SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2794 (Sweetheart Top)

90 more reviews
Viewed 3493 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 368
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 304 people
patterns reviewed: 266
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:12/7/07 11:04 AM
Last Updated:3/19/08 12:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 48 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
80 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mssewcrazy said...
Deepika you have totally knocked both patterns out of the ball park and oh my goodness that scarf and jewelry- fabulous with the top. I am on a pattern diet but you just blew it to heck and back- I am ordering the jalie but doubt I could make the skirt fit even if I don't sit down. They say Mae West that old film actress had a tight photo outfit that she had to be propped up in -if I weighed a lot less and were younger I think I would have a wardrobe of this outfit as it is smashing.
6/4/09 11:16 AM
AnneM said...
Great shirts! I'm just checking out the reviews for this pattern now. Nice style for you.
5/14/08 9:33 PM
ctirish said...
Good review and thank you for the update, it helped.
4/11/08 9:15 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful color on you!! And your scarf is such a perfect match!
3/21/08 7:57 PM
SherryD said...
Love the top. It looked great on you at PR weekend! I've already ordered the pattern. What is the teal fabric and where did it come from????
3/20/08 10:26 PM
Karla Kizer said...
That top is adorable. Resistance is futile. Send me the @#$% pattern.
3/20/08 9:03 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I miss you!! :) great top! keep em coming!
3/20/08 8:35 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
The color of your top and scarf just jump off the page. This is clearly *your* color! Both are gorgeous. -Lily
3/20/08 11:35 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I love your solid version - what a fantastic idea to leave off the elastic!
3/20/08 8:39 AM
Maychi said...
Wonderful top Deepika! I love it! I'm adding this pattern on my wish-list :)
3/20/08 2:04 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous top! I like how you omitted the centre elastic. I noticed when I made this top the elastic looks nice with a print fabric but not so much with a solid. I hope you don't mind but I'm going to copy your great idea. :) Love your scarf too!!
3/19/08 9:47 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Colour is just gorgeous! Looks stunning on you and great fit!
3/19/08 6:54 PM
Annette1 said...
SO pretty: your top, your scarf AND your necklace! :o) I sure like the idea of no full bust adjustment!
3/19/08 6:12 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Love the teal one, but you should know that! ;-) I think it looks so cute without the gathered front too. Next time I make one I'm going to try not gathering and see how it does on a small bust. You still amaze me you know all the numbers of the pattern, what a memory!
3/19/08 2:05 PM
Kim Winson said...
Love it! Great ensemble.
3/19/08 1:56 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful color and it looks wonderful with the scarf.
3/19/08 1:28 PM
Deepika said...
Yes, I did Leslie. Thanks!
3/19/08 1:15 PM
loohoo44 said...
I love that color on you Deepika! Great fit too. Did you wear that scarf at the PR LA weekend? It looks familiar, beautiful!
3/19/08 1:06 PM
Twinset said...
So cute! Colour is gorgeous on you!
3/19/08 12:59 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Very cuuute!!! Love it!!!! I LOVE, LOVE, Love your fabric. -Meggie LuLu =)
2/21/08 11:12 PM
Hilary said...
cute top! It's very flattering on you-and pretty fabric! I love to look at the snow too :D LOL I have to enjoy it from the pictures since we don't get any where I am (boo hoo!). I'm glad to see reviews from you again!
2/6/08 9:49 AM
Deepika said...
Melissa, Leora and cboots - thanks for the nice comments. newbie2008, I wouldnt particularly call it difficult. If you've sewn with knits you just have to follow the basic sewing with knits rules and you should be good. The results are so stunning with this top that it's definitely worth a try.
1/30/08 1:42 PM
newbie2008 said...
Is this pattern too difficult for a beginner? It looks fantastic. I love the neckline.
1/30/08 12:16 PM
cboots said...
Great looking top! This pattern looks like a winner!
1/29/08 11:02 PM
Leora said...
