Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 7161 (Soft Bags) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 908 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR
About 2BSewingstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/07 10:00 AM
Last Updated:4/30/09 7:17 AM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
I love your bag. Very neat work on the inside! Wonderful fabric.
11/24/07 10:10 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I love the fabric. It's a really nice size. Thanks for the detailed review.
11/24/07 11:20 AM
Soliel said...
Very nice and great fabric. About the topstitching...just a thought. Maybe if you used a needle for thick fabric (largest available or one specifically for topstitching) and topstitching thread it could be done. Love the inner fabric...just very very chic.
11/24/07 12:23 PM
carolynw said...
I love this - am goign to make one for a Mystery Gift Exchange at my Guild so your tips will come in very helpful
11/24/07 2:05 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your bag looks great--hip-looking AND functional! If you have some free time, please PM on what you are teaching in your classes. I'd love to hear about your projects because some of my friends would like me to teach them how to sew. This looks like a great project that is great for a beginning sewer with exceptional-looking results.
11/24/07 2:15 PM
solosmocker said...
GReat project for your class. The fabric is very attractive. Another help for those thick seams is to use a "hump jumper" or basically a piece of cardboard behind the needle. When you come to the thick part, lift the presser foot, insert the thick folded paper or cardboard behind the needle, right up to it, lower the presser foot, and stitch. Re insert the cardboard again if it slips out the back and stitch some more. This really helps when you want to go over the handle area and not have your stitches look like they skipped. You may want to try some samples and can then pass it along to your class. I am sure as new sewists, they will love all any hints you provide. Good luck with your teaching.
11/24/07 3:35 PM
JDpenelope said...
You'll make a great teacher, because of your analytical approach, combined with your savvy sense of style. This simple bag is attractive and will make a great project, with your helpful tips and instructions.
12/3/07 4:38 AM
Sheila457 said...
Awesome bags.
4/29/09 7:27 AM
Kellie R. said...
These are great! You can really show your personality! How exciting for you that you've been asked to teach sewing; I bet you are great and this is a super project. Great job!
4/29/09 8:48 AM
Renren said...
Thanks for updating your review and telling about the new materials you have discovered in the evolution of the perfect tote bag.
4/29/09 10:25 AM
LorrieAnn said...
Very pretty bags, and they will be lovely gifts. When you say you basted in lightweight fleece, would that be a Pellon-type craft fleece, or do you mean apparel fleece?
4/29/09 4:21 PM
2BSewing said...
Thank you for the complements. LorrieAnn...I used apparel fleece since I have a lot of it in my stash. You can also use the Pellon craft fleece. :)
4/29/09 5:14 PM
LorrieAnn said...
Thank you!
4/29/09 9:22 PM
Gold said...
Nice bag! I love how you match up the seams.
4/30/09 7:54 AM
sewbehind said...
That is very nice. Your attention to detail paid off and you will notice it each time you use your bag.
4/30/09 5:47 PM
donna marie hires said...
do you have the instuctons for the soft bag i lost mine
1/14/10 8:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2005-133
photo
Review by pharmercoo... on 4/19/05
Read Review

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2013-122 Pleated Blouse
photo
Review by MNBarb on 7/8/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2237 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 2237 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7137 Pattern
Burda 7137 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us