SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1103 (Skirt Wardrobe)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1485 times 
Reviewed by:Everyday Sewist
photo

 
 
About Everyday Sewiststar
USA
Member since: 9/14/02
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/03 9:35 AM
Last Updated:3/24/03 9:43 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann B. said...
Wow Betty, what a great review. I felt like I got a sewing lesson. I make lots of things that have that "biasy" area at the bottom, and have not come up with a plan to control that area as nifty as yours. You might want to copy that bit of your review, and pop it over to the tips section. Thanks for the helpful review.
3/24/03 3:55 PM
Deepika said...
Very nice review. Thanks!
3/24/03 4:39 PM
AnneM said...
Very helpful review; thanks. I particularly appreciate the sizing information. I think I will have to add this one to my wish list.
3/24/03 9:31 PM
cindyann said...
Great review. Thanks for the tips on controling the "bias" area.
3/25/03 10:31 AM
Tarawebster said...
Great review Betty! I just made this skirt as well, this weekend. I used sandwashed silk, and it came out beautifully. I agree that the hip measurement was a tad tighter than I expected, as I forgot that her finished measurements did not include any ease. But it is not too tight, as I did size it up just a bit. I have a serger but was not confident enough yet to use it, so I seamed it with a sewing machine and serged the edges to finish it, which worked very well. I did serge the elastic to the waist, and then folded over and that looked very good and professional to me. I wore it to work today and all the doctors I work with asked me where I bought it! LOL what a proud moment. My next project after a pair of pants for hubbie that he has been patiently waiting for is her 6 gore skirt, which I have not chosen fabric for yet. I promised to compare it to the Sandra Betzina 6 gore skirt which I totally adore, so I WILL get to this soon. But all told, this pattern was a breeze for a beginner like me to make, sewed up like a charm, and flows really well. I love it and will definately make it again. oh...I did serge the bottom before I hemmed it.
3/27/03 10:34 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Thanks for your nice comments. Tara, I agree that serging would look very nice for the finishes and elastic. I didn't mean to imply that the techniques are bad or sloppy. I just didn't like the look of a simple zig-zag as a substitute for serging. I wish I had a serger so I could use those techniques and have them look like as nice as they are meant to look.
3/28/03 2:40 AM
SANDI DEVOY said...
I have tried using the zigzag (before I invested in my serger)and had a real problem with the fabric raveling(rayon challis)
3/28/03 8:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8088

photo
by: tinflutter...

Review