SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1266 (Vogue Basic Design)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1338 times 
Reviewed by:marjenann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marjenannstarstar
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/07 8:11 PM
Last Updated:11/27/07 8:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
How pretty and feminine, marjenann! You don't look at all like Mary Poppins.
11/27/07 8:28 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very nice! I'm especially impressed w/those buttonholes!!
11/27/07 8:29 PM
swing like a girl said...
Great job. Love the color. Love the hat
11/27/07 8:40 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oh, your review is very timely! I just picked up this pattern, although I'm planning on making the coat for next year since I'm still searching for just the right fabric. The coat looks fabulous. I happen to like Mary Poppins and the way she dressed...but the coat really does look great. Thanks so much for your review!
11/27/07 8:44 PM
Donna H said...
Beautiful coat. I would love to see pictures of the bound buttonholes and your lining!!! Thanks for this review.
11/27/07 8:51 PM
Aixoise said...
You're way cuter than Mary Poppins! Great outfit.
11/27/07 9:08 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Gorgeous :)
11/27/07 9:44 PM
HeyJane said...
That is beautiful !! Yes my eye went right to those buttonholes. Not Mary Poppins at all, the whole outfit is great. Thanks so much for pointing out this pattern and I am currently having jacket interfacing wars so I appreciate knowing how you did the inner construction. Very gorgeous coat.
11/27/07 10:10 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great coat - love it with the hat!
11/27/07 11:42 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat, you look great in it.
11/28/07 0:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely coat. I still think I may try to make a coat but keep looking for the perfect fabric. Love the color you used.
11/28/07 5:23 AM
Karine said...
What a beautiful coat. I think the black velvet trim is perfect with that pretty shade of lavender. Thanks for the tip about fur collars on ebay - it never occurred to me! The pattern illustration appears to have a very full "skirt"on the coat, yet yours seems to hang much straighter. Is it just the angle on your dress form, or is the shape somewhat straighter than it appears on the pattern?
11/28/07 6:41 AM
EleanorSews said...
Lovely effect of the black velvet on the lavendar coat. It's like having a spot of spring in the winter! Beautiful buttonholes and very helpful review with all the construction tips. I too like your hat!
11/28/07 6:50 AM
Nancywin said...
This looks beautiful Marjeann. I love the color. I have this pattern, so its good to know it's easy. I love the coat I made last year, but like your last one, it's super heavy. I think it's time to make a lighter version. I can't tell you how much I like your coat!
11/28/07 8:30 AM
Sew_Creative said...
I really think you did better by not using a heavy wool it is a very pretty coat and I love the the whole look you are amazing.
11/28/07 9:40 AM
Rosebeee said...
Wow! That coat looks fabulous. The velvet and bound buttonholes are especially nice touches. Good job!
11/28/07 9:58 AM
carolynw said...
Truly lovely coat - have the pattern but never used it - maybe I will now!!
11/28/07 10:13 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your coat is so very stylish - love the velvet! Your hat is too cute!!
11/28/07 10:39 AM
Babs42 said...
I love the color the details and the velvet trim. It's just beautiful!
11/28/07 12:59 PM
Grammy Gin said...
You look ready for our PA winters, for sure! Really pretty color & model. ;-) Can't believe you sewed for yourself, finally! lol
11/28/07 1:35 PM
ryan's mom said...
Awesome coat! I love the color too.
11/28/07 9:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, margenann, another example of your spectacular creations! You are absolutely fabulous in your coat!
11/28/07 11:21 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Yummy; love the colors and drape; absolutely in keeping with your high standard. Lily
11/29/07 0:14 AM
patsijean said...
I have been searching PR for a review of a great classic coat and here it is. I just went online and ordered the pattern. Thank you so much.
3/23/08 11:20 AM
Disneyfreak said...
ok so I have to ask :) I' actually MAKING a Mary Poppins costume this year becausee we are going trickortreating in Disneyland. In black, do you think this coat would work? The waist would need to be a little tighter (make sure to show my rolls hahaha) and I'd have to put a red lining in. Do you recommend this pattern for that?
8/17/08 11:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Past Patterns 038

photo
by: StephiLuna

Review
Vogue Patterns 8682

photo
by: Gecko

Review
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now