SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 805 times 
Reviewed by:OP Gal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About OP Galstarstarstar
KS United States
Member since: 10/14/03
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/07 8:41 PM
Last Updated:12/5/07 8:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
:o))) Well, this may have been a nightmare for YOU, but I sure had fun reading your review! I'm with you, that COLOR is just beautiful. It looks so pretty on you, it's well worth all your efforts. :o)
12/8/07 1:49 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Love your review! Shame you had so much trouble with sewing it....the materials fault, don't you think? Pretty top though & your still smiling! ;-)
12/7/07 12:49 PM
LindsayT said...
I so feel your pain. I just gave up on my own "easy peasy" tunic with fabric courtesy of Joann's. But at least YOUR end result looks good!
12/6/07 1:45 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Terrific review! And I love, love, love that color on you, so the project was definitely worth all the pain
12/6/07 11:28 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I say all the trouble was caused by that knit from JoAnn! (Ask me how I know this - I just sewed up a top with the very same knit and had all kinds of trouble!) Your top turned out lovely and the color couldn't be any better for you!
12/6/07 10:08 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, I hate it when the muslin goes well and the real thing bombs so badly :-(. It's really disheartening. That rayon jersey is so much finer and stretchier than everything else that it really needs to be treated differently. I have to wonder though about all this interfacing of hems I read about on PR - have any of you -ever- seen that in RTW? If you think you need it, it's because you need to adjust your machine differently, or use a different stitch or something (2-needle?). Maybe make the hem wider to give it a bit of heft. Something, anything, but not use a jacket-tailoring technique on a t-shirt...
12/6/07 9:20 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
I can understand the no Joann's rule but can very well relate to the fact that one goes there just the same, the color is gorgeus:-) and yes easy and simple always ain't. Marita
12/6/07 8:58 AM
said...
I enjoyed your review. I can definitely relate to easy not being easy. Looks great so I'm glad you hung in there!
12/6/07 8:29 AM
cecelia said...
I had similar things happen with this pattern, and finally morphed it into a shorter version. LH does have very narrow sleeves, for me anyway. Why is it things work on samples, but not on the garment itself? At least you ended up with a top you can wear, and you're even smiling irregardless of your trials and tribulations with this!
12/6/07 8:26 AM
marjenann said...
OMG!! What a great review!! You top looks great and that is what is important in the end!!!
12/6/07 8:11 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Sondra- despite the trouble it looks very good. The great thing about sewing our own clothes is that a lot of times when we get dressed in the morning, what we choose to wear can bring back memories that can make us smile. ; )
12/6/07 5:42 AM
sweetviolets said...
Now that the stars are back in alignment, and you've paid your Karmic debt, the next project will be a breeze! This pattern is on my cutting table, and now I will attack it with a wise eye and offerings to the sewing gods.
12/6/07 3:07 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Sondra, I'm so sorry it gave you so many problems. That rib knit wasn't very good to let you know how this was going to fit you. I love this pattern, but the cowl neck is trouble, so definitely alter it along with the sleeve width and I'm sure you'll love it too.
12/5/07 10:59 PM
mastdenman said...
Great looking top (and jacket too). Sometimes the sewing gods just make us want to work harder. Congratulations.
12/5/07 10:31 PM
cmarie12 said...
*LOL* What a great review! It brought a smile to my face and I had to go back and check to see that you were actually wearing the top! BTW, that top doesn't look traumatized by its birth at all!
12/5/07 9:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
McCall's 6638

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now