SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7161 (Soft Bags)

17 more reviews
Viewed 912 times 
Reviewed by:2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 2BSewingstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/07 10:00 AM
Last Updated:4/30/09 7:17 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
I love your bag. Very neat work on the inside! Wonderful fabric.
11/24/07 10:10 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I love the fabric. It's a really nice size. Thanks for the detailed review.
11/24/07 11:20 AM
Soliel said...
Very nice and great fabric. About the topstitching...just a thought. Maybe if you used a needle for thick fabric (largest available or one specifically for topstitching) and topstitching thread it could be done. Love the inner fabric...just very very chic.
11/24/07 12:23 PM
carolynw said...
I love this - am goign to make one for a Mystery Gift Exchange at my Guild so your tips will come in very helpful
11/24/07 2:05 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your bag looks great--hip-looking AND functional! If you have some free time, please PM on what you are teaching in your classes. I'd love to hear about your projects because some of my friends would like me to teach them how to sew. This looks like a great project that is great for a beginning sewer with exceptional-looking results.
11/24/07 2:15 PM
solosmocker said...
GReat project for your class. The fabric is very attractive. Another help for those thick seams is to use a "hump jumper" or basically a piece of cardboard behind the needle. When you come to the thick part, lift the presser foot, insert the thick folded paper or cardboard behind the needle, right up to it, lower the presser foot, and stitch. Re insert the cardboard again if it slips out the back and stitch some more. This really helps when you want to go over the handle area and not have your stitches look like they skipped. You may want to try some samples and can then pass it along to your class. I am sure as new sewists, they will love all any hints you provide. Good luck with your teaching.
11/24/07 3:35 PM
JDpenelope said...
You'll make a great teacher, because of your analytical approach, combined with your savvy sense of style. This simple bag is attractive and will make a great project, with your helpful tips and instructions.
12/3/07 4:38 AM
Sheila457 said...
Awesome bags.
4/29/09 7:27 AM
Kellie R. said...
These are great! You can really show your personality! How exciting for you that you've been asked to teach sewing; I bet you are great and this is a super project. Great job!
4/29/09 8:48 AM
Renren said...
Thanks for updating your review and telling about the new materials you have discovered in the evolution of the perfect tote bag.
4/29/09 10:25 AM
LorrieAnn said...
Very pretty bags, and they will be lovely gifts. When you say you basted in lightweight fleece, would that be a Pellon-type craft fleece, or do you mean apparel fleece?
4/29/09 4:21 PM
2BSewing said...
Thank you for the complements. LorrieAnn...I used apparel fleece since I have a lot of it in my stash. You can also use the Pellon craft fleece. :)
4/29/09 5:14 PM
LorrieAnn said...
Thank you!
4/29/09 9:22 PM
Gold said...
Nice bag! I love how you match up the seams.
4/30/09 7:54 AM
sewbehind said...
That is very nice. Your attention to detail paid off and you will notice it each time you use your bag.
4/30/09 5:47 PM
donna marie hires said...
do you have the instuctons for the soft bag i lost mine
1/14/10 8:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

No Pattern Used 0000

photo
by: Renren

Review
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: trinicity

Review
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now