Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8307 (Armani-style Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1321 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:Tom P
photo
Friend of PR
About Tom Pstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/16/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/9/07 6:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mad4sewing said...
Wow...can you clone yourself cause I have friends who would love to have you as a boyfriend! Love it!
12/9/07 6:59 PM
Sic said...
Wonderful construction and love the closures!
12/9/07 7:00 PM
PegL said...
Great looking coat! I love that yellow lining! Excellent review with lots of great tips! Nicely done Tom!
12/9/07 7:00 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Fabulous coat and wonderfully crafted. Kudos to you!
12/9/07 7:01 PM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous coat - lucky Katy!
12/9/07 7:07 PM
Kristen said...
Great coat - she is a lucky woman!...I think that if you and Katy break up you won't be on the market for long!!! Plus, that appears to be a Sox cap you are wearing..
12/9/07 7:25 PM
Birgitte said...
Fabulous!!
12/9/07 7:44 PM
Re Becca said...
Another great coat! Thanks for the great construction details. Tell me, why did you chose to use the 4" interfacing strips on the hem and collar? Great job on the pocket too, aren't welt pockets fun!
12/9/07 8:03 PM
carolynw said...
Wonderful work - I so admire your efforts!! Thanks for a really helpful review with some really good ideas we can use
12/9/07 8:14 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a stunning coat! I'm impressed with you putting the pockets in to accomodate her commuting needs. Great job!
12/9/07 8:49 PM
yummymummy38 said...
this jacket looked very designery, you've made it v wearable and versatile
12/9/07 9:35 PM
Lori V said...
Great coat, wonderful construction and lucky Katy.
12/9/07 10:10 PM
Karen8320 said...
Tom, I am honestly so impressed by your work! The coat looks gorgeous. Once again, your review is exceptionally helpful.
12/10/07 4:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
great looking coat!
12/10/07 5:17 AM
MissCelie said...
Ok. So, I saw this coat at PR Weekend and bought pattern at the very next sale. A-mazing.
12/10/07 7:51 AM
cecelia said...
What a beautiful coat--I love the closures and the bright, happy lining, also the welt pocket you designed. Very nice job.
12/10/07 8:33 AM
Karine said...
Love the coat - very professionally done. Especially like the lining strap to hold the left front - nice touch!
12/10/07 10:09 AM
marjenann said...
Yikes!!! This garment is as fantastic as the last one!!! Very, very impressive workmanship and design!!
12/10/07 10:28 AM
SewSewHappy said...
I'm impressed once again!
12/10/07 11:35 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Very professional tailoring - awesome skills!
12/10/07 11:42 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Beautiful coat, Tom. You are very good at sewing coats....must be your specialty ;-) Very flattering on your girlfriend, too.
12/10/07 1:37 PM
Nancy K said...
You made a wonderful coat. What a lucky girlfriend. Your review covering your constructions changes is very helpful and creative. I have this pattern in my stash and will definitely refer back to your review .
12/10/07 2:37 PM
nicegirl said...
After seeing this (and Mary Cargill's) at PR Weekend I got the pattern too. It would be so much more convenient if I had a boyfriend to make it for me...
12/10/07 3:16 PM
Allison said...
Hi: you are right, this Vogue pattern is a copy of an Armani from last season. You did a FAB job! Might need one myself!
12/10/07 4:52 PM
Tom P said...
Thanks, everyone. ReBecca, the interfacing at the hem gives a little more body, and makes the bottom of the coat hold it's shape better. Adding the interfacing and reducing the width at the bottom makes Katy's coat look sort of like she just did a spin. Thisphoto shows the two treatments side-by-side. Mary's fabric is nicer :(.
12/10/07 5:07 PM
loohoo44 said...
Tom everything you make looks so professional! You seem to think of everything. Great job, and what a lucky girl!
12/10/07 8:00 PM
busy bee said...
Wonderful! I envy your girlfriend. (But if I ever need someone to watch football for me, my husband's all over it!)
12/10/07 8:04 PM
KatyH said...
Back off ladies, he's taken! :-) I do love the coat. I am very very lucky.
12/10/07 10:32 PM
layla said...
Beautiful .... Thank You For The Info On This Pattern ....You Are So Talented !!
12/13/07 3:33 AM
SewTwin said...
Wowzer! You PR'ers make me laugh, with all the envy vibes! It is rare to find a man that is nice enuf to do things for you, and sew to boot! We female PR'ers are lucky to have a male counterpart! Wish we had more!..
1/20/08 5:07 PM
Terri A said...
Just wow!!!
11/21/10 1:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Butterick 5526 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Handshake on 1/22/14
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2327
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 10/4/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us