Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2007-111 (cape/jacket) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 713 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Frogstitcher
photo
About Frogstitcherstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 2/26/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/07 4:16 PM
Last Updated:11/17/07 4:16 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda G said...
Beautiful.
11/17/07 4:27 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Gosh, this looks fabulous. Houndstooth is really in style this season and your black accents (buttons, buckle and lining) make your cape look so expensive. I am sorry that your fabric caused such grief and I admire your determination. You must wear this cape with with pride, for triumphing the obstacles.
11/17/07 5:15 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks beautiful and your fabric may be heavy, but it drapes beautifully. I'm sure you will get a lot of wear (and a lot of compliments) out of this. I know this was a struggle for all who attempted it, so be VERY proud.
11/17/07 5:29 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Well it looks gorgeous! The houndstooth and your details look fabulous. Well done!
11/17/07 5:30 PM
JenniferBee said...
Beautiful, love the houndstooth fabric. I'm sure you will get lots of wear out this garment.
11/17/07 5:42 PM
sewbehind said...
That looks wonderful. I bet you have been asked where you got it!
11/17/07 6:19 PM
Markie1 said...
This is beautiful. You sound a little weary from making it, but I hope you will wear it with the confidence that you wrestled that pattern to the ground and WON! I love it...
11/17/07 7:07 PM
Betsybobbin said...
Lovely cape! Congratulations on finishing.
11/17/07 8:35 PM
Lori V said...
I love your cape, the houndstooth is gorgeous.
11/17/07 10:18 PM
Mandolin82 said...
The coat is gorgeous in the fabric you chose. Sounds like it made it a lot more difficult, but hopefully worth it!
11/17/07 10:47 PM
MissCelie said...
Love it in a pattern
11/17/07 11:01 PM
Sew_Creative said...
you have worked hard and it has paid off , your talent is superb, cool fabric, congratulations on a fine finish.
11/17/07 11:24 PM
Annette1 said...
Your cape turned out very stylish and is a true classic in the black/white houndstooth. Good for you for muscling that fabric along. :o) Love it!
11/17/07 11:47 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
WOW - that is gorgeous! I really want a cape and hopefully I can get this one tackled before it goes out of style. Beautiful work ~ enjoy it! BTW, love the houndstooth fabric too!
11/18/07 0:48 AM
CarolynGM said...
It looks great in houndstooth especially the bias look of the checks on the shoulders.
11/18/07 6:33 AM
blue mooney said...
Perseverance pays off again! Lovely coat.
11/18/07 7:37 AM
Squirrelly Shirley said...
You did a fantastic job with fabulous results. I enjoyed your thorough review.
11/18/07 7:42 AM
Bonnie O said...
Spectacular! The houndstooth pattern is beautiful with this design
11/18/07 7:49 AM
Nancy K said...
Lovely. You did a terrific job on this!
11/18/07 8:33 AM
Kath in ON said...
Love it! Looks like something right off the runways...
11/18/07 8:51 AM
carolynw said...
This is so stunning - am sorry you had issues with the fabric but you have to know the end result is just lovely!! Great job
11/18/07 9:38 AM
madhatter said...
beautiful!!! ^-^
11/18/07 10:31 AM
lmg said...
Stunning! That's it, I have to make this pattern after seeing all the great results.
11/18/07 12:30 PM
DorothyK said...
Smashing!
11/18/07 12:48 PM
CynthiaSue said...
remarkable! totally professional. I love the GREY. so in, so now. wear it everyday this season and congratulations!
11/18/07 2:16 PM
Tany said...
Fabulous looking cape! I really like it in herringbone! Again I'm happy that my project notes were usefull for breaking down the sometimes confusing (because there aren't linedrawings or pictures to illustrate some of the construction steps) BWOF's instructions!
11/18/07 4:29 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love your jacket in the houndstooth! It is beautiful!
11/19/07 3:59 PM
cathy45 said...
Absolutely beautiful! This will be a real head-turner.
11/19/07 11:53 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Very smart looking jacket. I love it. It's beautiful!
11/20/07 7:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Grainline Studio 31002
photo
Review by margy.64 on 1/4/14
Read Review

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wild Ginger PMB3: Plaid Jacket
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 10/1/04
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Fitting DVD
Pants Fitting DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6257 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6257 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6838 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6838 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us