Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5203 (Cowl Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 795 times 40 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:OP Gal
photo
About OP Galstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 10/14/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/07 8:41 PM
Last Updated:12/5/07 8:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmarie12 said...
*LOL* What a great review! It brought a smile to my face and I had to go back and check to see that you were actually wearing the top! BTW, that top doesn't look traumatized by its birth at all!
12/5/07 9:47 PM
mastdenman said...
Great looking top (and jacket too). Sometimes the sewing gods just make us want to work harder. Congratulations.
12/5/07 10:31 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Sondra, I'm so sorry it gave you so many problems. That rib knit wasn't very good to let you know how this was going to fit you. I love this pattern, but the cowl neck is trouble, so definitely alter it along with the sleeve width and I'm sure you'll love it too.
12/5/07 10:59 PM
sweetviolets said...
Now that the stars are back in alignment, and you've paid your Karmic debt, the next project will be a breeze! This pattern is on my cutting table, and now I will attack it with a wise eye and offerings to the sewing gods.
12/6/07 3:07 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Sondra- despite the trouble it looks very good. The great thing about sewing our own clothes is that a lot of times when we get dressed in the morning, what we choose to wear can bring back memories that can make us smile. ; )
12/6/07 5:42 AM
marjenann said...
OMG!! What a great review!! You top looks great and that is what is important in the end!!!
12/6/07 8:11 AM
cecelia said...
I had similar things happen with this pattern, and finally morphed it into a shorter version. LH does have very narrow sleeves, for me anyway. Why is it things work on samples, but not on the garment itself? At least you ended up with a top you can wear, and you're even smiling irregardless of your trials and tribulations with this!
12/6/07 8:26 AM
said...
I enjoyed your review. I can definitely relate to easy not being easy. Looks great so I'm glad you hung in there!
12/6/07 8:29 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
I can understand the no Joann's rule but can very well relate to the fact that one goes there just the same, the color is gorgeus:-) and yes easy and simple always ain't. Marita
12/6/07 8:58 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, I hate it when the muslin goes well and the real thing bombs so badly :-(. It's really disheartening. That rayon jersey is so much finer and stretchier than everything else that it really needs to be treated differently. I have to wonder though about all this interfacing of hems I read about on PR - have any of you -ever- seen that in RTW? If you think you need it, it's because you need to adjust your machine differently, or use a different stitch or something (2-needle?). Maybe make the hem wider to give it a bit of heft. Something, anything, but not use a jacket-tailoring technique on a t-shirt...
12/6/07 9:20 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I say all the trouble was caused by that knit from JoAnn! (Ask me how I know this - I just sewed up a top with the very same knit and had all kinds of trouble!) Your top turned out lovely and the color couldn't be any better for you!
12/6/07 10:08 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Terrific review! And I love, love, love that color on you, so the project was definitely worth all the pain
12/6/07 11:28 AM
LindsayT said...
I so feel your pain. I just gave up on my own "easy peasy" tunic with fabric courtesy of Joann's. But at least YOUR end result looks good!
12/6/07 1:45 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Love your review! Shame you had so much trouble with sewing it....the materials fault, don't you think? Pretty top though & your still smiling! ;-)
12/7/07 12:49 PM
Annette1 said...
:o))) Well, this may have been a nightmare for YOU, but I sure had fun reading your review! I'm with you, that COLOR is just beautiful. It looks so pretty on you, it's well worth all your efforts. :o)
12/8/07 1:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2009-124B
photo
Review by mz.choize on 2/22/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2008-21
photo
Review by Christas on 10/18/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8469 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8469 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us