SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8340 (Misses' Unlined Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 772 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 145 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/07 4:27 PM
Last Updated:11/19/07 4:31 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marita Kinnula said...
Irina, your jacket looks very nice:-)
11/24/07 2:58 AM
Pattern Junkie said...
Gorgeous! I never would have given it a second glance from the pattern drawing, but now I want it! (I love big collars, too!) It looks great!
11/23/07 6:25 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I think the jacket looks great on you. Your sewing skills & reviews are wonderful. ;-)
11/21/07 9:46 AM
julesberry said...
Very cool and suits you very well indeed.
11/21/07 1:51 AM
svenskaflicka said...
Love the collar! It gives you an authoritative look. In a good way. Keep it!
11/20/07 10:04 PM
patsijean said...
Absolutely wonderful...I love this jacket on you.
11/20/07 6:42 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I like it!
11/20/07 11:04 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
What a lovely fashion statement. It looks really good on you, Irina.
11/20/07 10:08 AM
Sharon M said...
I also think that collar is fab! Love the jacket on you.
11/20/07 8:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
It is an interesting jacket and it is so very flattering on you.
11/20/07 7:56 AM
JDpenelope said...
Add my name to those who think the collar rocks! Your sewing is impeccable and this review is very helpful. It's very difficult to photograph dark fabric, but your brightening of the pictures really worked well. One more thing -- I don't understand why you don't like shorter jackets -- You certainly have the figure for this style.
11/20/07 5:26 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Mmm, it reminds me a bit of the Flying Nun. So I am not so sure about the collar too. But it fits you nicely and if you think the collar is too large you could cut it down a tad. Great review and great pictures.
11/20/07 4:03 AM
Sigrid. said...
VERY nice, I like the collar. It's special, but very wearable in my opinion.
11/20/07 2:22 AM
Betsybobbin said...
You look great! Beautiful job and beautiful fabric!
11/19/07 9:38 PM
Karen6790 said...
Beautiful. This looks great on you, and I love the collar.
11/19/07 9:17 PM
lmg said...
I love love it. I bought the pattern thinking it would suit me and everything that looks good on you is something I can be fairly sure will look good on me. This jacket rocks. Thanks for the tips on construction. I plan to follow them.
11/19/07 9:07 PM
OP Gal said...
You look so stylish and amazing in your coat. It just suits you. Great job!
11/19/07 8:36 PM
Dee2 said...
Love this jacket--it looks great w/the skirt. I don't think I would have looked at this pattern before--figure issues--but it would be perfect for the mild winters where I live.
11/19/07 7:55 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Just asking... Could you cut the collar down on THIS jacket if you decided you don't like it? OR is it easier/better to "start anew" with an altered collar? Thanks! Rhonda who likes to learn ;)
11/19/07 7:52 PM
loohoo44 said...
This looks really great on you, you sure know how to flatter your shape! Congrats. :-)
11/19/07 7:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I like it, Irina! It's out of the ordinary, but not TOO out of the ordinary. You'll be a stand-out among all those jeans and hoodies (same wardrobe staples as in Nebraska). :o)
11/19/07 6:22 PM
seweibhlin said...
Beautiful!
11/19/07 6:19 PM
cindy-lou said...
I LOVE it! I WANT it! I wonder how it looks on people with a large bust size (i.e. me). Seriously, I may have to change my mind and use this pattern for my luscious red wool from Kashi!
11/19/07 5:48 PM
LindsayT said...
Woohoo, very nice!
11/19/07 5:04 PM
carolynw said...
Irnina it looks wonderful - I think perhaps you are focusing too much on the collar - the jacket is a lovely fashion statement. Wear with pride!
11/19/07 4:57 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for the great review. I like the collar on you, you're right, it definitely widens the shoulder line. Wear it out and about a few times, see what reaction you get, then decide if you like it.
11/19/07 4:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2005-132

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 295093-1001

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

More Info