SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7078 (Princess line dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1032 times 
Reviewed by:threadwitch
photo

 
 
About threadwitch
VA USA
Member since: 3/6/03
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/03 0:13 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Harmonicreality said...
I made this dress, and It is BEAUTIFUL! Only I sized it too big for myself. :( The princess seams are easy, but my notches on the side seam didn't line up at all. I just made sure my edges matched and went from there. It looked fine. Although I had troubles sewing this pattern, it may have been the sewer, not the pattern maker! I'm trying it again today :)
5/24/09 11:39 AM
Merry G said...
I just bought this pattern & am going to try it out...thanks for the review...
5/27/06 6:03 PM
lindaf said...
Just finished this pattern today. Very happy with the results. Had to do a fba on it...thanks to all u guys on the site I was able to do it. Also, the only other alteration I had to do was to take in the side seams about 1/4 inch additional. There was a little too much ease for me. Otherwise I love it!!
7/25/04 8:31 PM
linda03755 said...
Nevermind my question, I just looked at the pattern details. :-)
10/7/03 8:07 PM
linda03755 said...
Thanks so much for your review! I just bought the pattern and am looking forward to trying it. One question: Exactly how did you do the pockets? I'm used to adding side-seam pockets but am not sure how to do that with the princess seams.
10/7/03 8:00 PM
alex said...
Thanks for pointing this out. This one is on the now on the 99 cent sale shopping list too!
4/2/03 11:53 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the review; this is a nice looking dress. Well written review.
4/1/03 11:50 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks for bringing this pattern to my attention! I'll have to grab it next time Hancock's puts Simp. on sale...and I have to add pockets to everything, too...;)
4/1/03 11:03 AM
Mini said...
Good helpful review. This looks like a classic dress that can be made lots of different ways. I agree that Simplicity has improved-I avoided them for a long time too. They have recently developed a really nice collection of plus-sized patterns that are quite stylish.
4/1/03 10:33 AM
NancyDaQ said...
I've also noticed recently that Simplicity has changed for the better. I hope they continue on this path.
4/1/03 0:51 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks for the review. I am currently working on a princess seam dress for my dd that comes from the armsyce - my first. I too was wondering why there isn't more than one notch! Some notches are useless, but not for princess seams!
4/1/03 0:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Butterick 5319

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

More Info
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info