SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 801 times 
Reviewed by:OP Gal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About OP Galstarstarstar
KS United States
Member since: 10/14/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/07 8:41 PM
Last Updated:12/5/07 8:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmarie12 said...
*LOL* What a great review! It brought a smile to my face and I had to go back and check to see that you were actually wearing the top! BTW, that top doesn't look traumatized by its birth at all!
12/5/07 9:47 PM
mastdenman said...
Great looking top (and jacket too). Sometimes the sewing gods just make us want to work harder. Congratulations.
12/5/07 10:31 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Sondra, I'm so sorry it gave you so many problems. That rib knit wasn't very good to let you know how this was going to fit you. I love this pattern, but the cowl neck is trouble, so definitely alter it along with the sleeve width and I'm sure you'll love it too.
12/5/07 10:59 PM
sweetviolets said...
Now that the stars are back in alignment, and you've paid your Karmic debt, the next project will be a breeze! This pattern is on my cutting table, and now I will attack it with a wise eye and offerings to the sewing gods.
12/6/07 3:07 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Sondra- despite the trouble it looks very good. The great thing about sewing our own clothes is that a lot of times when we get dressed in the morning, what we choose to wear can bring back memories that can make us smile. ; )
12/6/07 5:42 AM
marjenann said...
OMG!! What a great review!! You top looks great and that is what is important in the end!!!
12/6/07 8:11 AM
cecelia said...
I had similar things happen with this pattern, and finally morphed it into a shorter version. LH does have very narrow sleeves, for me anyway. Why is it things work on samples, but not on the garment itself? At least you ended up with a top you can wear, and you're even smiling irregardless of your trials and tribulations with this!
12/6/07 8:26 AM
said...
I enjoyed your review. I can definitely relate to easy not being easy. Looks great so I'm glad you hung in there!
12/6/07 8:29 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
I can understand the no Joann's rule but can very well relate to the fact that one goes there just the same, the color is gorgeus:-) and yes easy and simple always ain't. Marita
12/6/07 8:58 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, I hate it when the muslin goes well and the real thing bombs so badly :-(. It's really disheartening. That rayon jersey is so much finer and stretchier than everything else that it really needs to be treated differently. I have to wonder though about all this interfacing of hems I read about on PR - have any of you -ever- seen that in RTW? If you think you need it, it's because you need to adjust your machine differently, or use a different stitch or something (2-needle?). Maybe make the hem wider to give it a bit of heft. Something, anything, but not use a jacket-tailoring technique on a t-shirt...
12/6/07 9:20 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I say all the trouble was caused by that knit from JoAnn! (Ask me how I know this - I just sewed up a top with the very same knit and had all kinds of trouble!) Your top turned out lovely and the color couldn't be any better for you!
12/6/07 10:08 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Terrific review! And I love, love, love that color on you, so the project was definitely worth all the pain
12/6/07 11:28 AM
LindsayT said...
I so feel your pain. I just gave up on my own "easy peasy" tunic with fabric courtesy of Joann's. But at least YOUR end result looks good!
12/6/07 1:45 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Love your review! Shame you had so much trouble with sewing it....the materials fault, don't you think? Pretty top though & your still smiling! ;-)
12/7/07 12:49 PM
Annette1 said...
:o))) Well, this may have been a nightmare for YOU, but I sure had fun reading your review! I'm with you, that COLOR is just beautiful. It looks so pretty on you, it's well worth all your efforts. :o)
12/8/07 1:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now