This is pretty. It looks like a morph of the Vogue bolero and the Burda Eme linked to. I like this WIP feature, Deepika. You are really rolling out the improvements! Wonderful idea!!
12/26/07 4:14 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Adorable top!!!
12/14/07 0:08 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks Eme, The burda top is cute! But the only difference is that it does not have bust gathers, so the fit may not be this good. It's a cute design though.
12/9/07 11:18 AM
gaz-mom said...
that is BEAUTIFUL!!!
12/8/07 8:38 PM
Eme said...
Here are two views of the Burda top - Photo 1 and here it is as the top part of a dress: Photo2
12/8/07 6:41 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very cute top and very flattering on you.
12/8/07 4:34 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Very flattering Deepika. Love the print, too. Maybe I will have to try a Jalie...so many of you here on PR rate them highly ;-)
12/8/07 2:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Deepika, lovely and flattering! Thanks for reviewing this pattern! You convinced me to get this!
12/8/07 2:16 PM
Deepika said...
Sherril, The seam allowances are 1/4".
12/8/07 11:47 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Very lovely top. I really like the designer touches and the neckline if very flattering. I agree, I can probably even wear this one. Deepika, what are the seam allowances an Jalie?
12/8/07 11:45 AM
Deepika said...
Which BWOF top are you guys talking about? I'd like to see.
12/8/07 11:10 AM
Nancy K said...
This is lovely on you. But, it seems to be exactly like one that was in BWOF recently. I wonder if the fit is the same.
12/8/07 9:11 AM
Betsybobbin said...
I understand why you love this pattern! You look so nice! Elizabeth
12/8/07 9:05 AM
desidou said...
Adorable and looks great on you! You go girl!!! I am adding this pattern to my "wishlist"
12/8/07 7:36 AM
maggy said...
Great review, and I am making this next week!
12/8/07 7:27 AM
JDpenelope said...
Gorgeous -- Your long torso and arms look terrific in this stylish top. It's a pattern I've GOTTA have. Hope it works on short torsos and arms. :-)
12/8/07 7:10 AM
Karla Kizer said...
That top is great! Your review is really helpful, too, Dee - and the picture. Is that nice fresh beach sand I see in the background? ;-)
12/8/07 6:38 AM
CarolynGM said...
That is a really great pattern, and it looks so nice on you. I'm so glad to see you sewing and reviewing again.
12/8/07 6:32 AM
FloraNature said...
It's a beautiful top and looks great on you. The fabric is beautiful too.
12/8/07 6:29 AM
keelyb1 said...
Beautiful top, Deepika!
12/8/07 3:23 AM
Karen6790 said...
It's been a while since we've seen a review from you, but this was worth the wait. What a cute top! I don't think the neckline is too low. You look adorable.
12/7/07 11:06 PM
Eme said...
Wow - your top looks fabulous! I love the fabric, and the pattern details - this actually looks like a BWOF top I want to make - B107 - I suspect the Jalie instructions are a lot clearer! Thanks for the review and enjoy the top - can't wait to see additional versions! :)
12/7/07 10:15 PM
Pinkhibiscus said...
Thanks for the review I really like this pattern!! You pattern top looks nice too!
12/7/07 9:40 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a terrific top and it is so flattering on you!! You are looking svelte, woman, and really do this top justice!
12/7/07 9:36 PM
carolynw said...
Just lovely and you have talked me into trying Jalie - hope my effort turns out as nice as yours.
12/7/07 7:14 PM
mary in FL said...
The top looks great on you, and the neckline is NOT too low.
12/7/07 7:10 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks for such nice comments everyone. I do love this top and am definitely going to make another one very soon. lily It does have a shoulder seam. Sorry you can't see the details in my top. It's the print. cabin Yes, I do like the 2793 and want to make that one too! Debbie It's called snow, something you guys don't get any of ;-) We are sledding this weekend in my backyard... so fun! Frozzy I think this top will look good from A-F.. I really do. Look at the photo on the pattern envelope. Even a little girl looks adorable in it. Which is why my niece might get one too.
