Halter top
photo
Review by SueV on 7/5/04
Read Review

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2880 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Mary Themo... on 11/2/13
Read Review

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2789 Pattern
Jalie 2789 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6441 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6441 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us