SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2717 (Wedding Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 4133 times 
Reviewed by:ConnieBJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ConnieBJstarstar
ON Canada
Member since: 12/31/03
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/07 10:33 PM
Last Updated:11/19/07 10:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 32 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
66 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Connie, that is a work of art! I do agree. What a beautiful dress. What a memory for your daughter. I'm in awe.
11/13/07 10:44 PM
cindy-lou said...
Connie, its beauty floors me. You are an artist! How proud you must be of your daughter and your work.
11/13/07 10:45 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Connie: Amazing dress! It was certainly made with love along with tremendous talent. I love the photo of your dear mother's hands. It made me tear up. What a special family you have. Congratulations on a job very well done!
11/13/07 10:52 PM
carolynw said...
Connie this is truly awesome - unfortunately I cannot get the last three pictures as a note comes up saying "forbidden" - would really love to see them. Such a beautiful dress - beautiful bride and I am in awe of the work put into the dress. How proud your daughter must be!
11/13/07 11:05 PM
Karen6790 said...
How did you have the strength to get to PR Weekend after that? I'd still be at home resting on my triumphant - and tired - laurels. Absolutely fabulous, as if there were any doubt.
11/13/07 11:06 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Clin - try them again- i could fix all but the one of Kate and Scott- he must be camera shy! I will also get them on my blog in the next few days.
11/13/07 11:07 PM
ConnieBJ said...
duplicate!
11/13/07 11:08 PM
SewLil said...
This almost made me cry. Love the pic of your mother's hands. This is beautiful!
11/14/07 0:28 AM
Cecile Owens said...
Connie, I was so pleased to see this review. I think I am the person from whom you bought your MOB pattern via Pattern Review. If I remember the pattern correctly, it was Butterick. I checked your Blog site and the one picture of you looked like that dress. I would love it if you can do a review of the dress you wore for the wedding. Your daughter's dress is elegant and I'm quite sure yours was, too. Thanks so much for the details. A++++++ This is a work to behold. I would call it an Work of Art.
11/14/07 2:02 AM
MarijaSLO said...
Amazing. The dress and the bride, both are just wonderful! Great work and great wedding. :)
11/14/07 3:05 AM
F and L said...
Oh my goodness. I'm breathless. That is just exquisite. Really unbelievable.
11/14/07 4:23 AM
Shrazzy said...
What a beautiful dress and a beautiful bride as well! Inspiring.
11/14/07 5:12 AM
MarilynB said...
Thank you for sharing your sewing adventure. The dress is absolutely beautiful. True couture.
11/14/07 6:31 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Absolutely, postively amazing, not to mention beautiful!! The amount of workmanship is phenominal. Truly a labour of love. You have set the benchmark high for your other daughters. :)
11/14/07 6:40 AM
MissCelie said...
Stunning. Just stunning. Wow.
11/14/07 6:43 AM
Lori V said...
This is so stunning. Your work is beautiful.
11/14/07 7:13 AM
LisaAnn said...
This dress is stunning! You did a phenomenal job!
11/14/07 8:17 AM
Betsybobbin said...
What an beautiful accomplishment! I especially love that three generations worked on this dress. Thank you for sharing!
11/14/07 8:52 AM
cindyann said...
Thank you so much for sharing this with us. It is exquisitely beautiful! I'm so happy you displayed pictures of bodice construction. I'd been wondering how you accomplished that. The picture of your mothers hands brought tears to my eyes. I can see why you cherish it. BRAVO!
11/14/07 9:06 AM
Sigrid. said...
I share the comments of the others: amazing beautiful work. Your daughter looks wonderful in this great dress. So much love in one dress! This certainly means that you have 4 more wedding dresses to make in the future.
11/14/07 9:24 AM
Angelia74 said...
WOW!!! This is amazing.. you should be so proud... and your daughter is so lucky!!
11/14/07 9:51 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Absolutely beautiful - there are no words to describe That Dress!
11/14/07 10:20 AM
JAJenkins1971 said...
