SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5384 (Easy McCall's)

6 more reviews
Viewed 873 times 
Reviewed by:zeoplum
photo

 
 
About zeoplumstar
AL USA
Member since: 7/1/05
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/07 11:26 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Congratulations for sticking with this through so many muslins! It is a pretty top, and deceptively simple in the way it looks made up. The adjustments are not so simple. I'm glad you plan to wear the top because it does look very nice on you.
11/22/07 11:35 PM
Donna H said...
Wow, great job on your blouse. I love the fabric, too. Way to stick with it!!! :)
11/23/07 1:45 AM
Trinity. said...
I think it looks very pretty on you, and I love the eyelet!
11/23/07 1:46 AM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely blouse, worth your perseverance. I would have given up after two muslins!
11/23/07 2:12 AM
ITAdmin said...
I'd call it a success, very pretty in that fabric.
11/23/07 6:23 AM
Sew_Creative said...
Don't worry about the way it comes over your tummy like that it really is a nice top, as a matter of fact I was on Bravo.com looking at the project runway stuff last night, and they have an online contest , you have to send in a picture by the 28th of every month and the winner will receive a larger chocolate bar and a dvd of previous seasons I know it's not a big prize but how many people can say they won an on line contest with project runway, and your top could win,anyway u should ck it out. Debbie
11/23/07 6:42 AM
Peggy L said...
Cute top - you really worked with this pattern to your advantage.
11/23/07 8:21 AM
Betsybobbin said...
You ended up with great results! You look very nice!
11/23/07 9:14 AM
carolynw said...
You deserve a "star" for sticking with this and you can now rest on your laurels as it looks really nice.
11/23/07 9:16 AM
OP Gal said...
Great job. Good for you for sticking with it and getting it to fit. I've been sewing for years, but feel I'm a beginner at fitting. You're starting out on the right foot by concentrating on fitting. Keep up the good work!
11/23/07 9:57 AM
mastdenman said...
Cute. I have this pattern and have been thinking about making it up.
11/23/07 10:18 AM
Mufffet said...
After all that effort you have a really pretty top! I love your fabric! It is so soft and pretty! Congratulations on a job well done. :)
11/23/07 1:17 PM
Leora said...
You really put the work into creating this great top. Very pretty!!
11/23/07 4:04 PM
cindy-lou said...
Beautiful job! Being meticulous has its rewards (not that I would know...) :)
11/23/07 5:13 PM
Annette1 said...
I was sitting here with my hair up in a towel reading your review, looking at all your pictures and going to the thread you linked, when I finally decided I'd better go comb out my hair. Then I was thinking so hard about all the alterations you've made, etc., I pulled my DEODERANT out of the medicine cabinet instead of the MOUSSE, and stood there in a stuper, wondering what I was supposed to be doing with that deoderant. :o) With that in mind, you may not want to listen to anything I have to say at all -- ha! At any rate, YES, this most certainly IS a success, and I certainly do admire your perseverence. "I made all three before I got it right." :o)) As for your comment about it "poking out" too much when it hangs naturally, I would guess that's a combination of the fabric having some degree of crispness to it and that perhaps the gathers are a little bit too close to the bustline. IF you ever decided to make this top again, you might try making that top piece slightly longer in the front to alleviate that. You could just free-hand draw it so that by the time you got to the center front, your top piece was about an inch or inch and a half longer than it currently is. That should lower the elastic slightly (if I'm envisioning the pattern pieces right). I know, I know, who asked me anyway? I think this top looks great on you just the way it is anyway! It's not nearly as easy as one would think to make these extremely loose-fitting tops look flattering. I know I've caught myself a couple times making so many alterations that I was practically making a different thing altogether, so I finally had to ask myself, well then, why DON'T you just MAKE something else altogether and forget it? :o) (A pair of pants, most recently, comes to mind.) Your stick-to-it-iveness has certainly paid off on this one. I love your fabric, and you've managed to actually build some shape into what would have otherwise (in the XXL and XL sizes) just been an overabundance of fabric. Bravo!
11/24/07 1:00 AM
Annette1 said...
Geez ... how embarrassing. Look how LONG my comment (above) was! Sorry about that. :o)
11/24/07 1:01 AM
meanjean said...
I bought this pattern but haven't tried it yet. Thanks for a very thorough review. Your end result is very, very pretty. By the way, no one but you will notice if it pokes out in front, so wear it with confidence. Those of us who spend a lot of time fitting (me! me!) are our own worst critics sometimes (me! me!). :-)
11/25/07 8:44 AM
Cody7 said...
I think the end result is very pretty. The fabric you chose is perfect for this type of top. I have just finished making it myself and encountered the same problems you did. I wish I had read your review first!
12/25/07 5:19 PM
Wilzmom said...
You are talented! The final top looks great. Thanks for the details on how to make it fit properly!!
1/10/08 8:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Other Eider Tunic

photo
by: meleliza

Review
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5017 - OOP

photo
by: petitesewi...

Review