SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Tribeca Shirt (Tribeca Shirt)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1179 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/07 7:04 PM
Last Updated:11/18/07 7:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew_Creative said...
I really like the fabric and if I might suggest , you could fix the boxy look by adding some dart in the back or in the front at the waist, this is just a suggestion , because regardless you did a great job and I am just trying to help. Debbie
11/18/07 7:28 PM
Annette1 said...
Very pretty, and I love you fabric!
11/19/07 0:25 AM
Elona said...
Ooooh, pretty!
11/19/07 1:21 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Very good-looking, and I think it's supposed to be a bit boxy. Well, maybe it's partly the fabric being a bit stiffer than intended? And it'd be easy to add 2 buttons in between the ones you already have. Much better to aim for your own bust with them, you were totally right, no amount of buttons will compensate for not having that crucial one :-).
11/19/07 3:32 AM
Peggy L said...
Great looking shirt! The style looks great on you. I agree with fuzzygalore - you could add two more buttons.
11/19/07 6:24 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I probably *could* add two more buttons...but these buttonoles are not just sewn on; there's a rectangular patch that's applied on the wrong side of the top, and buttonhole is centered on the patch. Because I used, um, custom buttonhole placement, I had to compute where the buttonholes needed to go, then center the patch on that spot and make sure the buttonholes were centered on the patch. It was a bit tedious...plus, there is the topstitching for the patches that shows on the right side. That kind of gets lost on the fabric texture, but I'm leery of going back at this point and trying to measure from the centers to add more buttonholes. Call me lazy. ;)
11/19/07 8:18 AM
cecelia said...
What a bargain. It looks so nice on you, both the style and particularly that color!
11/19/07 9:01 AM
patsijean said...
I like this shirt/jacket pattern on you very much. The fabric choice is wonderful. I am putting this pattern on my list. Oh.... if you don't want to visit buttonhole land again, why not sew in a couple of those clear snaps; they will do the trick and will never be seen.
11/19/07 11:50 AM
Lisa Laree said...
*slaps forehead* Duh! clear snaps!!...
11/19/07 12:09 PM
OP Gal said...
Love your jacket. Very becoming.
11/19/07 8:43 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Very nice looking top! I think it looks great on you! ;-)
11/20/07 12:37 PM
Susan J. said...
The Gallery on The Sewing Workshop site shows this pattern with lining and also with contrast facings. Now that you've got the fitting done, there are more options. Lining and facings might make the construction earier--don't know.
3/9/08 12:03 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I don't know if it would make it easier or not; it's not terribly difficult to turn the edges under; just extraordinarily tedious. But I might use a contrast/coordinating fabric for interest if the wrong side of the shell fabric was ugly. I need to go look at the Gallery! Thanks for the tip!
3/10/08 8:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 08/2012 120

photo
by: Westy85

Review
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5105

photo
by: LiZ

Review