Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5519 (One Hour Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1126 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/07 6:11 PM
Last Updated:12/8/07 9:59 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Its a nice looking dress. You did "make it work" congratulations. I have this pattern to make for me and my DD but just have not found the time yet.
12/8/07 6:31 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"Funny" story!! You really came up with a bright solution!! There's experience showing. (Now, you only have to "make up" some "stolen" cookies for your other DD!!)
12/8/07 6:48 PM
fabricrazed said...
Good looking dress. Haven't we all had one of those moments. Now you have created your own design detail. Some mistakes turn out to become something better. I liked your solution.
12/8/07 8:29 PM
PegL said...
Tim Gunn would be so proud of you! The dress is Runway worthy!
12/8/07 9:26 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Oh my -- I am always worried about accidentally using my pattern pieces as scraps because I sometimes leave them lying about in balls so they look like scraps..I should be more careful. Good save though! Looks like a cute and "easy" (how come those "easy" projects never turn out easy?) pattern!
12/8/07 10:28 PM
OP Gal said...
Great save! Your "design element" worked beautifully. Loved the funny review.
12/8/07 10:52 PM
Nancywin said...
I don't know how anybody makes anything in one hour. It takes me longer than that just to take out the pattern, iron it and make alterations. I think I'm pretty slow at the "prep" part of sewing. This dress looks like it will be very nice. If your daughter is anything like mine, you may end up taking it in! They tend to like negative ease. (of course, they have the bodies for it!)
12/8/07 11:50 PM
bluenines said...
great save !, and yes i to have had sewing miss haps while trying to do more than one thing at a time, i think your dd will love the dress
12/9/07 1:09 AM
Annette1 said...
Ha! Well, those "designer sleeves" look like they were meant to be that way. :o) If you don't confess, your daughter will never know. I think the dress looks great!
12/9/07 3:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice gift.
12/9/07 7:46 AM
marjenann said...
Lemons to lemonaide!! Great looking dress!
12/9/07 8:04 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful job and great story. We've all been there, and misery loves company.
12/9/07 8:11 AM
blue mooney said...
Been there, done that! You came up with a good save, and great results. What a nice pattern - no zipper! I hope it suits your DD.
12/9/07 8:46 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking dress and a great save!! Why these things happen I will never know - many of us feel your pain with the misadventure 'cos we been there and done that!!
12/9/07 10:05 AM
Leora said...
Nice design change and a lovely gift!
12/9/07 8:31 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great save! In fact, I think the two piece sleeve is a great design element on such a simple (aka not fussy) dress. Bravo!
12/10/07 9:22 AM
millonthefloss said...
Really like this dress. Simple and plain enough to add any scarf, pin, or accent. Even though you had some difficulty you worked through it and came up with a dress nonetheless. My best to you.
12/17/07 8:25 PM
AnneM said...
Well, you know, design changes are the name of the game. And they never take an hour, even without mistakes! (Or at least they don't for me.) (The large pictures aren't coming up for me, but it looks nice in the small pic.)
1/2/08 4:58 PM
angelt841 said...
one of the funniest reviews I have read! great job
12/27/09 1:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4384 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 10/24/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )
Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 3097 Sweatshirt
photo
Review by Margaret on 2/17/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us