SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8340 (Misses' Unlined Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 770 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 145 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/07 4:27 PM
Last Updated:11/19/07 4:31 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for the great review. I like the collar on you, you're right, it definitely widens the shoulder line. Wear it out and about a few times, see what reaction you get, then decide if you like it.
11/19/07 4:55 PM
carolynw said...
Irnina it looks wonderful - I think perhaps you are focusing too much on the collar - the jacket is a lovely fashion statement. Wear with pride!
11/19/07 4:57 PM
LindsayT said...
Woohoo, very nice!
11/19/07 5:04 PM
cindy-lou said...
I LOVE it! I WANT it! I wonder how it looks on people with a large bust size (i.e. me). Seriously, I may have to change my mind and use this pattern for my luscious red wool from Kashi!
11/19/07 5:48 PM
seweibhlin said...
Beautiful!
11/19/07 6:19 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I like it, Irina! It's out of the ordinary, but not TOO out of the ordinary. You'll be a stand-out among all those jeans and hoodies (same wardrobe staples as in Nebraska). :o)
11/19/07 6:22 PM
loohoo44 said...
This looks really great on you, you sure know how to flatter your shape! Congrats. :-)
11/19/07 7:11 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Just asking... Could you cut the collar down on THIS jacket if you decided you don't like it? OR is it easier/better to "start anew" with an altered collar? Thanks! Rhonda who likes to learn ;)
11/19/07 7:52 PM
Dee2 said...
Love this jacket--it looks great w/the skirt. I don't think I would have looked at this pattern before--figure issues--but it would be perfect for the mild winters where I live.
11/19/07 7:55 PM
OP Gal said...
You look so stylish and amazing in your coat. It just suits you. Great job!
11/19/07 8:36 PM
lmg said...
I love love it. I bought the pattern thinking it would suit me and everything that looks good on you is something I can be fairly sure will look good on me. This jacket rocks. Thanks for the tips on construction. I plan to follow them.
11/19/07 9:07 PM
Karen6790 said...
Beautiful. This looks great on you, and I love the collar.
11/19/07 9:17 PM
Betsybobbin said...
You look great! Beautiful job and beautiful fabric!
11/19/07 9:38 PM
Sigrid. said...
VERY nice, I like the collar. It's special, but very wearable in my opinion.
11/20/07 2:22 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Mmm, it reminds me a bit of the Flying Nun. So I am not so sure about the collar too. But it fits you nicely and if you think the collar is too large you could cut it down a tad. Great review and great pictures.
11/20/07 4:03 AM
JDpenelope said...
Add my name to those who think the collar rocks! Your sewing is impeccable and this review is very helpful. It's very difficult to photograph dark fabric, but your brightening of the pictures really worked well. One more thing -- I don't understand why you don't like shorter jackets -- You certainly have the figure for this style.
11/20/07 5:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
It is an interesting jacket and it is so very flattering on you.
11/20/07 7:56 AM
Sharon M said...
I also think that collar is fab! Love the jacket on you.
11/20/07 8:24 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
What a lovely fashion statement. It looks really good on you, Irina.
11/20/07 10:08 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I like it!
11/20/07 11:04 AM
patsijean said...
Absolutely wonderful...I love this jacket on you.
11/20/07 6:42 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Love the collar! It gives you an authoritative look. In a good way. Keep it!
11/20/07 10:04 PM
julesberry said...
Very cool and suits you very well indeed.
11/21/07 1:51 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I think the jacket looks great on you. Your sewing skills & reviews are wonderful. ;-)
11/21/07 9:46 AM
Pattern Junkie said...
Gorgeous! I never would have given it a second glance from the pattern drawing, but now I want it! (I love big collars, too!) It looks great!
11/23/07 6:25 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Irina, your jacket looks very nice:-)
11/24/07 2:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Kwik Sew 3399

photo
by: Marian

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now