All I can say is WOW!!!
11/14/07 12:10 PM
cmarie12 said...
ohmygosh that was such a labor of love and your daughter looked absolutely amazing in the dress!
11/14/07 12:46 PM
tentmaker said...
For some reason I am forbidden to see the pictures. can you fix it?
11/14/07 1:10 PM
ConnieBJ said...
There are some photos of the dress on my blog www.couturesmith.blogspot.com I will be posting all of the photos for this review there as well soon. I have a feeling my photoediting software may be the culprit
11/14/07 2:15 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Or you can see some photos on the photographers blog. http://www.brendacoghlinphotography.blogspot.com/ kates pictures are right there.
11/14/07 2:17 PM
edupraz said...
Wow, this is so amazing. I'm in the process of planning my own wedding and looking for dresses (or trying to decide if I want to make my own). This was so helpful and inspirational to me - you truly made your daughter's dreams come true, I'm sure!
11/14/07 3:16 PM
J-Girl said...
Amazing. Major kudos.
11/14/07 4:39 PM
Membear said...
thankyou so much for that review . That will become an heirloom I am sure . The ruching is superb and the whole design just beautiful
11/14/07 5:39 PM
Marilyn N. said...
Your review is inspiring and the dress in incredible!
11/15/07 0:07 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Such a gorgeous gown & bride. You surely have reason to be proud of this, your first beautiful wedding gown to be made. Talented!!! ;-)
11/15/07 9:01 AM
swing like a girl said...
Beautiful
11/15/07 6:22 PM
yummymummy38 said...
absolutely sensational, you make me want to get married all over again, and in this dress!
11/15/07 9:18 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow! Your daughter's wedding dress is absolutely gorgeous. You've done a wonderful job and I thoroughly enjoyed your review and pictures.
11/16/07 6:04 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Absolutely exquisite! Thank you for tutorial.
11/16/07 11:54 AM
hongkongshopper said...
The Dress is amazingly stunning!!! Thanks for a great review.
11/16/07 4:47 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! WOW! WOW! Breathtakingly beautiful! Thank so much for all the info. I doubt I'll ever make any of my dd's wedding dresses (I have 3) but the younger two *might* let me do prom again. I feel I know a LOT more now that I've been perusing PR for a year or so.
11/17/07 3:47 PM
cindy-lou said...
Connie-- PLEASE enlarge and frame the picture of your mother's hands adding the sequins to the dress. it deserves a special place in your home--I got tears in my eyes seeing that picture and knowing the story behind it! Again, gorgeous dress, gorgeous day, and a gorgeous family you have created.
11/19/07 8:45 AM
sewingfordolls said...
That is a beautiful dress and you did a beautiful job...Your bride is beautiful in that fabulous dress.
11/19/07 8:59 AM
marjenann said...
A masterpiece!!! So inspiring, thanks for sharing!
11/19/07 9:04 AM
EleanorSews said...
Just stunning! What a remarkably lovely gown and bride). This is one of those times when it would not have mattered what it took, just that it happened. You, your daugter and your mother will treasure this experience forever. One down and 4 to go...
11/19/07 9:27 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Connie, this is much more than a dress, eh! An heirloom, an event, a special, special memory... I'm so glad three generations in your Family participated! Gorgeous dress!! Just gorgeous!
11/19/07 9:56 AM
OP Gal said...
What a labor of love. The dress is jaw-dropping. The ruching is amazing, really making the dress special. How luck your daughter is! Thank you for all the details of the project. I don't anticipate that I'll ever make a wedding dress, but it was a joy to read your review.
11/19/07 11:33 AM
Carolyndh said...
Wow, what a legacy of love and affection portrayed in this truly gorgeous work of art. Have you thought about entering your work into a "show" that features formal wear. Many people would admire your artwork!
11/19/07 12:11 PM
jaeng said...
Wow, it is absolutely beautiful. I'm speechless.
11/19/07 1:35 PM
slee said...
I absolutely love the dress. The ruching is beautiful. Your daughter is so lucky!
