SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Chopin Blouse (Chopin Blouse)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1635 times 
Reviewed by:CatherineG
photo

 
 
About CatherineGstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 2/21/03
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:03 AM
Last Updated:3/25/03 8:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda E. said...
beautiful blouse you wrote a great review enjoy reading it.
3/25/03 10:18 PM
Shona said...
Thank you for your very helpful review. I've eyed this one before but even the fabric recommendations seem contradictory. It does look stunning though.
3/26/03 0:10 AM
CatherineG said...
Linda and Shona, Thanks for your comments. It does actually look very beautiful on the hanger. I think maybe someone with broader shoulders might look good in the version I made. I was thinking about adding small shoulder pads as I am quite narrow shouldered. And you are right about the fabric recommendations being contradictory.
3/26/03 7:43 PM
PhyllisC said...
Great review....it's interesting to hear again that Sewing Workshop patterns really seem to have at least 1/2 yard over the true yardage requirements....I had the same experience with their Cityscapes pattern.
3/27/03 11:10 AM
Dale C said...
That blouse is beautiful. It'd make a nice jacket as well. The review is very helpful too. I've seen this pattern and thought it would be nice to have, but I'm a petite 5'2". having second thoughts... it sounds a bit humbug to sew up and I have so many projects waiting already.
3/27/03 4:11 PM
CatherineG said...
Phyllis and Dale, Thank you for your kind comments. While I really like the Sewing Workshop Patterns I often think that for the money you pay (i.e. 29.99 plus tax Cdn) you would get better instructions, yardage requirements and fabric guidance. However, I believe that you are paying mainly for the design and they are geared towards the experienced sewer. Now that I've attend this one twice, I personally feel that this shirt is probably best made up in a mid weight linen or quality cotton.
3/29/03 11:05 AM
nestle said...
I was going to write a review but you said it all. I've been tearing my hair out (I'm a low intermediate with an incredible ability to screw things up at best) but they left out a lot. The pictures don't match what you read and I'm surprised they didn't explain more on that collar. But I'm tenacious, I don't quit, and this is also more fun than anything I've made before!
3/9/12 3:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 2821

photo
by: LoriB

Review
Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2012-12

photo
by: Yakityak

Review
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now