SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8450 

2 more reviews
Viewed 718 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/07 12:01 PM
Last Updated:11/15/07 12:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mpoggione said...
I made this as well with a lovely jersey, and it was awful. The shoulders are totally wonky, and the sleeves are giant. The whole thing is huge, not in a comfy sitting around the house kind of way but in a football linebacker kind of way. Very disappointing. Waste of fabric.
10/4/09 9:47 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Thank you for saving me from myself. :) I was about to rush out the door to purchase this pattern, even though I have a perfectly good TNT pattern in my stash I could use. It's so easy to be drawn in by these patterns so it's nice to be brought back to reality. :) Thanks.
7/2/09 1:47 AM
NuMommy said...
I just finished sewing this, and I too would not recommend. I used a light knit and I did manage to get the neck to work, but it is now a slash neck and the sleeves took FOREVER- but turned out nicely. However I would never again be able to duplicate them- just sheer luck. Yea, the slippery slope- I am still a newbie at sewing- but....I'm learning.
10/26/08 9:24 PM
Puppy said...
Oh, bummer....I just bought this pattern yesterday at Hancock's Vogue sale! I was going to make the funnel view (C). Of course, I won't trash it just yet because I have the disease of hanging on to everything!
1/15/08 1:40 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, that's the pits, BUT if we don't continue up that hill, we'll never know we shouldn't have -- ha! It is a good feeling getting rid of those dud patterns (maybe we should have a bonfire). I'm glad you can salvage your fabric; it's SO pretty!
11/16/07 1:04 AM
marjenann said...
So unfortunate the top did not work. The fabric is really lovely!!
11/15/07 5:55 PM
ITAdmin said...
Thanks for the warning. Just looking at the pattern and drawing on my own experiences, I'm not sure any fabric would work well. It's hard to understand exactly what they were trying to accomplish with the neckline. Personally I think the View C semi-funnel would be even more problematic. Beautiful fabric though. You'll be able to make something great from it.
11/15/07 4:48 PM
pterion said...
I'm so sorry the pattern didn't work for you. Thanks for the review! I honestly think the clunkers are often the most helpful ones. Lovely fabric though - it's a shame to waste it. Maybe re-cut into a nice camisole?
11/15/07 1:10 PM
cecelia said...
Boy, do I hear you about pressing on up the mountain when you're on the slippery slope. I think we've all done this at some time or another. Sorry it didn't work for you.
11/15/07 12:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2008-115

photo
by: Allie in H...

Review
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now
New Look 6150

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review