SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2212 (Multisport top)

11 more reviews
Viewed 950 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 164 people
patterns reviewed: 187
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/07 8:13 AM
Last Updated:4/16/08 6:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Mens    Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
Wow, you're really cranking those out, and every one better than the last... Thanks for pushing this pattern, it's hard to find something that looks shapely in fleece :-).
4/18/08 3:23 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Handsome jacket for your DH, Dawn. I too think it was brilliant to make it a full zip jacket; so much more convenient. And the jacket does have great shaping. Excellent review, too. (Can't get over the cute photo of DD Cora; too adorable.) Fine looking jackets, Lily
4/17/08 2:00 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking jacket for your husband.
4/16/08 8:15 PM
KarenP said...
Clever idea to turn this into a full-zip jacket...I will have to give it a try.
4/16/08 8:10 PM
GollyGolly said...
Love them all and must sew up one for dh he would love it.
4/16/08 6:50 PM
prkj said...
I agree about omitting the topstitching. I think it reduces the amount of stretch and the seam allowances are 1/4", which means that if you serge off some excess, there is not much left to topstitch. I've made it twice and enjoy wearing it.
12/11/07 9:03 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a darling top and the little one is precious. Great job.
12/3/07 11:38 AM
JDpenelope said...
Cabinbaby -- Thanks for your detailed instructions -- I'll be sure to check back when I get my pattern (ordered and shipped today -- Thanks, Deepika). I also like to bind with lycra, but am slightly rusty, since I haven't sewn for about a year. Thanks, again, for this inspirational review.
11/30/07 7:27 PM
cabinbaby said...
penelope, It's a great patten. I need to put up the other sizes I have made. Cora is a twin and her sister has the same coat. I made a grey one for my son and blue/grey one for my husband. SewLil, I use Lycra binding. The easiest way to find it is to look for swimsuit material. I measure the cuff and sew the binding together so it is about 1" shorter than that length. Sew the cuff together to form a loop. Quarter the loop and sew it on right sides together. Then I flip the lycra inside and stitch in the ditch to catch the lycra. Then I trim the lycra on the inside. I can't figure out the perfect way to bind fleece. I have a binder but the lycra and fleece is too thinck. If anyone has a good idea about it, let me know!
11/30/07 4:37 PM
SewLil said...
Great looking Jacket. What did you use for the binding on the sleeves? The burgundy color.
11/30/07 3:12 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Too cute. Love the fabric.
11/30/07 11:57 AM
JDpenelope said...
Based on your review and photos, along with the review of this pattern by Leslie in Austin, I'm going to order this pattern. Your top looks every bit as professional as the one on Patagonia. I just looked at the slings on your interesting website. You go girl!
11/30/07 7:06 AM
Renee' S said...
Cabinbaby, Cora is absolutely adorable in her new warm fuzzy. Lauri Jean, here is the address for Mill Direct Textiles, used to be the Malden Mills store http://www.milldirecttextiles.com Hope that helps.
11/29/07 5:19 PM
KarenP said...
Adorable (your DD and the jacket)! I love seeing this in a kid size.
11/29/07 1:46 PM
cabinbaby said...
Lauri Jean, there is a great fabric boutiue up here in Anchorage called Three Sisters. They have the most amazing outerwear fabric. Supplex, Cordura, Polartec, anything you might need. ryansmum, she is not always so cute. Only when the flash is going.
11/29/07 12:02 PM
tentmaker said...
I made a Shirt similar to that one using an old Quik Sew pattern. It was that bright green color. He called it his Kermit the frog shirt. He likes to wear it to bed when it is really cold.
11/29/07 11:13 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Where did you get your Polartec 300? I've been looking. No one has it locally and I really only see it in one or two basic colors online. Thanks.
11/29/07 10:34 AM
ryansmumAria said...
That is the most adorable little girl and her expression is priceless...
11/29/07 9:44 AM
pterion said...
That expression is priceless! She is adorable in her snuggly sweater.
11/29/07 9:42 AM
carolynw said...
How very cute - glad to know Cora wasn't fuming mad - she is a little darling
11/29/07 9:36 AM
said...
Very cute. I love the color.
11/29/07 9:15 AM
Stacy Sews said...
It's adorable, and snuggly looking! Thanks for the review!
11/29/07 8:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape 2:Top #4

photo
by: meggipeg

Review
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

More Info