Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1266 (Vogue Basic Design) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1328 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:marjenann
photo
Friend of PR
About marjenannstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/07 8:11 PM
Last Updated:11/27/07 8:17 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
How pretty and feminine, marjenann! You don't look at all like Mary Poppins.
11/27/07 8:28 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very nice! I'm especially impressed w/those buttonholes!!
11/27/07 8:29 PM
swing like a girl said...
Great job. Love the color. Love the hat
11/27/07 8:40 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oh, your review is very timely! I just picked up this pattern, although I'm planning on making the coat for next year since I'm still searching for just the right fabric. The coat looks fabulous. I happen to like Mary Poppins and the way she dressed...but the coat really does look great. Thanks so much for your review!
11/27/07 8:44 PM
Donna H said...
Beautiful coat. I would love to see pictures of the bound buttonholes and your lining!!! Thanks for this review.
11/27/07 8:51 PM
Aixoise said...
You're way cuter than Mary Poppins! Great outfit.
11/27/07 9:08 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Gorgeous :)
11/27/07 9:44 PM
HeyJane said...
That is beautiful !! Yes my eye went right to those buttonholes. Not Mary Poppins at all, the whole outfit is great. Thanks so much for pointing out this pattern and I am currently having jacket interfacing wars so I appreciate knowing how you did the inner construction. Very gorgeous coat.
11/27/07 10:10 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great coat - love it with the hat!
11/27/07 11:42 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat, you look great in it.
11/28/07 0:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely coat. I still think I may try to make a coat but keep looking for the perfect fabric. Love the color you used.
11/28/07 5:23 AM
Karine said...
What a beautiful coat. I think the black velvet trim is perfect with that pretty shade of lavender. Thanks for the tip about fur collars on ebay - it never occurred to me! The pattern illustration appears to have a very full "skirt"on the coat, yet yours seems to hang much straighter. Is it just the angle on your dress form, or is the shape somewhat straighter than it appears on the pattern?
11/28/07 6:41 AM
EleanorSews said...
Lovely effect of the black velvet on the lavendar coat. It's like having a spot of spring in the winter! Beautiful buttonholes and very helpful review with all the construction tips. I too like your hat!
11/28/07 6:50 AM
Nancywin said...
This looks beautiful Marjeann. I love the color. I have this pattern, so its good to know it's easy. I love the coat I made last year, but like your last one, it's super heavy. I think it's time to make a lighter version. I can't tell you how much I like your coat!
11/28/07 8:30 AM
Sew_Creative said...
I really think you did better by not using a heavy wool it is a very pretty coat and I love the the whole look you are amazing.
11/28/07 9:40 AM
Rosebeee said...
Wow! That coat looks fabulous. The velvet and bound buttonholes are especially nice touches. Good job!
11/28/07 9:58 AM
carolynw said...
Truly lovely coat - have the pattern but never used it - maybe I will now!!
11/28/07 10:13 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your coat is so very stylish - love the velvet! Your hat is too cute!!
11/28/07 10:39 AM
Babs42 said...
I love the color the details and the velvet trim. It's just beautiful!
11/28/07 12:59 PM
Grammy Gin said...
You look ready for our PA winters, for sure! Really pretty color & model. ;-) Can't believe you sewed for yourself, finally! lol
11/28/07 1:35 PM
ryan's mom said...
Awesome coat! I love the color too.
11/28/07 9:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, margenann, another example of your spectacular creations! You are absolutely fabulous in your coat!
11/28/07 11:21 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Yummy; love the colors and drape; absolutely in keeping with your high standard. Lily
11/29/07 0:14 AM
patsijean said...
I have been searching PR for a review of a great classic coat and here it is. I just went online and ordered the pattern. Thank you so much.
3/23/08 11:20 AM
Disneyfreak said...
ok so I have to ask :) I' actually MAKING a Mary Poppins costume this year becausee we are going trickortreating in Disneyland. In black, do you think this coat would work? The waist would need to be a little tighter (make sure to show my rolls hahaha) and I'd have to put a red lining in. Do you recommend this pattern for that?
8/17/08 11:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Decades of Style 4002
photo
Review by Tea and Cr... on 9/20/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Deer&Doe Veste Pavot Veste Pavot
photo
Review by punkmik on 3/5/13
Read Review

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Fitting DVD
Pants Fitting DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3247 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3247 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us