11/19/07 2:09 PM
Lisa76 said...
Divine! Divine! Divine!
11/19/07 2:20 PM
Anabolina said...
She looks beautiful. Congrats to you all.
11/19/07 6:21 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Stunning! I like the one of your mother's hands, too. It will be a great remind to you and your daughter. What a labor of love!!!
11/20/07 5:35 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautifully done and with love.
11/20/07 12:23 PM
MarionP said...
Well done! Beautiful job!
11/20/07 7:06 PM
SandraB said...
Connie, what a gorgeous dress. I too felt a tear when I looked at the photos. You are truly talented. What a labour of love.
11/20/07 9:05 PM
sewpink said...
The Dress is spectacular! Your daughter looked amazing! What a wonderful way to say you bless this wedding. Even after reading your review, your blog and looking at the pictures, I still can't wrap my brain around how you did the ruching. The base of the dress was finished before you added the chiffon? How did you attach the chiffon at the top? How did you finish the chiffon ruching at the lace-up back?
1/2/08 9:31 AM
Mandolin82 said...
I adore the ruching!!!!!
1/3/08 2:20 AM
shineybuttons said...
Excellent work. I just love this dress, it's absolutely beautiful. I have just used this pattern myself, also as a basis for a wedding dress, it is great to use to alter to different styles.
1/15/08 7:30 PM
Mary Jane Dimino said...
You did such a beautiful job! I bought the pattern today to use as the base for daughter No. 3's wedding gown, since the silhouette is right. I am somewhat concerned about the corset. Did you use the foundation in the pattern or from one of the books you recommended? I was considering using a store-bought corset as the base for the bodice. Your descriptionof the process is going to be very helpful. Thanks Mary Jane
3/31/08 4:13 PM
Celestial_Seamstress said...
I am stunned- this is gorgeous!
5/5/08 3:24 AM
Marji said...
Connie, I haven't seen this til now - STUNNING! Gorgeous, excellent job...every superlative you can think of. This is just fabulous.
10/9/08 9:28 AM
MarianS said...
Connie, I have a question about this pattern. I'm making my daughter's dress with it. I made some alterations, also: A very soft dip in the neckline, a ruched (sorry) band across the bodice that scoops up at the side back into the neckline, and a gathered insert below the buttons & loops. There are pictures of it on: www.marianscreations.blogspot.com. I'm ready to cut the lining, and I was going to use my muslin of the dress, but I didn't have nearly enough of the China silk lining. The pattern's lining goes fairly straight down from the hips instead of flaring out like the dress. Should I use the more narrow pattern pieces, or buy more lining and let it flare out like the dress? I hope this makes sense. Marian
7/1/09 0:17 AM
DiamondBlue said...
This dress is absolutely gorgeous!!! Your daughter looks amazing, and I am so admiring all of the work that you put into the gown. The fit at the bustline is flawless. Brava!!!! ♥
10/20/09 3:50 AM
hartzcreations said...
I think "The Wedding Dress" is absolutely gorgeous!!!!
1/18/10 5:37 PM
hartzcreations said...
Sorry...
1/18/10 5:47 PM
hartzcreations said...
Sorry...the Bride is absolutely gorgeous as well, and the photos... all I can say is unbelievable! You gals really did a great job!
1/18/10 5:49 PM
Pyrose said...
I am floored and struggling to find the words. This dress is absolutely amazing. It's a dream of mine to be able to make my daughters' wedding dress someday. This dress is truly an inspiration and a testament to your talent.
2/25/10 3:40 PM
leandam said...
This review is fantastic. I am about to sew my own daughter's wedding dress and am using this same pattern as the basis. I am having a LOT of trouble finding a pattern with a back lace up so will be using a lot of trial and error. If you have any time at all, suggestions would be treasured like gold coins. If "the dress" turns out even half as well as yours did, I will be a happy Mum. Congratulations on a job beautifully done!
12/31/10 8:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 2588

photo
by: evilincarK...

Review
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now