Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Chopin Blouse (Chopin Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1623 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:CatherineG
photo
About CatherineGstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 2/21/03
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:03 AM
Last Updated:3/25/03 8:09 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda E. said...
beautiful blouse you wrote a great review enjoy reading it.
3/25/03 10:18 PM
Shona said...
Thank you for your very helpful review. I've eyed this one before but even the fabric recommendations seem contradictory. It does look stunning though.
3/26/03 0:10 AM
CatherineG said...
Linda and Shona, Thanks for your comments. It does actually look very beautiful on the hanger. I think maybe someone with broader shoulders might look good in the version I made. I was thinking about adding small shoulder pads as I am quite narrow shouldered. And you are right about the fabric recommendations being contradictory.
3/26/03 7:43 PM
PhyllisC said...
Great review....it's interesting to hear again that Sewing Workshop patterns really seem to have at least 1/2 yard over the true yardage requirements....I had the same experience with their Cityscapes pattern.
3/27/03 11:10 AM
Dale C said...
That blouse is beautiful. It'd make a nice jacket as well. The review is very helpful too. I've seen this pattern and thought it would be nice to have, but I'm a petite 5'2". having second thoughts... it sounds a bit humbug to sew up and I have so many projects waiting already.
3/27/03 4:11 PM
CatherineG said...
Phyllis and Dale, Thank you for your kind comments. While I really like the Sewing Workshop Patterns I often think that for the money you pay (i.e. 29.99 plus tax Cdn) you would get better instructions, yardage requirements and fabric guidance. However, I believe that you are paying mainly for the design and they are geared towards the experienced sewer. Now that I've attend this one twice, I personally feel that this shirt is probably best made up in a mid weight linen or quality cotton.
3/29/03 11:05 AM
nestle said...
I was going to write a review but you said it all. I've been tearing my hair out (I'm a low intermediate with an incredible ability to screw things up at best) but they left out a lot. The pictures don't match what you read and I'm surprised they didn't explain more on that collar. But I'm tenacious, I don't quit, and this is also more fun than anything I've made before!
3/9/12 3:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Butterick 5421 MISSES' SKIRT
photo
Review by tiadia on 9/24/10
Read Review

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8546
photo
Review by Janiki on 3/20/11
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1438 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1438 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7183 Pattern
Burda 7183 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us