SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 02-2004-411 (My TNT Jeans Pattern)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1632 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 139
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
patterns reviewed: 128
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/07 0:02 AM
Last Updated:3/30/11 11:45 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JillyBe said...
Self-drafted jeans? How impressive is that??? Great job Sherrill!!!
3/31/11 1:38 PM
LynneMR said...
Great jeans Sherril - a beautiful fit and I love the topstitching detail.
3/31/11 0:07 AM
Ody said...
Yea!!! you not only got the pants done, but your camera working!! I think they look great and wonderful review as always!
1/8/09 11:31 PM
sewtime said...
Great fitting pants! Very nice.
1/8/09 4:25 PM
Nancy K said...
Great review. The fit here is really good, but I do understand your issue with the rear bagginess.
8/12/08 2:10 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Fabulous jeans, they look fantastic on you.
8/10/08 6:06 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I forgot: I love that TOP too!
8/10/08 3:47 AM
Annette1 said...
Man, these look great from the front, but they REALLY look nice from the BACK (the highest compliment in pants, if you ask me). :o) You've got these babies NAILED!
8/10/08 3:46 AM
blue mooney said...
I really envy you your lovely fitted jeans!
8/9/08 9:09 AM
Athene said...
Such a great fit and lovely top stitch detailing.
8/8/08 4:57 PM
michellep74 said...
I really liked the originals, but I like the sueded brown ones even better!
8/8/08 12:37 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I like the brown even better than the original! That color is so fantastic on you! And of course, another gorgeous sewing job. I wish I could top stitch half as nicely as you.
8/8/08 12:05 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...the brown ones have a great fit. The back looks terrific - this may be your perfect pants pattern - I still have excess in the back on mine, but there's always more to do, eh?
8/8/08 10:37 AM
xtreme1 said...
Fantastic job Sherril. I share your concerns about thin thighs in relation to the upper regions. Those jeans look wonderful on you and I believe you'll eventually and finally hit the jackpot with the perfect fit.
8/8/08 2:50 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Great looking jeans. I love the top-stitching and the contrasting fabric in the fly. They look great on you. Or you look great in them.
8/7/08 10:36 PM
Vonnevo said...
Sherril, these are fabulous fitting jeans !!!!!!! Congratulations :)
8/7/08 10:35 PM
Vintage Joan said...
I love your new brown jeans! Really nice. They look soft, too.
8/7/08 10:34 PM
Re Becca said...
Congrats on TNT jeans, that is quite a score. You finally made it and they look great!
8/7/08 10:13 PM
Peggy L said...
Sherril - these look great on you (and I can tell you've lost weight!!). Another suggestion- I have thin legs but a larger waist and I have been experimenting with a couple different things. I just made a pair a size smaller and altered the waist by adding to the side seams above the hip level and making the darts narrower. I'm pleased with the fit through the legs. I've got the review written and am waiting for DH to do pics before posting.
11/17/07 8:57 PM
Mufffet said...
These are so pretty! Thanks for this review. As to the baggy back leg...in the pants class I had this happen in my muslin and a horizontal tuck across the back leg only, and at the area just below the hips seemed to take a LOT of that extra out of the back and helped with diagonal folds that formed from the hips to knees. I don't know if this helps you, but it might. You must compensate perhaps at the bottom for your hem. I think with me it was my shortness between hip and knee, but a number of the women had this same alteration and it is amazing how much it did. Not that I still have finished a really good fitting pair of pants, and you have! Congrats Sherril!!
11/17/07 2:41 PM
blue mooney said...
These look darned good! I understand wanting to make them even better, though, when they're soooo close to being perfect. Sorry I don't have the solution.
11/17/07 10:16 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Very flattering, IMHO ;-)
11/17/07 9:38 AM
SouthernStitch said...
These look really nice. There are no dreaded drag lines. They don't look bad at all! Do you think the fabric is too heavy is why they feel big? When you find that formula for the skinny legs let me know!
11/17/07 0:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Well, The snap broke on my jeans before I went the conference this morning so I couldn't wear them. At the class, CG was very busy teaching and then she brings up that next year she'll have a pants fitting class or give private fittings for $$$ before or after the conference. Then I didn't feel right to ask for help for free. So the problem may have to wait until next year. :( Unless, of course, someone here has a brilliant idea I could try.
11/17/07 0:40 AM
carolynw said...
Great fit - your pants look wonderful on you - love the colour
11/16/07 6:06 PM
Hilary said...
Great job on these, Sherrill! (as always!) I noticed right away when I looked at the pic that you'd lost weight-yah for you!!!
11/16/07 2:59 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
As usual, Sherril, this is a really good and useful review. And the pants look pretty darned good.
11/16/07 1:44 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Terrific color on you. I love the shape you put on the front pockets. As always, a stellar job.
11/16/07 11:23 AM
BeckyC said...
Your pants look great on you! Thank you for the great review. Can you share with us what Cynthia Guffey says about the back of the legs? I have the same diagonal lines on my muslin. Congratulations on your weight loss!!! Way to go!
11/16/07 11:05 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Sherrill, another job well done. These look fabulous and I love the color on you, too.
11/16/07 10:55 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Congratulations on the weight loss - you did a great job on your jeans. I will be anxious to hear what you find out about altering the legs. You look marvellous!
11/16/07 10:19 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love the outfit. The jeans are fantastic! I like the style and color.
11/16/07 10:18 AM
cecelia said...
Sherril, the fit challenge goes on, right? I like the fit you achieved in the back. Congrats on your weight loss. Let us know what Cynthia says about tweaking the back legs!
11/16/07 9:25 AM
Doctor Sister said...
Thanks for reviewing the plus sized patterns. These look great and I always look for your reviews.
11/16/07 8:41 AM
said...
Looks great. I love the color.
11/16/07 8:21 AM
cindyann said...
Wow Sherril, you are looking great. Your jeans look wonderful and the color is really nice especially with that great tee. The fit is spot on. I also have that baggy back thigh (chicken legs) so I'll be interested in what suggestions C. Guffery has for you. Be sure and let us know.
11/16/07 7:46 AM
Lori V said...
I think your jeans look great. Love the outfits.
11/16/07 7:10 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Can I say how fabulous you look! What a flattering outfit! Your jeans are great. Don't be so hard on yourself. :) It's nice to see you reviewing again, as I've missed your reviews.
11/16/07 5:53 AM
Annette1 said...
These look GREAT on you. Wish I had the skinny-leg problem. :o) Congratulations on losing 14 pounds too -- you look maaaaaaahvelous!
11/16/07 1:52 AM
Linda G said...
Great review. I know what you mean with ample belly and chicken legs ,without thighs...I have the same problem. The burgundy color is wonderful
11/16/07 1:41 AM
michellep74 said...
I really like how those turned out. The color is gorgeous! Whoever would've thought that such a great-looking pair of jeans would've come from that capri pattern?
11/16/07 0:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 5052

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now