SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3759 (Raglan tee, coordinates)

17 more reviews
Viewed 814 times 
Reviewed by:Rosebeee
photo

 
 
About Rosebeeestar
OR USA
Member since: 10/16/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/07 8:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
I love the color of your dress. Very pretty! Congrats on your first garment and first review!
11/21/07 8:22 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
If you find that "Everywhere else it was a tent", could you take in the seams?? GREAT 1st project!!
11/21/07 8:31 PM
J-Girl said...
What an excellent start! Looking forward to an updated review with your next version.
11/21/07 9:14 PM
tomed said...
Impressive first garment! It looks quite comfortable and maybe you can take it in on the sides a bit. Thanks for the review.
11/21/07 10:30 PM
LauraTS said...
Welcome to PR, and congrats on a great first garment. You'll find that a lot of us complain about the excessive ease (room) that Simplicity and some of the other popular patterns tend to have. If you can find the finished garment measurements listed on the envelope or the tissue, that will give you a lot better idea on how something will fit.
11/21/07 11:18 PM
SarahSM said...
Great job on your first project. Looking forward to reading more of your reviews!
11/22/07 3:14 AM
carolynw said...
Welcome to PR and congrats on this first dress - for what it's worth it does not look overly large to me! Be sure to post a review of the next attempt
11/22/07 8:18 AM
patsijean said...
Welcome to a satisfying, lifelong learning process, you did a good job for your first garment. All of us make garments that don't work the first time. But the great thing is that they will fit someone (like your mother) or when sent to a charity, a person with less fortunate situation. Everybody wins--you have fun and learn, someone gets a new garment.
11/22/07 9:35 AM
Sherril Miller said...
You did a great job on this project. Even flops can turn into important sewing lessons. Now you know what size to use next time and that you need an FBA. I don't recommend eliminating the FBA otherwise your garment will hike up in the front looking for more length over the mountains. For this pattern you can length to the bottom of the bodice front. Just add some length to the center front and then taper back to the original length at the side seams. It will appear to hang evenly on your body. Congratulations on a job well done.
11/22/07 11:00 AM
Rosebeee said...
Thanks everyone for the wonderful encouragement and advice! I'm currently working on 2 other dresses, but a re-do of this one is next on my list (I think it'll be a nice spring dress).
11/22/07 9:02 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Looking forward to reading more reviews from you.
11/26/07 12:24 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Congrats on your dress! It looks good to me...is that your Mother modeling it? We all learn every time we sew...you did a wonderful job! ;-)
12/4/07 6:32 PM
AnneM said...
Nice dress. It looks like a very nice style for you. Congrats - hope you made yourself one.
5/8/08 11:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 4463

photo
by: quitereaso...

Review
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now