SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5479 (Jackets)

5 more reviews
Viewed 793 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 356
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 199 people
patterns reviewed: 355
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/07 10:01 PM
Last Updated:11/9/07 11:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dei said...
Lori, your coat turned out great and I am impressed with your plaid lay-out. Clever solution for the collar and I didn't even notice the difference about the buttons. Excellent review. I will refer to Sandra Betzina's book about the lining. I am going to "attempt" this in a brocade (view C, the double breasted view) for an evening coat. Wish me luck.
12/2/07 10:41 AM
Athene said...
Love your coat. I like the modifications you made - length, collar and bands - it all made it much nicer than the pattern picture.
11/16/07 10:25 PM
J-Girl said...
Great review, and the coat looks cute. I appreciate the sleeve mod suggestions. I love the look of full sleeves on others, but then feel like a dolt when I wear them myself, so this is a good solution!
11/16/07 2:29 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'll tell you one thing, your changes "make" this jacket! The proportion is much more flattering, to my eye, in the longer length, plus your sleeve bands make for a slimmer silhouette. REALLY nice. Now go get your gray turtleneck!
11/13/07 12:50 PM
Membear said...
Your plad matching is alot better than I have seen on alot of RTW so dont fuss. You are just seeing it as a bigger problem than it is . I like the jacket its a good combo of fabric and style well done!!
11/11/07 5:57 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I LOVE your coat Lori! If you decide you don't want it, send it to me! ;-) Great fabric choice too.
11/10/07 11:26 PM
ALY said...
Your jacket looks great. I like the plaid, but I like anything red. The bias bands on the sleeve is a great design detail.
11/10/07 4:07 PM
cmarie12 said...
Lori - love how you incorporated the things you liked about the pattern and then changed the things you didn't to make it more yours. Enjoy wearing your new coat!
11/10/07 12:01 PM
Erica B. said...
Lori, I think the jacket looks great. If you look at most RTW, the plaids hardly ever match correctly. Yours turned out beautifully and no one will notice.
11/10/07 10:17 AM
carolynw said...
This looks great - I had the pattern in my hand yesterday (at a store where they were on sale) and put it back - guess I maybe (should have) got it? Thanks for your helpful and some what funny review - a good sense of humour is always an asset!! Wear your jacket with pride - you'll get many compliments I am sure
11/10/07 9:09 AM
BeckyW said...
I love your jacket. It looks much better than the one on the front of the pattern. I think your fabric must drape better. I would totaly wear your jacket. You made me rethink that pattern.
11/10/07 9:01 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lori, LOVE the changes you made and hilarious review! I must be colorblind today because I didn't notice the buttons don't really match.
11/10/07 7:50 AM
Nancy K said...
As you say, no one but those of us on the internet will ever notice the back. It's not even that much off. Looks lovely and I agree about the wide sleeves. Your fix works really well. I keep looking at these patterns and resist because I keep thinking , even wider hips with these!
11/10/07 7:07 AM
Puppy said...
I like this very much and I, too, like your solution for the high neck and feel like it's a great design enhancement. I'd buy it in a store in a heartbeat. (And I, too, also wish I had some in-the-flesh friend(s) who sew!)
11/10/07 4:00 AM
northern nasturtium said...
That coat is much nicer than the one on the pattern envelope!
11/10/07 1:28 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Way cuter than the pattern pix. I did not pick this up because of the pattern pix but now I see yours and must go get it! LOVE the sleeve bands. LOVE the Betzina book as well-my favorite!
11/10/07 0:29 AM
CharityAK said...
Love this style. The plaid reminds me of some of those yummy Pendleton wool jackets from the 40s. I think this has a wonderful Vintage Chic look to it. Great job!
11/9/07 11:51 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Very cute coat! I love the changes you made to really make it your own. I love your modification to the collar - it's surprising how that little detail can really change the look of the whole garment.
11/9/07 11:47 PM
svenskaflicka said...
I just cut this out on Wednesday night! Glad to see a review. Yours turned out really cute! I think the plaid enhances the vintagey look, and I like your collar solution. I just may steal the idea if the same thing happens to me. Doing mine in an uncut corduroy.
11/9/07 11:02 PM
Sew_Creative said...
Hey LoriV I think this coat looks very in, and don't beat yourself up about the back I mean have you looked at some of the RTW thats being sold, believe me when I say this looks very good, nice review too. love the blog Debbie
11/9/07 10:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Butterick 5726

photo
by: morzel

Review
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

More Info
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info