Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5087 (Front wrap jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 901 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 212
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/07 3:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Your jacket looks absolutely gorgeous and wonderfully made. It looks so stylish.
12/2/07 3:47 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
That's a really cute jacket. Sorry the fabric gave you difficulties to deal with, but your jacket turned out great, anyway.
12/2/07 3:50 PM
Sigrid. said...
Love your jacket. The plaids are wonderful.
12/2/07 4:15 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket and I like your fabric choice.
12/2/07 5:00 PM
mochalover said...
I agree with the others. Great jacket and a wonderful choice of fabric.
12/2/07 5:59 PM
Pinkhibiscus said...
I love the jacket, I like the light colored plaid you used!!
12/2/07 6:40 PM
Kellie R. said...
Sharon, your jacket is lovely! I agree that the plaid looks great; the pictures sure don't reveal that it was difficult. I've considered this pattern many times... perhaps I'll have to pick up now.
12/2/07 7:27 PM
Linda G said...
Beautiful. I love the bias on the back of the collar.
12/2/07 8:27 PM
Bonnie O said...
OMG, this looks fabulous! I love that plaid and the jacket is such a fun design. Well done!
12/2/07 8:40 PM
swing like a girl said...
Nice work. I really like the plaid with the black belt.
12/2/07 8:57 PM
Lori V said...
This is so beautiful. I love it with the black belt.
12/2/07 9:02 PM
Dei said...
Wow! I know you're smilin' over how great this turned out. Your review is excellent especially for people like me who need detail to get the details just right. Wonderful work with the plaid.
12/2/07 9:38 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, that is gorgeous. I like the self belt best. Can you put a bit of velcro or a snap to stop it from coming undone?
12/2/07 9:50 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great pairing, the plaid with bia collar. Looks great.
12/2/07 9:59 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is a beautiful jacket!
12/2/07 10:32 PM
carolynw said...
This is truly beautiful - great work!!
12/2/07 11:15 PM
ibbizy said...
What can I say?.....THIS JACKET IS BEAUTIFUL!!!! I am a intermediate beginner (I think) LOL!! but I am going to try this jacket!!
12/3/07 0:25 AM
Ann Smith said...
Cute, cute, cute. I love it.
12/3/07 1:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket.
12/3/07 6:44 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Gorgeous jacket! Love the plaid, even though the fabric was a pain. LOL!
12/3/07 6:46 AM
pt6356 said...
So cute! I have this pattern at the top of my list, and have ordered some fabric from Buy The Piece.....glad to hear it went well for you.
12/3/07 6:57 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Adorable jacket!
12/3/07 11:09 AM
SewSewHappy said...
LOVE IT!
12/3/07 5:12 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT jacket you have here. I love that collar, for one thing, and your use of the pain-in-the-butt plaid (say that five times fast) suits the design just perfectly. I like BOTH belts. :o) I'm busty too, and I have a belt that I just love ... got it at Chico's. It's about an inch wide, maybe inch and a quarter (leather), and it has a big, eye-catching silver hook that works as the closure, kind of an open hook, one half of the hook being on one side and the other half being on the other, and you just slide one end over the other end. At any rate, I wear it so that it's actually dropped down in the front, kind of like a high-hip belt. That really helps to leave some space between my bust and waist. I bet it'd be really cute with this jacket too! (No, as I'm thinking about it here, maybe it wouldn't, because I don't think it woudl hold it closed.) Anyway, I LOVE your jacket!
12/3/07 5:58 PM
MichelleE said...
Plaids scare me but you did a great job! Very elegant, classy looking jacket!
12/3/07 7:47 PM
Sheila457 said...
Great Jacket.
12/5/07 8:57 PM
Cody7 said...
I absolutely love your jacket. Your choice of fabric was great too. I am going to mark this pattern as one I want to try also. Thank for your great review.
12/23/07 5:06 PM
CypGrl said...
Sharon - Just finished this pattern today (will do my FIRST review soon I hope ) and your review was very helpful. Thanks! I love the way your jacket turned out.
1/26/08 10:09 PM
velosewer said...
Your review has convinced me to buy this pattern. The advice you've given is really spot on for how I adjust my patterns too. Fierce.
2/26/09 6:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 5214
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 7/28/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1406 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1406 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M4550 Men's Costumes
photo
Review by canadianri... on 4/27/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us