SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5087 (Front wrap jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 902 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 206
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 205
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/07 3:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
Your review has convinced me to buy this pattern. The advice you've given is really spot on for how I adjust my patterns too. Fierce.
2/26/09 6:10 AM
CypGrl said...
Sharon - Just finished this pattern today (will do my FIRST review soon I hope ) and your review was very helpful. Thanks! I love the way your jacket turned out.
1/26/08 10:09 PM
Cody7 said...
I absolutely love your jacket. Your choice of fabric was great too. I am going to mark this pattern as one I want to try also. Thank for your great review.
12/23/07 5:06 PM
Sheila457 said...
Great Jacket.
12/5/07 8:57 PM
MichelleE said...
Plaids scare me but you did a great job! Very elegant, classy looking jacket!
12/3/07 7:47 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT jacket you have here. I love that collar, for one thing, and your use of the pain-in-the-butt plaid (say that five times fast) suits the design just perfectly. I like BOTH belts. :o) I'm busty too, and I have a belt that I just love ... got it at Chico's. It's about an inch wide, maybe inch and a quarter (leather), and it has a big, eye-catching silver hook that works as the closure, kind of an open hook, one half of the hook being on one side and the other half being on the other, and you just slide one end over the other end. At any rate, I wear it so that it's actually dropped down in the front, kind of like a high-hip belt. That really helps to leave some space between my bust and waist. I bet it'd be really cute with this jacket too! (No, as I'm thinking about it here, maybe it wouldn't, because I don't think it woudl hold it closed.) Anyway, I LOVE your jacket!
12/3/07 5:58 PM
SewSewHappy said...
LOVE IT!
12/3/07 5:12 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Adorable jacket!
12/3/07 11:09 AM
pt6356 said...
So cute! I have this pattern at the top of my list, and have ordered some fabric from Buy The Piece.....glad to hear it went well for you.
12/3/07 6:57 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Gorgeous jacket! Love the plaid, even though the fabric was a pain. LOL!
12/3/07 6:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket.
12/3/07 6:44 AM
Ann Smith said...
Cute, cute, cute. I love it.
12/3/07 1:48 AM
ibbizy said...
What can I say?.....THIS JACKET IS BEAUTIFUL!!!! I am a intermediate beginner (I think) LOL!! but I am going to try this jacket!!
12/3/07 0:25 AM
carolynw said...
This is truly beautiful - great work!!
12/2/07 11:15 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is a beautiful jacket!
12/2/07 10:32 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great pairing, the plaid with bia collar. Looks great.
12/2/07 9:59 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, that is gorgeous. I like the self belt best. Can you put a bit of velcro or a snap to stop it from coming undone?
12/2/07 9:50 PM
Dei said...
Wow! I know you're smilin' over how great this turned out. Your review is excellent especially for people like me who need detail to get the details just right. Wonderful work with the plaid.
12/2/07 9:38 PM
Lori V said...
This is so beautiful. I love it with the black belt.
12/2/07 9:02 PM
swing like a girl said...
Nice work. I really like the plaid with the black belt.
12/2/07 8:57 PM
Bonnie O said...
OMG, this looks fabulous! I love that plaid and the jacket is such a fun design. Well done!
12/2/07 8:40 PM
Linda G said...
Beautiful. I love the bias on the back of the collar.
12/2/07 8:27 PM
Kellie R. said...
Sharon, your jacket is lovely! I agree that the plaid looks great; the pictures sure don't reveal that it was difficult. I've considered this pattern many times... perhaps I'll have to pick up now.
12/2/07 7:27 PM
Pinkhibiscus said...
I love the jacket, I like the light colored plaid you used!!
12/2/07 6:40 PM
mochalover said...
I agree with the others. Great jacket and a wonderful choice of fabric.
12/2/07 5:59 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket and I like your fabric choice.
12/2/07 5:00 PM
Sigrid. said...
Love your jacket. The plaids are wonderful.
12/2/07 4:15 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
That's a really cute jacket. Sorry the fabric gave you difficulties to deal with, but your jacket turned out great, anyway.
12/2/07 3:50 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your jacket looks absolutely gorgeous and wonderfully made. It looks so stylish.
12/2/07 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-104

photo
by: FrauAntje

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now