SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-109 (Cocktail dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1760 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/07 1:03 AM
Last Updated:11/24/07 1:03 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
50 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PatM said...
What a lovley dress, just designed for the fabrics you bought. It like it cost hundreds of dollars. It fits you well too, and looks great when you are wearing it. Congratulations on the beatiful dress1
11/24/07 1:18 AM
JenniferBee said...
You have achieved the WOW factor with this dress. Love your review, and the fabrics are gorgeous.
11/24/07 1:53 AM
Skye said...
beautiful dress
11/24/07 2:33 AM
Karen8320 said...
Ms Simple, I just love your work!!! Your review, once again, is simply fantastic and I love your clever mind and good humour. I must say that this dress is stunning and it looks fabulous on you. Red is such a knockout colour and I think the use of three fabrics really does give it an added zing. You've done a fabulous job!
11/24/07 4:27 AM
valerie sews said...
ooh ahh I'll be looking out for this issue of burda Wof here down under. What a beautiful dress for those of us who are petite. Thank you for an informative review.
11/24/07 5:09 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Ms Simple is definitely working up to a Pulitzer :-). And she already has the perfect dress to wear to receive her award.. Even better that it comes with its own built-in red-carpet effect!
11/24/07 6:11 AM
jent said...
What a cute dress!
11/24/07 6:23 AM
Sew_Creative said...
yep this is the dress for you , and you should make another one and maybe make it long like a formal with an a line flowie skirt that would be awesome! too, but you definitely knocked this one out of the ball park and the review is so easy to read love that.
11/24/07 6:56 AM
Lori V said...
Very beautiful
11/24/07 7:02 AM
cindy-lou said...
I'm with Steve-- GREAT work on this dress!!! I'm in awe.
11/24/07 8:44 AM
Linda G said...
wow I have been waiting for someone to review this dress. Yours is beautiful...if I was 10 years younger I would be whipping one up for my Christmas party.
11/24/07 8:49 AM
Leora said...
Clever use of fabric! It looks hard to make even without all the extras you incorporated, such as lining. Gorgeous!
11/24/07 9:06 AM
MissCelie said...
This dress is awesome. I love Steve. And I looove how this looks on you. No one is ging to think that you are an engineer that night!
11/24/07 9:19 AM
BeckyC said...
Your dress is beautiful. The combination of the three fabrics worked out wonderfully for the style of the dress -- great job! Again, your review was informative and entertaining - I loved reading it!
11/24/07 9:30 AM
carolynw said...
Once again I am so amused by your style of review - wear your lovely dress with all the bling you can afford or want - you look absolutely stunning in it!
11/24/07 9:32 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Lady in Red, your dress is a knockout. One can see that it fits you perfectly and only with one alteration at that! Who could ask for more from a pattern. Your work womanship shines through on this one. Absolutely beautiful!
11/24/07 9:32 AM
PegL said...
Beautiful dress! Why did you leave out the part where Steve hits on you?! 'Cause you know he did! Fun review!
11/24/07 9:58 AM
Betsybobbin said...
What a beautiful and creative dress! Your review was informative and entertaining.
11/24/07 9:59 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Magnificent! I viewed all of your dress photos before I read your entertaining review, and I was amazed at that point. Then, to realize that you'd used three different fabrics to achieve a spectacular look, I was in awe of you. Ms. Simple, you are anything but!
11/24/07 10:08 AM
cathy45 said...
I love how you incorporated three different fabrics into one cohesive beautiful dress. Excellent work. I can tell the fabric inspector was critical to your success.
11/24/07 10:33 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
This is a beautiful dress!
11/24/07 10:33 AM
2BSewing said...
The dress is stunning! Wonderful work and details.
11/24/07 10:48 AM
Grammy Gin said...
You look stunning & your review is so much fun to read! You will certainly be turning heads at your party. ;-)
11/24/07 11:00 AM
lmg said...
Oooh! Beautiful dress and color, and the combination of fabrics! I was contemplating making this dress and your review will come in very handily.
11/24/07 11:16 AM
Kay Y said...
Your last 2 reviews are just so entertaining! Steve and his love of skimpy dresses is a terrific creation, as is your wonderful dress. Wear it with pride!
