Online Sewing Class: Leather 101
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3063 (Infant Tuxedo)

5 more reviews
Viewed 379 times 
Reviewed by:azdeb
photo

 
 
About azdeb
AZ USA
Member since: 12/11/06
Reviews: 5 (patterns: 5)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/07 9:11 AM
Last Updated:12/2/07 11:19 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
mamiller said... (5/30/09 3:20 PM) Reply
I made the same outfit for one of my grandsons and I agree about the trouble with the sleeves. I made it out of satin too, but added some detail to the vest by stiplling the front. Stippling is a method of quilting where you drop the feed dogs and stitch a continuous, meandering line of stitching that never crosses over itself and doesn't follow a pattern. It really added to the the look of the vest!!
jennibitand said... (12/10/07 6:45 PM) Reply
I've made this pattern, but in linen type fabric, (for my son and two nephews so far) and I agree that the sleeves are a pain. They seem too big for the set-in opening. My solution is to make a little reverse pleat at the shoulder seam with the extra fabric (I don't dare cut the sleeves any smaller than they are!) I figure that's more "manly" than gathering the top. Still, I think it's one of the more handsome outfits for boys! Great job!!
azdeb said... (12/3/07 9:19 AM) Reply
I would like to add another picture, but can't figure out how to do the links!
SexiSadi said... (12/2/07 2:13 PM) Reply
Aww, how cute! I bet your grandson was adorable!
rivergum said... (12/2/07 1:53 PM) Reply
What a cute outfit! Such a lovely idea for a boy's christening robe. How about a photo with your grandson wearing it?
azdeb said... (12/2/07 11:21 AM) Reply
sorry about all the edits! I was having trouble linking the photo. Can anyone advise on how to link another picture? Thanks
cindy-lou said... (12/2/07 11:06 AM) Reply
What a beautiful job you did! It looks soooo hard to make.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2010-122

photo
by: SewWil

Review
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Paper Pattern

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 1194

photo
by: noodlesew

Review