Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Tribeca Shirt (Tribeca Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1177 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/07 7:04 PM
Last Updated:11/18/07 7:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew_Creative said...
I really like the fabric and if I might suggest , you could fix the boxy look by adding some dart in the back or in the front at the waist, this is just a suggestion , because regardless you did a great job and I am just trying to help. Debbie
11/18/07 7:28 PM
Annette1 said...
Very pretty, and I love you fabric!
11/19/07 0:25 AM
Elona said...
Ooooh, pretty!
11/19/07 1:21 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Very good-looking, and I think it's supposed to be a bit boxy. Well, maybe it's partly the fabric being a bit stiffer than intended? And it'd be easy to add 2 buttons in between the ones you already have. Much better to aim for your own bust with them, you were totally right, no amount of buttons will compensate for not having that crucial one :-).
11/19/07 3:32 AM
Peggy L said...
Great looking shirt! The style looks great on you. I agree with fuzzygalore - you could add two more buttons.
11/19/07 6:24 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I probably *could* add two more buttons...but these buttonoles are not just sewn on; there's a rectangular patch that's applied on the wrong side of the top, and buttonhole is centered on the patch. Because I used, um, custom buttonhole placement, I had to compute where the buttonholes needed to go, then center the patch on that spot and make sure the buttonholes were centered on the patch. It was a bit tedious...plus, there is the topstitching for the patches that shows on the right side. That kind of gets lost on the fabric texture, but I'm leery of going back at this point and trying to measure from the centers to add more buttonholes. Call me lazy. ;)
11/19/07 8:18 AM
cecelia said...
What a bargain. It looks so nice on you, both the style and particularly that color!
11/19/07 9:01 AM
patsijean said...
I like this shirt/jacket pattern on you very much. The fabric choice is wonderful. I am putting this pattern on my list. Oh.... if you don't want to visit buttonhole land again, why not sew in a couple of those clear snaps; they will do the trick and will never be seen.
11/19/07 11:50 AM
Lisa Laree said...
*slaps forehead* Duh! clear snaps!!...
11/19/07 12:09 PM
OP Gal said...
Love your jacket. Very becoming.
11/19/07 8:43 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Very nice looking top! I think it looks great on you! ;-)
11/20/07 12:37 PM
Susan J. said...
The Gallery on The Sewing Workshop site shows this pattern with lining and also with contrast facings. Now that you've got the fitting done, there are more options. Lining and facings might make the construction earier--don't know.
3/9/08 12:03 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I don't know if it would make it easier or not; it's not terribly difficult to turn the edges under; just extraordinarily tedious. But I might use a contrast/coordinating fabric for interest if the wrong side of the shell fabric was ugly. I need to go look at the Gallery! Thanks for the tip!
3/10/08 8:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 12/14/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Sofa slipcover Sofa Slipcover
photo
Review by ChristineB... on 12/24/07
Read Review

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5618 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 5618 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4321 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL )
McCalls 4321 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us