Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2212 (Multisport top) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 948 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/07 8:13 AM
Last Updated:4/16/08 6:29 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Mens    Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stacy Sews said...
It's adorable, and snuggly looking! Thanks for the review!
11/29/07 8:22 AM
said...
Very cute. I love the color.
11/29/07 9:15 AM
carolynw said...
How very cute - glad to know Cora wasn't fuming mad - she is a little darling
11/29/07 9:36 AM
pterion said...
That expression is priceless! She is adorable in her snuggly sweater.
11/29/07 9:42 AM
ryansmumAria said...
That is the most adorable little girl and her expression is priceless...
11/29/07 9:44 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Where did you get your Polartec 300? I've been looking. No one has it locally and I really only see it in one or two basic colors online. Thanks.
11/29/07 10:34 AM
tentmaker said...
I made a Shirt similar to that one using an old Quik Sew pattern. It was that bright green color. He called it his Kermit the frog shirt. He likes to wear it to bed when it is really cold.
11/29/07 11:13 AM
cabinbaby said...
Lauri Jean, there is a great fabric boutiue up here in Anchorage called Three Sisters. They have the most amazing outerwear fabric. Supplex, Cordura, Polartec, anything you might need. ryansmum, she is not always so cute. Only when the flash is going.
11/29/07 12:02 PM
KarenP said...
Adorable (your DD and the jacket)! I love seeing this in a kid size.
11/29/07 1:46 PM
Renee' S said...
Cabinbaby, Cora is absolutely adorable in her new warm fuzzy. Lauri Jean, here is the address for Mill Direct Textiles, used to be the Malden Mills store http://www.milldirecttextiles.com Hope that helps.
11/29/07 5:19 PM
JDpenelope said...
Based on your review and photos, along with the review of this pattern by Leslie in Austin, I'm going to order this pattern. Your top looks every bit as professional as the one on Patagonia. I just looked at the slings on your interesting website. You go girl!
11/30/07 7:06 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Too cute. Love the fabric.
11/30/07 11:57 AM
SewLil said...
Great looking Jacket. What did you use for the binding on the sleeves? The burgundy color.
11/30/07 3:12 PM
cabinbaby said...
penelope, It's a great patten. I need to put up the other sizes I have made. Cora is a twin and her sister has the same coat. I made a grey one for my son and blue/grey one for my husband. SewLil, I use Lycra binding. The easiest way to find it is to look for swimsuit material. I measure the cuff and sew the binding together so it is about 1" shorter than that length. Sew the cuff together to form a loop. Quarter the loop and sew it on right sides together. Then I flip the lycra inside and stitch in the ditch to catch the lycra. Then I trim the lycra on the inside. I can't figure out the perfect way to bind fleece. I have a binder but the lycra and fleece is too thinck. If anyone has a good idea about it, let me know!
11/30/07 4:37 PM
JDpenelope said...
Cabinbaby -- Thanks for your detailed instructions -- I'll be sure to check back when I get my pattern (ordered and shipped today -- Thanks, Deepika). I also like to bind with lycra, but am slightly rusty, since I haven't sewn for about a year. Thanks, again, for this inspirational review.
11/30/07 7:27 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a darling top and the little one is precious. Great job.
12/3/07 11:38 AM
prkj said...
I agree about omitting the topstitching. I think it reduces the amount of stretch and the seam allowances are 1/4", which means that if you serge off some excess, there is not much left to topstitch. I've made it twice and enjoy wearing it.
12/11/07 9:03 PM
GollyGolly said...
Love them all and must sew up one for dh he would love it.
4/16/08 6:50 PM
KarenP said...
Clever idea to turn this into a full-zip jacket...I will have to give it a try.
4/16/08 8:10 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking jacket for your husband.
4/16/08 8:15 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Handsome jacket for your DH, Dawn. I too think it was brilliant to make it a full zip jacket; so much more convenient. And the jacket does have great shaping. Excellent review, too. (Can't get over the cute photo of DD Cora; too adorable.) Fine looking jackets, Lily
4/17/08 2:00 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow, you're really cranking those out, and every one better than the last... Thanks for pushing this pattern, it's hard to find something that looks shapely in fleece :-).
4/18/08 3:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Coat
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 1/28/05
Read Review

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5891 Misses Top
photo
Review by susandf on 9/9/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2824 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )
Simplicity 2824 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us