12/7/07 7:03 PM
drsue said...
Very cute Dee!
12/7/07 6:42 PM
lmg said...
Love, love this top. The neckline is gorgeous, very flattering
12/7/07 6:35 PM
cindy-lou said...
You look so cute! I love that pattern and now, of course, I need it. How great a job you did!
12/7/07 5:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Now I have pattern envy! I can't wait for my pattern to arrive in the mail as your top looks fantastic. Very flattering! And no FBA!! I want to sew this now! :)
12/7/07 5:45 PM
pen_sew said...
Nice job! It's such a cute top. I have this pattern on my wish list. I was hoping for a review. Thanks for being the first to post one.
12/7/07 4:59 PM
said...
Looks great!!! You make me want to get this pattern.
12/7/07 4:46 PM
touran said...
That is such a great look on you. I ordered this recently and now I'm really excited to get it.
12/7/07 4:17 PM
Schnauzer said...
Pretty top Deepika, it looks lovely on you!
12/7/07 4:10 PM
Frozzy said...
Deepika, this pattern really shows off the curves and looks great. Do you think the fit would be good for an A-team member too? This is so cute.
12/7/07 2:45 PM
cabinbaby said...
Whoops, sorry, double post.
12/7/07 2:27 PM
Dei said...
Deepika, that top looks great on you! I'll have to toss this pattern definitely onto my growing "to-do" pile.
12/7/07 2:17 PM
Kay Y said...
Well, that pattern is a winner - it looks great (you don't have quite as much snow as we do!).
12/7/07 2:13 PM
ChristineX said...
Wow, beautiful top!!!
12/7/07 2:11 PM
cabinbaby said...
Thanks for the great review!!! I have this ordered and am just waiting for it to show up. Thanks for posting a good picture of it. Going to review the other new pattern too?
12/7/07 2:07 PM
Avril said...
Thanks for the review. Your top looks great. Way to go our fearless leader!
12/7/07 1:45 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Deepika, is there a shoulder seam on this beautiful top, or does the back piece extend up and over the shoulders to include the front curved sections between bust and armscyes? I couldn't tell from the technical drawing. - Lily
12/7/07 1:44 PM
Linda G said...
Very very cute top. Nice fabric.
12/7/07 1:21 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very pretty on you! Love that fabric and love seeing a review from you! But what's all that white stuff on the ground behind you? ;-)
12/7/07 1:13 PM
Peggy L said...
That looks darling on you! Good to see you back at the machine. Can't wait to get my new pattern. I think the DD and DIL will like this one, too.
12/7/07 12:58 PM
Jodi B. said...
It looks beautiful on you, Deepika. I can't wait to get mine in the mail!
12/7/07 12:45 PM
michellep74 said...
Great looking top! This pattern has had my eye since you posted it.
12/7/07 12:30 PM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful top. That's another winner for Jalie. Now I'm sorry I didn't include it in my last order from you. Just doubting too much if I hadn't enough Jalie patterns already. Apparently not.
12/7/07 12:24 PM
Lady_Mame said...
Wowza, looking good!
12/7/07 12:03 PM
Kellie R. said...
That's a great top! It looks great with jeans and I imagine would look equally good with nice slacks or a skirt!
12/7/07 11:24 AM
Irene Q said...
Great top - and it's wonderful to see you sewing again!!!
12/7/07 11:21 AM
pterion said...
Lovely feminine top, it looks terrific on you! I hope you have lots of this pattern on hand, because it will sell like hotcakes after this review!
12/7/07 11:20 AM
EleanorSews said...
That's just lovely! I guess an order is in order....
12/7/07 11:15 AM
Babs42 said...
It looks great on you!!! I am going to have to get this pattern. Thanks for the great review.
12/7/07 11:12 AM
QuantumLobster said...
Beautiful top!! I haven't yet tried any Jalie patterns, but I may just have to now!!
12/7/07 11:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Burda 7790

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

More Info