Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 02-2004-411 (My TNT Jeans Pattern) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1629 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/07 0:02 AM
Last Updated:3/30/11 11:45 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
I really like how those turned out. The color is gorgeous! Whoever would've thought that such a great-looking pair of jeans would've come from that capri pattern?
11/16/07 0:52 AM
Linda G said...
Great review. I know what you mean with ample belly and chicken legs ,without thighs...I have the same problem. The burgundy color is wonderful
11/16/07 1:41 AM
Annette1 said...
These look GREAT on you. Wish I had the skinny-leg problem. :o) Congratulations on losing 14 pounds too -- you look maaaaaaahvelous!
11/16/07 1:52 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Can I say how fabulous you look! What a flattering outfit! Your jeans are great. Don't be so hard on yourself. :) It's nice to see you reviewing again, as I've missed your reviews.
11/16/07 5:53 AM
Lori V said...
I think your jeans look great. Love the outfits.
11/16/07 7:10 AM
cindyann said...
Wow Sherril, you are looking great. Your jeans look wonderful and the color is really nice especially with that great tee. The fit is spot on. I also have that baggy back thigh (chicken legs) so I'll be interested in what suggestions C. Guffery has for you. Be sure and let us know.
11/16/07 7:46 AM
said...
Looks great. I love the color.
11/16/07 8:21 AM
Doctor Sister said...
Thanks for reviewing the plus sized patterns. These look great and I always look for your reviews.
11/16/07 8:41 AM
cecelia said...
Sherril, the fit challenge goes on, right? I like the fit you achieved in the back. Congrats on your weight loss. Let us know what Cynthia says about tweaking the back legs!
11/16/07 9:25 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love the outfit. The jeans are fantastic! I like the style and color.
11/16/07 10:18 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Congratulations on the weight loss - you did a great job on your jeans. I will be anxious to hear what you find out about altering the legs. You look marvellous!
11/16/07 10:19 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Sherrill, another job well done. These look fabulous and I love the color on you, too.
11/16/07 10:55 AM
BeckyC said...
Your pants look great on you! Thank you for the great review. Can you share with us what Cynthia Guffey says about the back of the legs? I have the same diagonal lines on my muslin. Congratulations on your weight loss!!! Way to go!
11/16/07 11:05 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Terrific color on you. I love the shape you put on the front pockets. As always, a stellar job.
11/16/07 11:23 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
As usual, Sherril, this is a really good and useful review. And the pants look pretty darned good.
11/16/07 1:44 PM
Hilary said...
Great job on these, Sherrill! (as always!) I noticed right away when I looked at the pic that you'd lost weight-yah for you!!!
11/16/07 2:59 PM
carolynw said...
Great fit - your pants look wonderful on you - love the colour
11/16/07 6:06 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Well, The snap broke on my jeans before I went the conference this morning so I couldn't wear them. At the class, CG was very busy teaching and then she brings up that next year she'll have a pants fitting class or give private fittings for $$$ before or after the conference. Then I didn't feel right to ask for help for free. So the problem may have to wait until next year. :( Unless, of course, someone here has a brilliant idea I could try.
11/17/07 0:40 AM
SouthernStitch said...
These look really nice. There are no dreaded drag lines. They don't look bad at all! Do you think the fabric is too heavy is why they feel big? When you find that formula for the skinny legs let me know!
11/17/07 0:54 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Very flattering, IMHO ;-)
11/17/07 9:38 AM
blue mooney said...
These look darned good! I understand wanting to make them even better, though, when they're soooo close to being perfect. Sorry I don't have the solution.
11/17/07 10:16 AM
Mufffet said...
These are so pretty! Thanks for this review. As to the baggy back leg...in the pants class I had this happen in my muslin and a horizontal tuck across the back leg only, and at the area just below the hips seemed to take a LOT of that extra out of the back and helped with diagonal folds that formed from the hips to knees. I don't know if this helps you, but it might. You must compensate perhaps at the bottom for your hem. I think with me it was my shortness between hip and knee, but a number of the women had this same alteration and it is amazing how much it did. Not that I still have finished a really good fitting pair of pants, and you have! Congrats Sherril!!
11/17/07 2:41 PM
Peggy L said...
Sherril - these look great on you (and I can tell you've lost weight!!). Another suggestion- I have thin legs but a larger waist and I have been experimenting with a couple different things. I just made a pair a size smaller and altered the waist by adding to the side seams above the hip level and making the darts narrower. I'm pleased with the fit through the legs. I've got the review written and am waiting for DH to do pics before posting.
11/17/07 8:57 PM
Re Becca said...
Congrats on TNT jeans, that is quite a score. You finally made it and they look great!
8/7/08 10:13 PM
Vintage Joan said...
I love your new brown jeans! Really nice. They look soft, too.
8/7/08 10:34 PM
Vonnevo said...
Sherril, these are fabulous fitting jeans !!!!!!! Congratulations :)
8/7/08 10:35 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Great looking jeans. I love the top-stitching and the contrasting fabric in the fly. They look great on you. Or you look great in them.
8/7/08 10:36 PM
xtreme1 said...
Fantastic job Sherril. I share your concerns about thin thighs in relation to the upper regions. Those jeans look wonderful on you and I believe you'll eventually and finally hit the jackpot with the perfect fit.
8/8/08 2:50 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...the brown ones have a great fit. The back looks terrific - this may be your perfect pants pattern - I still have excess in the back on mine, but there's always more to do, eh?
8/8/08 10:37 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I like the brown even better than the original! That color is so fantastic on you! And of course, another gorgeous sewing job. I wish I could top stitch half as nicely as you.
8/8/08 12:05 PM
michellep74 said...
I really liked the originals, but I like the sueded brown ones even better!
8/8/08 12:37 PM
Athene said...
Such a great fit and lovely top stitch detailing.
8/8/08 4:57 PM
blue mooney said...
I really envy you your lovely fitted jeans!
8/9/08 9:09 AM
Annette1 said...
Man, these look great from the front, but they REALLY look nice from the BACK (the highest compliment in pants, if you ask me). :o) You've got these babies NAILED!
8/10/08 3:46 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I forgot: I love that TOP too!
8/10/08 3:47 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Fabulous jeans, they look fantastic on you.
8/10/08 6:06 AM
Nancy K said...
Great review. The fit here is really good, but I do understand your issue with the rear bagginess.
8/12/08 2:10 PM
sewtime said...
Great fitting pants! Very nice.
1/8/09 4:25 PM
Ody said...
Yea!!! you not only got the pants done, but your camera working!! I think they look great and wonderful review as always!
1/8/09 11:31 PM
LynneMR said...
Great jeans Sherril - a beautiful fit and I love the topstitching detail.
3/31/11 0:07 AM
JillyBe said...
Self-drafted jeans? How impressive is that??? Great job Sherrill!!!
3/31/11 1:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Cake patterns 0144
photo
Review by thecurious... on 8/5/13
Read Review

McCalls 6062 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6062 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 70883-1002
photo
Review by jannw on 2/10/10
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us