11/24/07 11:25 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Hilarious review! Gorgeous dress!
11/24/07 11:32 AM
Diane E said...
I loved reading this review and I love your dress. Wow! I think Steve needs to think of a few more swanky places to take you so that you and this dress get a proper showing! Inspired use of sari fabric - great!
11/24/07 12:16 PM
Tailypo said...
Holy cow that is beautiful and fancy!
11/24/07 12:38 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Looks fantastic - I love your "interview" reviews - they are a hoot! :-)
11/24/07 2:03 PM
michellep74 said...
Your dress looks amazing, and you look amazing in your dress! Thank you for a very funny review, too!
11/24/07 4:23 PM
Sigrid. said...
Ms Simple, it's wonderful. Beautifully made and very stylish. What a special sewing inspector :-) Does he ever find fault with your choices?
11/24/07 5:22 PM
J-Girl said...
Your dress is lovely, and your review was hilarious! Thank you!
11/24/07 6:08 PM
northern nasturtium said...
What a lovely dress and fun review! :D If I may say so, I would never, ever have guessed that dress was a size 20 (I'm a petite-ish 18 myself.) So flattering! Maybe I'll have to spring for an issue of Burda WOF.
11/24/07 8:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
Hey, Se-Uma-ingly Simple, I'm speechless! Super review! This is absolutely an alluring dress on your cute figure (You look well under a size 10, but 20?) and also an attention grabber as that highly publicized hot black one at the Swarovski Fashion Rocks event a month ago! You're tempting me to try Burda WOF (amazon.com is calling my name to order a year subscription)! You've inspired me to make New Look 6729's criss cross top that has been sitting in my stash! Thanks for sharing another fabulous creation!
11/24/07 11:53 PM
ElsaD said...
Wow! This is beautiful. Have fun at the party.
11/25/07 0:12 AM
BillieJean said...
I just love your reviews! And the dress is beautiful.
11/25/07 5:52 AM
Sewing Chick said...
That was a great review! Beautiful dress and a fun interview!
11/25/07 8:33 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Big thank-yous to all of you for your comments. Regarding sizing, I should have clarified that the size 20 is Burda's equivalent for a US 12 petite. Burda's size charts are here.
11/25/07 10:49 AM
Christina Sonja said...
What a gorgeous dress! And you look great in it! Your trio of fabrics make it really special.
11/25/07 3:48 PM
yummymummy38 said...
stunning dress, Ms Simple. I have my eye on this one, I have already made a BWOF cocktail dress with a similar crossover detail, but this one sounds easier to construct. Thanks for the helpful inside pics too Can't wait for this issue to come Down Under
11/25/07 10:02 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous dress! Looks great on you.
11/26/07 6:57 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Absolutely beautiful!! You really combined those fabrics for the maximum WOW factor! Great job! And, your sewing inspector is rather handsome!
11/26/07 12:02 PM
CSM--Carla said...
ovely dress! Fun to read the review! Thanks!
11/26/07 6:55 PM
Miss Adrienne said...
Ha! What a great review! Thank you, Ms. Simple!
12/3/07 9:31 PM
SandraB said...
Your dress looks gorgeous and I loved reading your review. Very entertaining.
12/4/07 8:44 AM
Deb Thompson said...
Beautiful dress - I've been eyeing it up myself for our cruise next spring. Nice to see another O&G person from Alberta on this site! I'm in Cgy with an American O&G company. Look forward to more reviews.
12/5/07 1:47 PM
Vonnevo said...
A fabulous dress and wonderful review :))) Enjoy partying in this little number !
12/7/07 8:30 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Beautiful dress, and fun review!
12/7/07 9:51 AM
Laura O said...
Thank you for the great inside picture of this dress. I'm making it right now & I wondered what they meant by 'turn down the corner on the lower front piece'. They should have said turn down the center front point. I will make a note of that if I ever finish and review it!!!
1/15/08 12:13 PM
kerrynw said...
Gorgeous dress, great review! My daughter has picked out this pattern for me to make to wear to her graduation. Now to get sewing. I have exactly three weeks!
10/2/08 10:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now